We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Vent des Dunes

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Vent des Dunes to your Saves list
Hotel Vent des Dunes
Quartier des Dunes | 20 rue El Bakay, Essaouira 44000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 77 Hotels in Essaouira
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

Excellent value and convenient distance from the beach, the breakfast which was included with our room was excellent and the roof terrace was very pleasant. One night we wanted a beer and they had ran out, the guy on duty went out and got us some which was a really nice surprise. I would also add that many people on here are giving indifferent reviews based on the beach being windy, hardly the fault of the hotel!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    71
    11
    3
    2
See reviews for
32
79
20
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights having picked the hotel because of its proximity to the beach (10 minute walk) and the price! It was way too windy to sit on the beach but still it was a pleasant (long) walk to the medina. Taxi recommended for getting into the medina for and after dinner (only 8 dhm). Very basic room, average breakfast. Good value for money but would splash out next time and stay in the medina. Staff not overly friendly which was a big change from our hotel in Marrakech.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St severin
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

This is one of the nicest hôtels that I have ever stayed in, hope to return. The staff are adorable . Very clean , all of it, parking and a wonderful breakfast on the roof terrace .great situation . Quality price extremely good.No trouble asking for another pot of cofee at breakfast and help offered with bags .Thank you all

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asilah, Morocco
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

I stayed for two nights at the Vent des Dunes early October 2013. I had a large, airy room with a comfortable bed and a small but functional bathroom with plenty of hot water for my morning and evening showers. I was allowed to take my Cairn Terrier up to my room (appreciated by both of us) and was also served breakfast in the garden (quite charming) instead of climbing up to the terrace (which I believe is beautiful). There is plenty of parking space in front of the hotel with a night watchman. As other guests have mentioned, the beach is very close and the medina (well worth visiting) only a few minutes away by taxi. I must not forget the staff who are friendly and helpful. I will certainly stay there again and can highly recommend it for other travellers.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Stayed in Sept 13 with 2 other friends. We had a room with terrace. Large room, but it smelled funny on the first night. No fan, had to leave the window open. This let noise in, mainly from Seagulls, keeping us up at night. Didn't have porters, so we carried our luggages by ourselves up and down the stairs, with little help. Breakfast was minimal and they wanted to charge us extra for requesting a second helping of the Moroccan pancake. Did not provide drinking water in the room. But the staff were friendly and informative.

Room Tip: Petit taxi costs 6.5 dir in the day and 8 dir at night to and from the Medina. Dont negotiate price...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campinas, SP
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

The location is excellent, very close to the beach in a quiet place, just in front of the Purpur islands. You can easily walk until Diabat and see the ruins at the beach. You can also walk until the medina and the harbour or take a cheap taxi.
When we arrived at the hotel, there was a cute labrador retriever to welcome us at the reception. Besides the dog, the receptionist was also friendly and explaind everything about Essaouira, even the taxi prices (believe me, in morocco it is important to know previously how much you should pay). The room was very big and enough for 4 people, but there was not enough hot water for a long bath for 3 people. At the second day we had to spare hot water so that everyone could have a reasonable bath.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

I was staying in room #9, which is meant for 3 people. The room was well decorated, bright and airy. The bathroom was small but spotless and functional. I had a lovely terrace, unfortunately, I couldn't really use it because the bench cushion was smelling cat urine. They should cover it to prevent numerous cats to feel at ease! The breakfast was simple (fresh bread, 1 crepe, jam, orange juice and coffee), but more than enough. Their coffee is probably one of the best I had in Morocco. The service was ok, but nobody gave me advices about the area and I did not feel particularly welcomed, just felt as another guest coming in. It is a 5 minute walk to the beach and a 20 minute easy and nice walk to the medina.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Vent des Dunes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vent des Dunes

Address: Quartier des Dunes | 20 rue El Bakay, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 77 Hotels in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Vent des Dunes is located in a quiet residential neighborhood, just 2 minute walk away from the beach and 15 from the busy medina. It has a free shady parking lot, a roof top terrace and a free Wi-Fi available everywhere, rooms included. All the rooms are carefully decorated, some have a private terrace and all of them are equipped with a bathroom (shower and toilet). A TV room is for your use. The roof top terrace and the garden give you plenty of chances to relax. In the morning, the breakfast is served on the terrace and includes fresh orange juice and Moroccan crepes. You can also enjoy the delicious fresh local dishes cooked to order by our chef Amina. In order to make the most of your time in Essaouira, our multilingual team is at your service 24 hours a day, 7 days a week and will give you insights and advice on the activities, restaurants and hikes in Essaouira and its surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Vent des Dunes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Vent des Dunes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.