We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short Stay, No Problems” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Indico

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Beira
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Indico
Largo Afonso de Alburquerque, Beira, Mozambique   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 11 Beira B&B and Inns
Greenbelt, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Short Stay, No Problems”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

I stayed one night on the way to Nampula and one night on the way back. Small room but clean and adequate. Security seemed a bit sketchy - there was no safe in the room though there was a cabinet which could be locked with a key which you could take with you when you went out. But visitors had to go right past the check in desk to get up to the room so that felt somewhat secure. Had no problems walking around at night even though the neighborhood was a little run down and not very well lighted. I don't think I tried the internet so can't comment. The walk to the beach is easy and worth it. Someday someone will get the idea to fix up an old disco which is right on the beach and make it into a resort hotel and restaurant.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1
    4
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
2
1
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sabang
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

The Rooms in average are small. Only two big room available. Room Nr. 115 is the best. A little bit expensive, 115 US for that room. Service is nice. Nice friendly staff. Good breakfast, near the beach and very close to Mira Mar and Beira Bar.

Room Tip: Rn. 115 is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Spacious, well designed room. Internet worked fine on all devices in my room right over the server. For other rooms, you have to come down to the common room, where there is a TV and where breakfast is served. People very friendly and helpful. Good location for morning walks along the beach. Price was $125 a night including breakfast and internet, showing how fast prices are rising in Mozambique (see earlier posting). Good value compared to other places we stayed.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

We arrived in Beira in the early evening not having booked so Hotel Indico was the first place that looked reasonable and had a room. It had air con and an en-suite bathroom but was completely over priced (as all accommodation in Mozambique seems to be) for what it was. The wi-fi was lousy, breakfast ok but only if you want meat and chips or tuna salad which is a shame as there is a bakery right next door. The receptionist was at times really helpful and at other times quite rude. But it did for a night, we got a good nights sleep and a good location for restaurants and the beach.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2010

I stayed for 2 nights in a regular room for about $68 which included breakfast. The hotel is very clean and new, and staff were friendly. The room was comfortable and had good air conditioning, a television and a small refrigerator. Breakfast was not elaborate but was perfectly adequate.

On the negative side, the room was quite small, and overall I thought the price was a little high. (The most expensive rooms, suites, were about $105.) Considering other prices in the country, $68 is high. Also, there is no pool or lounge area -- not an issue for business travellers, but not great for vacationers.

The hotel is located in the Punta Gea neighborhood, a little out of the city center, which I thought was a plus as it is quieter and just a block from the beach. The neighborhood is composed of old Portuguese houses and beautiful tree-lined streets, making it perfect for leisurely strolls. There are several restaurants and small grocery shops within short walking distance, and a very popular bakery just outside the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2010

I'm writing this review because when I was planning my trip to Beira a few weeks ago I really struggled to find decent,affordable accommodation in the central area.

I eventually stayed at Hotel Mozambique which I was happy with but while I was in Beira someone recommended Hotel Indico so I went to check it out (although I have to say I did not stay there). A smallish hotel set 1 street back from the beach & near to the Praca Independencia this hotel made a good impression. The reception staff were very friendly, switched on & spoke good english.The rooms & breakfast area were very clean & were nicely decorated.

It lies between Hotel Mozambique & Hotel Tivoli in price & is slightly outside of the centre. Parking as with a lot of the hotels is on the street in front of the hotel but there are guards & a police station just around the corner.

Just wanted to let other travellers know that this hotel could be a viable option for them.

Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Indico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indico

Address: Largo Afonso de Alburquerque, Beira, Mozambique
Location: Mozambique > Sofala Province > Beira
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Beira
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
a wonderfull place to get fitness..we care about your healthy ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Indico, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hotel Indico to your Saves list