We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“friendly and relaxed, with a lovely cozy beach a step form beautiful snorkeling” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Libelula

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nacala
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Libelula
Save
You added Libelula to your Saves list
Nacala, Mozambique   |  
Hotel amenities
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“friendly and relaxed, with a lovely cozy beach a step form beautiful snorkeling”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2011

We went to Mozambique to visit friends and were based in Nampula. On our first week end we escaped to Libelula and loved it: a little paradise after the city madness. Accomodation and facilities were really good. Lovely huts in keep with the landscape. Tasteful decoration, with what I guess was PJ's personal touch. The atmosphere relaxed and friendly. We loved the cozy beach, although beware there are steep steps down to it. The sea is so warm and at an easy swim out there are beautiful corals and colourful fish. Perfect peace! We drove around the peninsula, spotted what will be some major tourist resorts and were very glad that Libelula is at a safe distance from them . Ian and PJ work hard to please all their guests and we wish them all the best with their venture.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    7
    1
    0
    3
See reviews for
5
9
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2011

If you happen to be headed to or through Nacala, Moz, then this is the only place worth considering to stay. Ian and PJ have worked hard to carve out a little paradise and place of comforts in a lightly travelled part of the country. Their hospitality is warm and tireless, and PJ works heroics in the kitchen. The frozen mugs for the beer were inspired. The views are great, the rooms spacious and well-positioned to take advantage of night breezes, and the mosquito nets well kept. Water pressure and temperature were what they should be, too. Diving was good. There was never any risk that there would be other divers crowding the sites, so it would be a great place for people to learn as there are shallow and deeper options readily available. Two items for consideration: (1) if you have trouble with stairs, the beach is about 100 steps below the lodge itself; (2) if you are not going to dive or dive a lot, and lying on a beach bores you after a couple of days, you might run out of entertainment options in the area (Nacala is not too interesting as Africa cities go). We understand that the area is developing slowly for tourism with promises of significant tourist infrastructure in the future, so this may lead to more activities in the coming years. Alternatively, that may make it all the more rewarding to go now.... The cashews on the road from Nampula are great - dont pass on them.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2010

Really relaxing place to stay, very good food, stayed in the dorm, very comfortable.....and it has fans to keep you cool plus mozzie nets. Diving on the doorstep, brand new kit too. No long boat trips just walk into the water. We were also lucky enough to be there the same time as the whales.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2010

We had an awesome stay at this amazing place. The place itself is great, the view is magnificent, the beach, the cozy swimming people. Scubadiving was great, with so many underwater life, colorful fish. But most important of all was the people, Ian and PJ are great! Thanks so much for all, and all the best!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kigali
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2010

We are a couple with a ten year old daughter and stayed four nights in Libelula. The A-shaped family lodge was good value for money, even without hot water (there are shared hot showers). Our daughter enjoyed her own bed upstairs as much as playing with the dogs. Because of my lenght the mosquitonet was immediately adjusted by Ian on the second day. The food was great and there was enough choice for four days. Although the lodge is not on the beach (you have to go down 50 meters), we did not find that a problem. The small private beach is lovely and the swimming and snorkling is excellent. Ian and PJ manage to create a very relaxed atmosphere, but do not compromise on service.

Jan, Martie and Bo.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ameide, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2010

We've stayed for a total of 5 nights at Libelula and it's an oasis of peace and beauty,
The food, the beach and diving were fantastic!
It's a pity that getting there isn't easy when you live in Europe, otherwise I could spend every weekend over there ;-)
A special thank to the owners, PJ and Ian who have made our stay unforgettable!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malawi
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2010

Just got back from Mozambique, we spent 6 nights in this paradise spot. The sunsets were absolutely stunning, the private beach was spotless and provided excellent snorkeling in the bay. The choice of rooms will suit any budget. Ian and PJ (the owners) work tirelessly ensuring that you have the best possible experience during your stay.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Libelula? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Libelula

Address: Nacala, Mozambique
Location: Mozambique > Nampula Province > Nacala
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Nacala
Number of rooms: 7

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Libelula, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.