We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to stay. Great value and close to the beach.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Vent des Dunes

Save Saved
You added Hotel Vent des Dunes to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Vent des Dunes
Quartier des Dunes | 20 rue El Bakay, Essaouira 44000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 78 hotels in Essaouira
Dewey Beach, Delaware, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Wonderful place to stay. Great value and close to the beach.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

I had a wonderful 2 night stay here. The room was very nice and clean. I believe it was about 30 euro per night. Located in a quiet neighborhood about 400 meters from the beach. Its about a mile walk to the medina or you can take a short taxi. Staff was very welcoming. Breakfast on the terrace was absolutely great! If you want to avoid the busyness and noise of the medina and find a nice quiet place to stay close to town this is it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    107
    63
    10
    2
    2
See reviews for
28
72
20
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chamonix, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

I very much enjoyed our stay at Vent des Dunes, we were unsure of where to stay - the beach or the Medina and we were very happy with the good service, and clean friendly hotel. The price is great, very good value for money, we found the hotel very peaceful and the roof terrace was a great place to relax and chill away from the medina. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
255 helpful votes 255 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I believe no Moroccan holiday is complete without a stay at the beach. Vent des Dunes delivers on the promise of a relaxing, comfortable stay in Essaourira, while providing services and value not found in higher end establishments. We escaped for a few days of relief from the big markets and medinas and found home. When we unsuccessfully went out to find a bottle of wine in the grocery stores in the neighborhood, the owner Juliette recognized our folly and went out and got us a bottle of red wine from her source. The young lady at the desk, Hames, worked overtime taking care of our every request - bike rental, hammam/spa, restaurants - and still took time to teach us some Arabic. Dunes is another French run establishment and done so with style and comfort. The rooms are good size, the beds dreamy and the food splendid. Having breakfast up on the terrace was reason to wake early and enjoy the morning with gulls drifting overhead.

The hotel is tucked away in the south end of town, a ten minute walk along the beach to the Medina. We found a little cafe about half way to town that we loved to stop for beers and appetizers. There was always a soccer game on the television so that kept things lively. Being away from the fray was the reason we chose Dunes and we were delighted with the decision. Cabs and horse-drawn carriages ply the streets nearby if you want a ride into town.

I really loved our stay at Vent des Dunes. The beach is across the street and has places to rent surfboards, sailboards, camels, kiteboards, all form of water sports equipment. We spent lots of time up on the terrace enjoying the weather, sites and sounds. Many folks pick Agadir for their beach excursion, my vote is Essaouira and the Dunes.

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor have little terraces which are a nice privacy touch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Had a great time at this hotel! The staff were very welcoming and helpful! The weather did unfortunately not allow us to enjoy the terrace as much as we would have liked but it looks very comfortable. The breakfast is basic but good. The only downside is that it is not really in walking distance from the old town (it takes 20-25 minutes to walk but then again, a cab only costs 7 Dh.) and there is not much to see in the direct vicinity of the hotel, but that might also be a plus as you are not disturbed by traffic or other noise.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, Utrecht, Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

for windsurf holiday in Essaouira last March. Vent des Dunes is a great place to stay, nice atmosphere and a very nice staff. The rooms are cool clean and classy. Location in an quiet neighborhood near the beach and windsurfcentre Club Mistral!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northcliff, Gauteng, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

Vent des Dunes was a wonderfully experience. After traveling through Morocco for 3 weeks and spending a weekend in Essaouira's medina, we decided to make the last couple of nights in Essaouira, quiet relaxed ones. This place is perfect for that! The breakfast on the terrace was absolutely lovely with great service and very friendly staff. Breakfast was accompanied by happy chatter and laughter from the owner and her staff, while sitting on a sunny blue and white terrace watching the seagulls overhead. What a lovely peaceful place! Vent des dunes is also close to the beach, close to the kite surfing shop and restaurant called Ocean Vagabond and a lovely restaurant called Beach and Friends. I would recommend thisnhotelmfor a quiet beachy holiday. It is quite far from the Medina and the harbor. We woke up very early to watch the sunrise one morning and were greeted at the door by a smile at 5am and came back to a lovely breakfast on the terrace. I would recommend this hotel as traveling into the medina with a taxi takes 5minutes, but you are still far away enough to sit on the beach and watch the camels, and this is the perfect hotel for surfers and kite surfers alike as this is the closest you can stay to the ocean.

Room Tip: There are a variety of rooms, some of them have balcony's etc, but the terrace is so nice that i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brighton
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

this hotel was perfect for our stay, very clean spacious and comfortable rooms, very picturesque.
we stayed in room 9 which was great, breakfast on the roof terrace was superb and although the staff spoke french they were very hospitable to our little pigeon english.
excellent price for this 12 night stay and will certainly be staying here again.

Room Tip: just choose your favourite colour as each room is done out in different colours
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Vent des Dunes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vent des Dunes

Address: Quartier des Dunes | 20 rue El Bakay, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 78 hotels in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Vent des Dunes is located in a quiet residential neighborhood, just 2 minute walk away from the beach and 15 from the busy medina. It has a free shady parking lot, a roof top terrace and a free Wi-Fi available everywhere, rooms included. All the rooms are carefully decorated, some have a private terrace and all of them are equipped with a bathroom (shower and toilet). A TV room is for your use. The roof top terrace and the garden give you plenty of chances to relax. In the morning, the breakfast is served on the terrace and includes fresh orange juice and Moroccan crepes. You can also enjoy the delicious fresh local dishes cooked to order by our chef Amina. In order to make the most of your time in Essaouira, our multilingual team is at your service 24 hours a day, 7 days a week and will give you insights and advice on the activities, restaurants and hikes in Essaouira and its surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Vent des Dunes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Vent des Dunes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.