We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect staff, home vibe. Expensive.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Alech

Save Saved
You added Riad Alech to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Alech
61 rue Ceuta, Essaouira 44000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #45 of 78 hotels in Essaouira
Wollongong, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Perfect staff, home vibe. Expensive.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

I'm only giving this riad a good rating because of the staff that work their. Boushra; the housekeeper (moroccan girl), was amazingly friendly and attentive, and was able to interact well despite her limited English. She made us feel welcome and at home, and I felt sorry for her climbing up and down the stairs every morning for breakfast! The riad is otherwise overly priced, the bottom rooms are dark, cramped and damp smelling. The french owners were if anything aloof, and quick to get the welcome over. The breakfast was worth getting up for. Thanks Boushra!!!!!!

The riad is hard to find and is labeled with a small sign next to the door. Most people are friendly and we ended up being shown the last block without being hassled for money.

Room Tip: Avoid the bottom rooms, they lack privacy and are dark and damp.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    35
    19
    2
    0
    3
See reviews for
5
39
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

During an official tour of my father in the city we stayed here for three nights. Everything is superb here. The décor of the building, rooms, breakfast, the hospitality of the staff and everything really impressed me. Property is very clean and intelligently designed. I spent a great time here with my mother and really enjoyed a lot. I will be back again soon, very soon!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

this riad was genuinely one of the loveliest places we stayed in Morocco. all the staff were incredibly welcoming with the manager being so warm and helpful. our room was stunning with a separate bathroom which literally had the biggest bath I've ever seen!!!! the roof terrace is spacious and just the break you need from the busy streets.
its located in a quite hard to reach part of the town (a maze!) so i would suggest paying one of the people with the wheel barrows to direct you.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Riad Alech was an absolutely wonderful experience. We were only going to stay two nights in Essaouira but ended up staying four because this place was so great. The owners are super friendly and patient and they helped us with all our questions and showed us all the best hole-in-the-wall places to eat in town that the locals visit. They were also super accommodating and helpful with all the other questions they had. It's a French couple that moved away from France a few years ago - their English is really good and I had no problems getting any information.

One of the best things about this place, hands down, is the friendly and thoughtful staff.

The night watchman, Abdellah, is a thoughtful and hospitable person. He would go through this elaborate ritual every evening where he would make us Moroccan mint tea and try to explain to us in French how the tea is made. Very endearing. Thanks to this evening ritual, we're now going to get a Moroccan tea set for when we go back home to try and repeat the experience at home. He was also remarkable about anticipating our needs despite not speaking our language and responding accordingly.

The lady that works there during the day, Khadija, is also very nice. She was also great at anticipating our needs and was happy to serve us breakfast on the terrace every morning despite repeated trips up the stairs.

Overall, this was a great experience, and I'm really glad we came here. We're definitely going to visit again someday. Hopefully the owners, Abdellah and Khadija are still here.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Very friendly hosts and staff, great breakfast, pleasantly decorated rooms - this is a reasonable and lovely place to stay in the medina. The hosts were extremely informative and helped us book our stay in the next town that we were visiting. We stayed in the suite on the second floor, bathroom in the room and a small sitting room. Staff were friendly and the riad was in a convenient location.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2010

We arrived in Essaouira, after a three hour bus ride from Marrakech, and were met by a young boy with a wheelbarrow who transported our bags to the Riad. We paid him the equivalent of $5 US, which was probably more than usual by his reaction, but thank goodness he knew where he was going because it is not an easy find. Long narrow ally ways all seem to blend together, but by the end of the third day we (sort of) had them figured out. Morocco definitely is a different world, but an experience that we will both cherish.
My husband and I stayed for three nights at the Riad Alech in the Yellow Room. Immediately upon arrival the beauty of the decor and the tranquility of the place is evident. Our hostess was so gentle mannered and gracious. We were served hot mint tea, given maps of the area, and given recommendations and directions to local restaurants. Our hostess spoke broken English, however she did much better than we did with our French, and we managed to understand each other quite well.
Breakfast very morning was served on the terrace and was delicious. We were the only ones at the Riad the entire time and felt very spoiled. It was peaceful and relaxing. Not sure how it would have been if the place had been full of other patrons. The first night was a little nerve racking trying to find our way back to the Riad after dark, but once we figured where we were going we felt at ease.
Essaouira is over-kill to the senses. People (very young to very old), bikes, carts, scooters, donkeys, cats (lots of cats), and dogs, fill the streets and allys. Shops of all kinds are everywhere in the Medina. If you see something you like buy it because you will probably not be able to find the place again! Bartering for items is draining. Just be careful and don't pay more than you think something is worth. Once you pay the price, don't try and see if you could have got it cheaper somewhere else, because you probably could have and then you will be depressed (take it from me!). But it is all part of the culture, so have fun with it.
The beaches are big and beautiful. We found a great beach club "Beach & Friends" which had free Wifi and delicious food. You could use the beach chairs and umbrellas if you ordered something. Prices were very reasonable and they made wonderful pitchers of sangria! My husband planned to go kiteboarding one day, but at first there was not enough wind and then it was too windy, so unfortunately no kiteboarding for him.
We had a wonderful time in Essaouira. Recommend staying in a Riad in the Medina for at least a night or two just for the thrill of the experience.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2010

We had a lovely stay at the Riad Alech, which is truly special and gorgeous inside - decorated with a personal touch by someone with exquisite taste. It is down a side street and so off the main drag, which is fine during the day but caused us a bit of nervousness at night (2 women traveling together), also that you have to ring the bell and wait for someone to let you in and so you are waiting outside in the dark for someone to come. However, this is not atypical in Morocco. A bit of a challenge as the staff did not really speak English and we do not speak any French but again, we had that challenge all over Morocco. The staff was lovely and we would not hesitate to recommend our stay, just keep in mind the location if you are a nervous nellie.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Alech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Alech

Address: 61 rue Ceuta, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Essaouira
#22 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Riad Alech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Alech Essaouira
Riad Alech Hotel Essaouira

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Alech, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.