We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Lazuli

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Essaouira
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dar Lazuli
Save Saved
You added Dar Lazuli to your Saves list
7 Rue Moussa Ben Noussaire, Essaouira N/A, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 156 Essaouira B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Simply perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

After the hustle and bustle of Marrakech, we spent 4 nights in Dar Lazuli, and it was amazing. It was a home away from home, with all the comforts you could want, from decent pillows, massive bed, to ipod docs, and a kitchen with everything you might need. Rachid and Latifa were wonderful, helping with suggestions of where to go - Les Jardins de la Villa Maroc was a great tip, and a perfect way to spend our last day in Essaouira soaking up the sun by a gorgeous pool. Latifa did a great job in tidying up after me (!), and the apartment was spotless. We spent most evenings enjoying the sunset from the roof terrace with a gin in hand - doesn't get much better than that! The approach to Dar Lazuli is a bit dark, it's down a short passageway, but it's in a great, central location and there's absolutely no need to feel intimidated, and if you ever did, there's a night guardian on duty, who was really friendly. I'd also recommend visiting Taros - great bar with live music, and wonderful sunset views. All in all a fabulous holiday!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    102
    25
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
13
76
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights after 3 nights in Marrakech which seems to be quite a popular choice after the hussle (and hassle).

As soon as we arrived we were welcomed in by latifa who showed us everything we needed to know about the place. The place was very clean and was cleaned every day we stayed there. Would definately recommend Dar Lazuli - there are probably more luxurious riads in essaouira but for the price I think this place is spot on.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

From Dar Lazuli’s roof top terrace we watched the sunrise, leaving the apartment we were just moments from the beach and just around the corner from the souks and the market; selling perfume, Berber jewellery and breakfast! We would return home in the evening to our guardian who opened the door for us, a clean and beautifully made out living space to relax in and a terrace to watch the sunset. So, whilst being fully immersed in the Moroccan way of life we were nurtured back to good health by our environment and Dar Lazuli’s good company. Thank you to our guardian who gave us our peace of mind, Latifa who made us feel very welcome and at home and to Rachid for his guidance.

Room Tip: Talk to the owners because they are really genuine and friendly
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Arriving in Dar Lazuli in Essaouria after spending 2 days in Marrakesh was a real soul soother. Dar Lazuli offered an amazing home for our little holiday in Morocco. Beautiful rooms, kitchen with everything you need and a shower where you want to pop in 3 times a day. It is a place which made me feel very special and made me forget about everything the outside world. Really amazing views from the top terrace to enjoy a glass of wine or a breakfast. Dar Lazuli is a treat, and the staff looking after us were always helpful, very kind and wonderful people, just wish i could speak french to be able to talk to them more. The location is perfect, in the medina, close to the beach, and all the shops. This is a place where i would like to return and maybe take someone special with me. Essaouria is a perfect holiday destination to refresh the mind, senses and the soul.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

This was our first visit trip to Morocco and we were not disappointed with Essaouira or Dar Lazuli. This riad offers a refreshingly different type of holiday experience with a fine blend of Morocco style and hidden luxury with very comfortable surroundings.
The location of the riad couldn't be more central to the main markets and souks that surround Essaouira old town. Which allowed us to spend plenty of time in the souks and restaurants taking in the atmosphere and life of Morocco. This really is a great place to visit if you enjoy your photography and food!
Our favourite things on the trip were:
- Fresh orange juice from the markets every morning
- Freshly baked pastries
- Toros roof top bar
- The beach (it really is good for water sports)

I would highly recommend this riad.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

This was our first family holiday to morocco and was enjoyed by all. Essaouria was a lovely place and not too hot. The average temperature was mid/late twenties. Our children loved the beach and the shallow waters including activities like camel riding. Plenty of shopping and negotiating in the souks isn't too intimidating. The street food is good and also very cheap. There are also many restaurants which cater for all. The raid itself was very comfortable, nicely decorated ad clean. The staff were also very friendly and ensured you were happy and safe. They are also more than happy to organise trips, activities etc for you. Latfia also cooked us a traditional moroccan meal one day, at an extra charge. We really enjoyed our stay and would definitely go back.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

We spent a perfect week here, and could not fault it. Beautifully decorated, very comfortable with everything you need, and right in the heart of the old town so very accessible. The housekeepers were brilliant and organised everything for us.

I would definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dar Lazuli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Lazuli

Address: 7 Rue Moussa Ben Noussaire, Essaouira N/A, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 156 B&Bs / Inns in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Lazuli is a 200 year old house in Essaouira, lovingly renovated to retain its original features in harmony with contemporary designs and comforts for a 21st Century visitor. It's located just inside the medina walls and beside the main square. Comfortable and easy self-catering apartments where you can completely relax, forget about the real world and immerse yourself in North African escapism. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dar Lazuli Hotel Essaouira

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Lazuli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.