We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice view- fresh fish- high prices” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Il mare

Il mare
43, rue Yamen Scala | Essaouira, Essaouira 44103, Morocco
(0) 524 47 64 17
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #153 of 211 Restaurants in Essaouira
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Cannes, France
Top Contributor
417 reviews 417 reviews
326 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 114 cities Reviews in 114 cities
288 helpful votes 288 helpful votes
“Nice view- fresh fish- high prices”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Next to the seaside and behind the great wall you will find this restaurant which especially is offering fresh fish and seafood. Well inside all looks cheap and is cheap. The toilet is almost primitive and needs to get repaired.
Here you can find a terrace and look at the sea. Fresh lobster are also available. The staff is caring friendly and speaks english. Opposite to some other reviews we do not need to complain about the service.
Comparing to the value for money you have to pay very high prices! But you will get fresh fish.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    55
    42
    26
    42
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Nice view, shame about the prices”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

I took my wife here, as I remembered watching the sun sink below the horizon from the outside terrace on a previous visit. And it is still a great place to do that. But good lord the prices now! One small beer and a small white wine cost 105 Dirhams. It's down to you to decide if you think this is acceptable value. They do have a happy hour - but even at 3 drinks for the price of 2 between 4pm and 6:30pm - this still looks like a poor deal. The staff somehow managed to be invisible indoors despite only 3 tables in the whole establishment being occupied.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“FOOD POISONING!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

This is an appalling restaurant!

My boyfriend and I ate here May 2014 and experienced symptoms of food poisoning for the following 5 days. We had to spend the majority of our time in Essouiera in our hotel room as we were so unwell. We went back to the restaurant the next day to notify them of this, at which point they began to insult us saying it was the fault of our biology that we were ill and refused to apologise. This was the only expensive meal we had in Morocco and it meant that we could not enjoy the remainder of our holiday. When another family entered the restaurant and overheard our complaints they decided to leave and eat elsewhere. At this point they seized my boyfriend and proceeded to forcibly push him down the stairs and threatened the call the police on us.

Not only is the food horribly overpriced, the wine is very poor and the service is horrendous. DO NOT EAT HERE! Worst experience in Morocco by far!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essaouira, Morocco
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Was quite nice! ”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

I enjoyed my meal. It was quite nice! The view through the window was lovely and the food was quite nice aswell! They had live music which was quite nice aswell, although only 1 half of the room could see it, which was the half of the room I was not sitting at! Although, all together I enjoyed it

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Only for a drink!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

We've been to Il Mare for dinner- lured in by the amazing view for sunset. The food was clearly the worst we've had in Essaouira, tasteless, dull. Even the tajines, which are usually a safe bet were disappointing, but overpriced. I suggest you take a wine to watch the sunset and head off for dinner just anywhere else!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il mare also viewed

Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Il mare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il mare, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.