We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place but far from medina” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Vent des Dunes

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Hotel Vent des Dunes to your Saves list
Hotel Vent des Dunes
Quartier des Dunes | 20 rue El Bakay, Essaouira 44000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 78 Hotels in Essaouira
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Lovely place but far from medina”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Pretty rooms, lovely rooftop terrace where breakfast was served. It's in a really quiet residential neighbourhood. The walk to the medina took us 25 minutes but we enjoyed strolling along the beach anyway. Staff were really friendly and hospitable, although the owner was a little stern!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tintinjujutin, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Vent des Dunes, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Thank you very much for your review. We will pass on your comment to the team.
We are sorry that it was not clear enough that we were 2 minute walk away from the beach and 20 from the busy medina. As you said it is a nice walk and we advice customers who do not want to walk to take one of the blue cabs which run all around the city for 6,5dhs during the day (that is to say 0,60€) and a bit more during the night.
We look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    71
    11
    3
    2
See reviews for
32
78
20
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salamanca, Spain
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

First of all hotel was quite hidden and we needed to follow a cab to find it. It is located in the dunes side among other residences. A quiet part of the city not as charming as the medina.
The personnel in the hotel was very helpful except from the owner who doesn't seem to like new years eve.
Rooms are very clean and comfortable.
Please don't skip having breakfast on the rooftop, I wouldn't imagine to have a better way for starting a date or, in our case, a whole year. Happy 2014!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights with our 2 years old daughter.

The rooms are spacious and clean, water is hot, service is great and the price is cheap! Not glamorous but perfect for what you need!

Breakfast is included and is all you could need-fresh bread, crepes, Jams, honey, juice, coffee, tea.

It is about a 20min walk to the Medina which might trouble some but it was a lovely walk along the beach for us or a cheap quick taxi.

The only negative about this were the bees on the terrace! A small price to pay for a great stay!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Stayed 3 nights.The rooms was quiet, clean and serviced daily. Breakfast served on a large roof terrace with enough chilling out space to make it feel secluded. SOme rooms have their own terraces. Friendly cat hangsout in the terrace (but keeps to himself). 30 minute walk along the beach into Essaouira. Staff helpful.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

Excellent value and convenient distance from the beach, the breakfast which was included with our room was excellent and the roof terrace was very pleasant. One night we wanted a beer and they had ran out, the guy on duty went out and got us some which was a really nice surprise. I would also add that many people on here are giving indifferent reviews based on the beach being windy, hardly the fault of the hotel!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights having picked the hotel because of its proximity to the beach (10 minute walk) and the price! It was way too windy to sit on the beach but still it was a pleasant (long) walk to the medina. Taxi recommended for getting into the medina for and after dinner (only 8 dhm). Very basic room, average breakfast. Good value for money but would splash out next time and stay in the medina. Staff not overly friendly which was a big change from our hotel in Marrakech.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St severin
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

This is one of the nicest hôtels that I have ever stayed in, hope to return. The staff are adorable . Very clean , all of it, parking and a wonderful breakfast on the roof terrace .great situation . Quality price extremely good.No trouble asking for another pot of cofee at breakfast and help offered with bags .Thank you all

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Vent des Dunes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vent des Dunes

Address: Quartier des Dunes | 20 rue El Bakay, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 78 Hotels in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Vent des Dunes is located in a quiet residential neighborhood, just 2 minute walk away from the beach and 15 from the busy medina. It has a free shady parking lot, a roof top terrace and a free Wi-Fi available everywhere, rooms included. All the rooms are carefully decorated, some have a private terrace and all of them are equipped with a bathroom (shower and toilet). A TV room is for your use. The roof top terrace and the garden give you plenty of chances to relax. In the morning, the breakfast is served on the terrace and includes fresh orange juice and Moroccan crepes. You can also enjoy the delicious fresh local dishes cooked to order by our chef Amina. In order to make the most of your time in Essaouira, our multilingual team is at your service 24 hours a day, 7 days a week and will give you insights and advice on the activities, restaurants and hikes in Essaouira and its surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Vent des Dunes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Vent des Dunes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.