We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A friendly and relaxing stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Vent des Dunes

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Vent des Dunes to your Saves list
Hotel Vent des Dunes
Quartier des Dunes | 20 rue El Bakay, Essaouira 44000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 77 Hotels in Essaouira
Oxford
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A friendly and relaxing stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Just spent a week here in a family room with my two young daughters. We had a great time - the staff are efficient welcoming and friendly and made our stay a very relaxing one. The home cooked Morroccan food on offer was fantastic. I'd return again.

Room Tip: The family room with two adjoining rooms and private bathroom and terrace was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    71
    11
    3
    2
See reviews for
32
79
20
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lanzarote, Spain
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Just left this place after a really pleasant four days......large rooms....smiley helpful staff.....great beds....quality pillows/bedding and spotlessly clean........wonderful roof terrace.......the whole experience was exactly what I was looking for....a place to chill and regenerate.......all the other guests seemed to be loving it too......great job ! One point..,location is a 10-15 min walk from the medina and most eateries/shops etc...for me this was fine but it may not be to everybody's taste.

Room Tip: Room 3 was large....didn't see into the others
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Rooms were very clean and nice; felt the standard room was more than adequate for a comfortable stay.

Vent des Dunes is not near the Medina, it is a bit of a walk but its easy, its about 10 mins from the bus station and 15mins from the Medina. The walk along the beach is a good way to wind down.

Couple of mins to the beach and the people who can organise horse riding, motor biking, surfing etc.

Room Tip: Standard room is no different to the more expensive one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dewey Beach, Delaware, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

I had a wonderful 2 night stay here. The room was very nice and clean. I believe it was about 30 euro per night. Located in a quiet neighborhood about 400 meters from the beach. Its about a mile walk to the medina or you can take a short taxi. Staff was very welcoming. Breakfast on the terrace was absolutely great! If you want to avoid the busyness and noise of the medina and find a nice quiet place to stay close to town this is it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chamonix, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

I very much enjoyed our stay at Vent des Dunes, we were unsure of where to stay - the beach or the Medina and we were very happy with the good service, and clean friendly hotel. The price is great, very good value for money, we found the hotel very peaceful and the roof terrace was a great place to relax and chill away from the medina. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
255 helpful votes 255 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I believe no Moroccan holiday is complete without a stay at the beach. Vent des Dunes delivers on the promise of a relaxing, comfortable stay in Essaourira, while providing services and value not found in higher end establishments. We escaped for a few days of relief from the big markets and medinas and found home. When we unsuccessfully went out to find a bottle of wine in the grocery stores in the neighborhood, the owner Juliette recognized our folly and went out and got us a bottle of red wine from her source. The young lady at the desk, Hames, worked overtime taking care of our every request - bike rental, hammam/spa, restaurants - and still took time to teach us some Arabic. Dunes is another French run establishment and done so with style and comfort. The rooms are good size, the beds dreamy and the food splendid. Having breakfast up on the terrace was reason to wake early and enjoy the morning with gulls drifting overhead.

The hotel is tucked away in the south end of town, a ten minute walk along the beach to the Medina. We found a little cafe about half way to town that we loved to stop for beers and appetizers. There was always a soccer game on the television so that kept things lively. Being away from the fray was the reason we chose Dunes and we were delighted with the decision. Cabs and horse-drawn carriages ply the streets nearby if you want a ride into town.

I really loved our stay at Vent des Dunes. The beach is across the street and has places to rent surfboards, sailboards, camels, kiteboards, all form of water sports equipment. We spent lots of time up on the terrace enjoying the weather, sites and sounds. Many folks pick Agadir for their beach excursion, my vote is Essaouira and the Dunes.

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor have little terraces which are a nice privacy touch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Had a great time at this hotel! The staff were very welcoming and helpful! The weather did unfortunately not allow us to enjoy the terrace as much as we would have liked but it looks very comfortable. The breakfast is basic but good. The only downside is that it is not really in walking distance from the old town (it takes 20-25 minutes to walk but then again, a cab only costs 7 Dh.) and there is not much to see in the direct vicinity of the hotel, but that might also be a plus as you are not disturbed by traffic or other noise.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Vent des Dunes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vent des Dunes

Address: Quartier des Dunes | 20 rue El Bakay, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 77 Hotels in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Vent des Dunes is located in a quiet residential neighborhood, just 2 minute walk away from the beach and 15 from the busy medina. It has a free shady parking lot, a roof top terrace and a free Wi-Fi available everywhere, rooms included. All the rooms are carefully decorated, some have a private terrace and all of them are equipped with a bathroom (shower and toilet). A TV room is for your use. The roof top terrace and the garden give you plenty of chances to relax. In the morning, the breakfast is served on the terrace and includes fresh orange juice and Moroccan crepes. You can also enjoy the delicious fresh local dishes cooked to order by our chef Amina. In order to make the most of your time in Essaouira, our multilingual team is at your service 24 hours a day, 7 days a week and will give you insights and advice on the activities, restaurants and hikes in Essaouira and its surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Vent des Dunes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Vent des Dunes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.