We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Vent des Dunes

Save Saved
You added Hotel Vent des Dunes to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Vent des Dunes
Quartier des Dunes | 20 rue El Bakay, Essaouira 44000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 78 hotels in Essaouira
Asilah, Morocco
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“So friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

I stayed for two nights at the Vent des Dunes early October 2013. I had a large, airy room with a comfortable bed and a small but functional bathroom with plenty of hot water for my morning and evening showers. I was allowed to take my Cairn Terrier up to my room (appreciated by both of us) and was also served breakfast in the garden (quite charming) instead of climbing up to the terrace (which I believe is beautiful). There is plenty of parking space in front of the hotel with a night watchman. As other guests have mentioned, the beach is very close and the medina (well worth visiting) only a few minutes away by taxi. I must not forget the staff who are friendly and helpful. I will certainly stay there again and can highly recommend it for other travellers.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    107
    65
    11
    2
    2
See reviews for
29
72
20
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Stayed in Sept 13 with 2 other friends. We had a room with terrace. Large room, but it smelled funny on the first night. No fan, had to leave the window open. This let noise in, mainly from Seagulls, keeping us up at night. Didn't have porters, so we carried our luggages by ourselves up and down the stairs, with little help. Breakfast was minimal and they wanted to charge us extra for requesting a second helping of the Moroccan pancake. Did not provide drinking water in the room. But the staff were friendly and informative.

Room Tip: Petit taxi costs 6.5 dir in the day and 8 dir at night to and from the Medina. Dont negotiate price...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campinas, SP
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

The location is excellent, very close to the beach in a quiet place, just in front of the Purpur islands. You can easily walk until Diabat and see the ruins at the beach. You can also walk until the medina and the harbour or take a cheap taxi.
When we arrived at the hotel, there was a cute labrador retriever to welcome us at the reception. Besides the dog, the receptionist was also friendly and explaind everything about Essaouira, even the taxi prices (believe me, in morocco it is important to know previously how much you should pay). The room was very big and enough for 4 people, but there was not enough hot water for a long bath for 3 people. At the second day we had to spare hot water so that everyone could have a reasonable bath.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

I was staying in room #9, which is meant for 3 people. The room was well decorated, bright and airy. The bathroom was small but spotless and functional. I had a lovely terrace, unfortunately, I couldn't really use it because the bench cushion was smelling cat urine. They should cover it to prevent numerous cats to feel at ease! The breakfast was simple (fresh bread, 1 crepe, jam, orange juice and coffee), but more than enough. Their coffee is probably one of the best I had in Morocco. The service was ok, but nobody gave me advices about the area and I did not feel particularly welcomed, just felt as another guest coming in. It is a 5 minute walk to the beach and a 20 minute easy and nice walk to the medina.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Spent two nights in this hotel and enjoyed my stay. The rooms are large and clean and the terrace is lovely. The hotel is very close to the beach, which you can walk along until you reach the Medina, which is about 20 minutes away. One thing that annoyed me was the hidden room 'tax' (I think it was 11 dirhams extra per person per room) which isn't mentioned anywhere until you read the notice in the room. However, the price is still reasonable. The staff are friendly, they don't speak a lot of English (another guest had to translate for us!) but this isn't a big problem. I would recommend this hotel for anybody who wants to be close to the beach.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

This hotel is very pretty and has a lovely roof terrace on which breakfast is served etc. The rooms are simple but nice and comfortable - ours had a dodgy shower but otherwise everything worked. Unfortunately one thing that let the hotel down was the fact that the staff were not all that welcoming, and we were left feeling slightly unwanted and unfriendly, especially as we were told midway through our stay that they would be charging us for something we had apparently stained. The positioning of the hotel is very good, a five minute walk to the beach and a twenty minute walk to the medina along the seafront, which sounds long but is actually a very pleasant walk. Essaouira itself is lovely; the medina is very pretty and traditional, and the beach is also nice though very windy. I would recommend staying in this hotel, mainly for its position and comfort.

Room Tip: Some rooms have really nice outside patios and some are less good
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annecy, France
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Really great place to stay.
Large clean rooms, great roof terrace, very good breakfast, very friendly staff.
Very close to the beach, 15 mins walk to the Medina.
Excellent base for a kite-surfing trip.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Vent des Dunes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vent des Dunes

Address: Quartier des Dunes | 20 rue El Bakay, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 78 hotels in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Vent des Dunes is located in a quiet residential neighborhood, just 2 minute walk away from the beach and 15 from the busy medina. It has a free shady parking lot, a roof top terrace and a free Wi-Fi available everywhere, rooms included. All the rooms are carefully decorated, some have a private terrace and all of them are equipped with a bathroom (shower and toilet). A TV room is for your use. The roof top terrace and the garden give you plenty of chances to relax. In the morning, the breakfast is served on the terrace and includes fresh orange juice and Moroccan crepes. You can also enjoy the delicious fresh local dishes cooked to order by our chef Amina. In order to make the most of your time in Essaouira, our multilingual team is at your service 24 hours a day, 7 days a week and will give you insights and advice on the activities, restaurants and hikes in Essaouira and its surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Vent des Dunes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Vent des Dunes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.