We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“loved it!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Smara

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Essaouira
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Smara
Save
You added Hotel Smara to your Saves list
26 Rue De Skala, Essaouira, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #67 of 76 Hotels in Essaouira
UK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“loved it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2009

We stayed here for 2 nights after blowing our budget round the corner at Maison Du Sud (also fab but for different reasons!) Smara was the cheapest place we found in Ess. We had a double room with Sea View on third floor. Room was very basic and there was a dodgy looking lightbulb hanging precariously from the wall. Dust galore and questionable bedsheets. However the shutters open out to the most beautiful view you could hope for and thus everything else nolonger matters! Will be back there in January for another slice of budget paradise.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    11
    7
    5
    11
See reviews for
1
16
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2009

Stayed for 1 night in the middle of may, didn't really like the place but it was recommended in lonely planet as the cheapest but has a curfew of 12 midnight. 136Dhr per night for a twin, but for 150Dhr around the corner you can get a MUCH nicer hotel. If you are in the Smara, walk out the door, turn left, take the first alley on the left, then left again, walk into number 30, a blue door and go and ring the bell. 150Dhr for a FANTASTIC cheap hotel. lovely rooms, beautiful terrace, lovely owners. Unfortuantly however, the hotel does not have a name, simply no.30.....a blue door. Don't be put off when you first walk in and its dark, this hotel is lovely and made Essauoira the highlight of my whole trip to morocco.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2008

We just showed up at the hotel and got a room. It was a basic riad-style hotel. The sheets were not so nice. The view from the roof terrace was gorgeous however, and we thought this could make up for the dirty corners. Our first night was fine, we used our own sheet and perhaps this saved us that once.

Our second night we got bed bugs though. Big ones. What a horrible experience!!! We had to wander down the dark stairs at two in the morning with only our flashlight to guide us and wake up the sleeping guardian in order to be put in another room for the remainder of the night. I counted fifty bites on one arm the next day and they lasted for two weeks before turning into large welts and finally going away.

I wish we could recommend this hotel because most of the staff were very friendly and the location is quite wonderful, but we would never go back.

If you do choose to go, just make sure to check the sheets for black or red smears and pay for the more expensive room. Oh, and don't get pooped on by seagulls on the roof terrace!

  • Liked — gorgeous ocean view
  • Disliked — Bed Bugs!!!!
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2008

This hotel is a cheap option but the location makes up for its lacking facilities.
Expect cold water sometimes, the occassional unflushable toilet and you will be fine. Singles / doubles with shared bath start from Dh 47 / Dh 96 for a view of the ocean at the front of the hotel pay 196Dh.
We took a third floor double room with sea views and it was wonderful. With the blue shutters and windows open at night we were gently lulled to sleep by the waves crashing against the sea walls outside. The sea air encompassed the room and you felt as if you were actually sleeping on a boat minus the movement! One morning we awoke to sea fog and visibility was at 3m but the ocean waves reassuringly crashed regularly outside our window. The hotel is close to the beach (5mins), turn left and walk following the sea wall until you reach the open square with banks, restaurants and the beach. Its safe to walk around at night also.
Breakfast is served in your room or on the roof terrace at 18Dh for cakes, jams, coffee and OJ, i took teabags and they provided hot water and milk instead.
When arriving by bus from Marrakesh, walk down the street towards the town and then maybe use a man and his 2 wheeled trailer to take your luggage through the narrow streets, mention Hotel Smara and they will take you there for about 15Dh. we planned to stay 2 nights in Essaouira but ended up spending 6 nights there. You have a beach, chilled restaurants, friendly relaxed people, blue skies and peace..perfect..surf boards can be hired and hire a shortie at least the sea is cold or better still take your own wetsuit...without, a swim for 20mins max is possible. Waves increase during high tide so check tide times and better waves are had walking down the beach away from the people. Town has a bakery, follow your nose and breads are 1Dh each, great with soft cheese and tomatoes for midday beach picnics

  • Liked — Staff, Views, Price, Location
  • Disliked — Scruffy furniture, Cold showers occassionally, shared bathroom facilities
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Smara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Smara

Address: 26 Rue De Skala, Essaouira, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 76 Hotels in Essaouira
Number of rooms: 29
Also Known As:
Smara Hotel Essaouira

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Smara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.