We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor Service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Michlifen Ifrane Suites & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Michlifen Ifrane Suites & Spa to your Saves list
Michlifen Ifrane Suites & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenue Hassan 2. BP 18, Ifrane 53000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Ifrane
Certificate of Excellence
Monte-Carlo, Monaco
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Poor Service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

The hotel is amazing, the SPA is great however the service is very poor. Especially the service of bar and restaurants. The staff is not professional and not friendly. However the service of the SPA is great.

The rooms are gorgeous.

The staff needs to be trained in a better way especially the waiters.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    28
    12
    3
    10
See reviews for
34
71
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Casablanca, Morocco
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

I just checked out after 4 days at the Michlifen and it was a truly amazing experience. More than the stunning location, the impeccable and beautiful hotel, the gourmet food and the supercool spa... I would like to praise this hotel for service.

We were there with a little 1 yo baby and the level of care we received was beyond exceptional. The baby was so in love with the receptionists, the barman, the waiters and the housekeeping ladies that he would bang at the door of our suite to go out and meet his friends!

Definitely one of the best Hotels in Morocco.

Room Tip: Spend the extra money for a suite. It only costs around 50% more than the rooms but it's three t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rabat
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

This magnificent luxury hotel is one of the best in Morocco. Situtated in downtown Ifrane, with its European style chalets and a gorgeous downtown park that is walking distance from the hotel. The hotel itself is nicely decorated with an interesting architecture. It was mostly empty the weekend we were there in early March.

We stayed here following a nearly 7 hour hike in the Middle Atlas mountains, through oak and cedar forests and an encounter with barbary macaque monkeys. The hotel had helped to put us in touch with a knowledgable and trusty guide who spoke English, French and Arabic and who helped us to navigate the terrain from a trailhead in Azrou (about 1/2 hour from Ifrane).

For such an expensive 5 star hotel (about 290 euros /night for a double room) we have high expectations. Below are some observations that distracted from a perfectly comfortable stay:

- The welcome drink in the lobby was inadvertently offered only to half of our party. Normally this would not be an issue, but after a several hour early morning drive to Ifrane and an all-day hike, a fresh glass of juice would have hit the spot! We brought this omittance to the attention of a hostess in the lobby and asked that our welcome drinks be sent to our room, which they did.
- We found the rooms somber, and in need of more lighting.
- The shower head in our bathtub didn't work, which made for an uncomfortable clean up experience.
- The sink plug didn't work
- The complimentary electronic scale was out of batteries
- We were unable to locate a heating thermostat in the room, which was very hot. Although it was winter time, we ended up opening up the window - - an unnecessary waste of energy too.
- The pool area is beautiful but the water was over chlorinated and literally burned our skin!
- The dinner was decent but over-the-top expensive.

On the plus side, the service was very good all around. The rooms were clean with great views of the mountains and pool area. The breakfast buffet was also very good, with a nice mix of continental and Moroccan specialties, and better value than dinner. Most importantly, it has a helipad, just in case you might ever need one.

As the management seemed very attentive, I would imagine that they are interested in improving these details to make the best experience possible for their clients. Since we live in Morocco and there are few places like this hotel, we will likely return to the hotel for a weekend during the summer time to try out their outdoor pool, in the hopes that they've mastered the ph balance by then.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011

We were visiting friends in Ifrane and went to the Michelifen for a few drinks and coffee and to take a look around. Service was wonderful, and though our French & Arabic is poor, their English was really well spoken and they were more than patient with our attempts.

We don't look like what might be considered the typical clientele of a 5-star hotel & spa but we were warmly welcome and treated to excellent service, good coffee and drinks, and great bar snacks. We were also told to take as many pictures as we like, which we'll put up on our website. Thank you for the relaxing afternoon, Michlifen Ifrane! We'll return on our next visit.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2011

This place is magical. About 45 mins from Fez Airport but worlds away, in Morocco's "Little Switzerland", this palatial chic boutique ski hotel almost feels like a destination unto itself. Inside, the reception areas and restaurants were stunning (very good food, apparently most of the produce is sourced from a local organic farm, including the delicious goat's cheese we had at the huge, gourmet breakfast) and we had a wonderful local wine at dinner.

The modern spa with a hammam is an oasis of luxury but we were more than happy just soaking up the views and blissful peace and quiet, watching eagles soar above the pine-topped mountains. At night, the pool and garden areas become magical - like some sort of fairytale palace, and the air and water here (there's a spring source a few minutes away) were so pure they almost tasted of oxygen.

I'm vegetarian - which I found difficult in Morocco - but the hotel made me a delicious salad and the breakfast (with fresh breads, croissants and rolls baked on the premises, pastries, organic cheese, fresh fruits and excellent coffee) was an absolute gourmet treat, a long table with breads, cheeses, meats, eggs, fresh fruit (huge strawberries!), apricots, kiwi fruit - a breakfast fit for a king.

After breakfast we took our coffee outside onto the sunny terrace overlooking the pool and gardens - absolute bliss. (This would be a good place to come for a summer holiday as it is cooler than Marrakech or Fez, because of its higher altitude). We came in March, springtime, and all the wild flowers were out. Lots of lovely walks and activities that the hotel can arrange, although we didn't do any of them as we just wanted to enjoy the views and the chance to relax for two days.

Apparently the hotel is under the same ownership as La Mamounia in Marrakech which explains the very high standards and stunning decor. It opened last spring.

I think this would be a lovely place for a long weekend break from London or Paris - there are direct flights to Fez from Stansted (London) which take just over three hrs, and we plan to go back in autumn/winter to see the scenery in a different season. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff and although the hotel is near a ski resort, you don't really have to be a skier to enjoy Michlifen - with the spa, huge indoor and outdoor pools, gardens, walks, hikes, riding, excursions (to a local winery and La Pommeraie organic farm, or Fez Medina, if you can tear yourself away from the priceless peace and beautiful scenery!)...there is plenty to do - or just do nothing and soak up the sun and the views.

We will definitely come back, this is a very special place and we hope to go back in autumn.

Room Tip: Excellent for ski or non-ski, peaceful lots to do
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichlifenManagement, Revenue Manager at Michlifen Ifrane Suites & Spa, responded to this review, April 23, 2011
Thank you for your wonderful remarks, which we have shared with our staff. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay, we are very pleased we meet your expectations and look forward to your future stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse .NY
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2010

We were 2 ladies from the Us visiting Ifrane .We decided to stop and have lunch at the hotel and check out the rooms.

Our driver left us next to the door,upon the entrance the security did not let us in >We asked kindly to talk to the manager .The request was denied and we were asked to leave.The hotel management should control their staff.One of us was hired at aschool nearby and
but will not go there anymore.It was a very unecessary and humiliating experience.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreux
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2010

We stopped in this hotel in our trip to the mountains. We were staying for few days in Fes and decided to take the trip up. Checking on tripadvisor where to stop to rest and eat we came across this place and decided to check it out for future stays. Well, it was the perfect place to head to on the beautiful Ifrane hights. The scenery and atmosphere were outstanding. It is secluded and best for relaxing with amazing facilities including luxury spa. If you're spending days travelling around the mountains and old cities, this is the perfect heaven to rewind and get fit for the rest of your journey.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Michlifen Ifrane Suites & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Michlifen Ifrane Suites & Spa

Address: Avenue Hassan 2. BP 18, Ifrane 53000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Meknes-Tafilalet Region > Ifrane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Ifrane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Michlifen Ifrane Suites & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Michlifen Ifrane Suites & Spa is located at an altitude of 1650 m, in one of the most privileged and attractive regions of Morocco : The Central Middle Atlas; at equal distances from the 2 main imperial cities of Meknes and Fez. An extremely fertile area, rich in waters and pastures often described as the “Little Switzerland” of Morocco.Open in 1973 and conceived by the famous designer André Paccard. Michlifen Ifrane Suites & Spa has been entirely renovated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Splendia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Michlifen Ifrane Suites & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Michlifen Ifrane Hotel Ifrane
Michlifen Ifrane Suites And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Michlifen Ifrane Suites & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.