We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice riad in the medina” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Alech

Save Saved
You added Riad Alech to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Alech
61 rue Ceuta, Essaouira 44000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #45 of 78 Hotels in Essaouira
San Francisco, CA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice riad in the medina”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Very friendly hosts and staff, great breakfast, pleasantly decorated rooms - this is a reasonable and lovely place to stay in the medina. The hosts were extremely informative and helped us book our stay in the next town that we were visiting. We stayed in the suite on the second floor, bathroom in the room and a small sitting room. Staff were friendly and the riad was in a convenient location.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    20
    2
    0
    3
See reviews for
5
39
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
168 helpful votes 168 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2010

We arrived in Essaouira, after a three hour bus ride from Marrakech, and were met by a young boy with a wheelbarrow who transported our bags to the Riad. We paid him the equivalent of $5 US, which was probably more than usual by his reaction, but thank goodness he knew where he was going because it is not an easy find. Long narrow ally ways all seem to blend together, but by the end of the third day we (sort of) had them figured out. Morocco definitely is a different world, but an experience that we will both cherish.
My husband and I stayed for three nights at the Riad Alech in the Yellow Room. Immediately upon arrival the beauty of the decor and the tranquility of the place is evident. Our hostess was so gentle mannered and gracious. We were served hot mint tea, given maps of the area, and given recommendations and directions to local restaurants. Our hostess spoke broken English, however she did much better than we did with our French, and we managed to understand each other quite well.
Breakfast very morning was served on the terrace and was delicious. We were the only ones at the Riad the entire time and felt very spoiled. It was peaceful and relaxing. Not sure how it would have been if the place had been full of other patrons. The first night was a little nerve racking trying to find our way back to the Riad after dark, but once we figured where we were going we felt at ease.
Essaouira is over-kill to the senses. People (very young to very old), bikes, carts, scooters, donkeys, cats (lots of cats), and dogs, fill the streets and allys. Shops of all kinds are everywhere in the Medina. If you see something you like buy it because you will probably not be able to find the place again! Bartering for items is draining. Just be careful and don't pay more than you think something is worth. Once you pay the price, don't try and see if you could have got it cheaper somewhere else, because you probably could have and then you will be depressed (take it from me!). But it is all part of the culture, so have fun with it.
The beaches are big and beautiful. We found a great beach club "Beach & Friends" which had free Wifi and delicious food. You could use the beach chairs and umbrellas if you ordered something. Prices were very reasonable and they made wonderful pitchers of sangria! My husband planned to go kiteboarding one day, but at first there was not enough wind and then it was too windy, so unfortunately no kiteboarding for him.
We had a wonderful time in Essaouira. Recommend staying in a Riad in the Medina for at least a night or two just for the thrill of the experience.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2010

We had a lovely stay at the Riad Alech, which is truly special and gorgeous inside - decorated with a personal touch by someone with exquisite taste. It is down a side street and so off the main drag, which is fine during the day but caused us a bit of nervousness at night (2 women traveling together), also that you have to ring the bell and wait for someone to let you in and so you are waiting outside in the dark for someone to come. However, this is not atypical in Morocco. A bit of a challenge as the staff did not really speak English and we do not speak any French but again, we had that challenge all over Morocco. The staff was lovely and we would not hesitate to recommend our stay, just keep in mind the location if you are a nervous nellie.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2010

My husband and I stayed at Alech for 2 nights. We stayed in the suite. It was comfortable but having the bathroom outside of the room was inconvenient and awkward. The riad is tastefully decorated and they play excellent music! We had breakfast each morning on the terrace and it was great. The staff were very friendly. The only negative thing was we speak english and they speak french so communication was a huge issue. It was hard to make contact with the Riad when we were trying to book. The person we spoke with did speak english and asked us to email her our arrival time so she could arrange transportation. Which we did. However, we never got a reponse from her and therefore had to find our own way to the riad. Overall it was a nice place but we would look for another riad next time.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2010

Title says it all really. The riad is very small, with only 5 rooms. It's beautifully restored and the hosts are a charming couple and very helpful. Maybe you could find it lacking in privacy as the rooms are quite close together and at night noise carries very easily, but there was nobody else staying when we were there so I can't really judge. Breakfast was simple but good and they were very flexible about timing. We enjoyed our stay here more than some of the pricier places that we stayed in in Morocco.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2010

we secured a last minutes booking at riad alech while still in marrakech. despite the bus being delayed hours, our hosts sent someone to meet us and wheelbarrow our bags to the riad. the house itself is lovely - very ancient, with ancient beautiful tile work and lovely old wood work. the room was a little small for two big canadians, but that is the nature of riad life. the bathroom and shower were spotless and lots of hot water - my partner had a lovely hammam right in the riad. the hostess went out of her way, including sending out laundry for us and giving us a pound of amazing coffee. the breakfasts - oh lalala. both moroccan and western on offer (we had moroccan) on a lovely patio with a lovely rooftop. the only drawback - the door was a bit hard to find in the dark. a great place - i would stay there again any opportunity! and a bargain at 55E.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2010

Loved the place, good value for money and the sevice was excellent. Stayed in 3 different rooms, each room elegantly decorated, clean and slept well throughout my stay The hosts were a good source of information for the local town, very welcoming each time they opened the door. Breakfast was fine, ate on the terrace on my last day. No complaints, would definately return.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Alech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Alech

Address: 61 rue Ceuta, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Essaouira
#22 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Alech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Alech Essaouira
Riad Alech Hotel Essaouira

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Alech, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.