We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and relaxing stay.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Lunetoile

Save Saved
You added Riad Lunetoile to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Riad Lunetoile
191 Rue Sidi Mohamed Ben Abdullah | Medina, Essaouira 44000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 156 Essaouira B&B and Inns
2 reviews
“Comfortable and relaxing stay.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Very cosy riad. We stayed in room 4 which was a little bit more expensive but worth it with en suite and 2 lovely chill out spots-1bay window seat and another corner sofa. Breakfast was included in the price and we enjoyed reading on the roof terrace. Someone met us at the bus stop and everything was smooth and organised. Secure your booking on the website with cc then pay in cash with EUROS. Really worth a visit to this lovely seaside escape and this riad is perfect!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lunetoile, Owner at Riad Lunetoile, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
"Cosy Riad. Smoothe and Organised. This Riad is Perfect"

Well, thank you! And thank you for taking the time to write such a welcome review...from all of us at Lunetoile.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    149
    44
    6
    5
    1
See reviews for
41
93
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Me and my friend stayed here during our visit to Essaouira December 2012 and we love it! Not only we amazed with its cleanliness and beautiful decorations with flowers everywhere (yes, this is a riad with romantic ambiance!), the helpful owner Sue and the lovely staff Kabira were definitely the huge factors that made us love this riad so much! Our staying there was very relaxing and we spent morning time enjoying our loong breakfast time with nice view from the rooftop (a nice thing to do after exhausted with desert tour and the busy Marrakech!) The local hamam was shocking though, but definitely a life time experience that we will never forget! :)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lunetoile, Owner at Riad Lunetoile, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
"Clean, Beautiful, Romantic - filled with Love"

Beautiful words fantastic review!

Thank you from us all.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
129 hotel reviews
Reviews in 120 cities Reviews in 120 cities
208 helpful votes 208 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

I came to be at Riad Lunetoile off the back of the reviews on here and I have to say that the hype is justified.

It's located on one of the two main streets running through the medina and would have been easy to find. However I did not need to as one of the local ladies working there came to meet me at the bus stop.

I was originally booked into one of the ground floor rooms with shared bathroom. However, on arrival I was offered a room on the 1st floor (number 3) at a lower rate as the ground floor room was double booked. I decided to take it.

The room spanned the front of the riad. It was nicely decorated and had a wardrobe, corner couch/seat and lots of shelving. I was given local snacks, oranges and a bottle of water which I thought were nice touches. This being January the room got quite cold at night but with the heater provided I survived without much of a problem. A slight annoyance was the pool hall/amusement arcade just down the street. The local youth made a lot of noise. The screaming and shouting continued until at least 00.30 when I put my earplugs in.

The private bathroom was pleasant. A heated towel rail, decent supply of toilet paper. More nice touches like petals spread on the floor towel next to the shower and soap provided. The only negative was an occasional unpleasant odour. This must have come from the pipes rather than being down to any cleanliness issue.

There's a kitchen at your disposal but with so many restaurants to try I didn't go near it. A laptop is provided for internet access for those who do not have their own device. The wifi itself was not the best. The connection was not very strong and worked about 80% of the time. I feel bad mentioning it as I did not come to Morocco to check f.b but this could be an issue for anyone planning to work online during their stay. The roof terrace was a nice place to relax (there's also an indoor section for those particularly windy days.) Although the wifi signal did not reach it.

A basic breakfast was included in the price - a croissant, baguette, jam, butter, yoghurt, hot drink and juice. You could eat downstairs, in your room or on the roof terrace (you might have to share with the seagulls if the choose the latter option.)

The best thing about this hotel in my opinion was the local ladies working there - Kabira and Latifa. They were so friendly and made my stay a pleasure. Not a lot of English was spoken but this pushed me to practice my limited French. Latifa could also speak some basic Spanish.

If I was to return to Essaouira I would definitely come back to Riad Lunetoile.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lunetoile, Owner at Riad Lunetoile, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
"The HYPE IS justified"! What an amazing, in depth review....thank you soo much for taking the time to write a review...it is very very much appreciated!

This is not just HYPE a this is the REAL DEAL.

Thank you from us all at Lunetoile
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Having looked at lots of riads online in Essaouira to ensure we had a good stay over the Christmas holidays, we were delighted with this gem of a Riad! Riad Lunetoile has a beautiful interior and the staff were wonderful. We stayed in a double room with ensuite (Room 3 I think) which had it's own lounge area, perfect for chilling out inbetween the busy streets and beach trips. The owner, Sue, gave us a great review of local restaurants and bars so we had lots of delicious dinners (tummy bug free!) in the town. Breakfast on the terrace is a must - croissants and home-made yoghourt each morning with coffee and fresh orange juice. The view of the sea and the town is fantastic plus it's a great place to sunbathe.The other staff, particularly Kabira, are friendly and welcoming and helped us arrange transport and even a sunset camel ride on Christmas day. I was worried about how cold it would be at night in December but they provide electric heaters and hot water bottles (which we didn't need in the end) but was a huge comfort after a very cold stay in a damp riad in Marrakech unfortunately. I would highly recommend Riad Lunetoile and look forward to returning one day!

Room Tip: Rooms on the ground floor share a bathroom and are slightly darker but good for a short stop. Rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lunetoile, Owner at Riad Lunetoile, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
"This GEM of a Riad"!! We, too, think we have a little GEM...and we try to spread the word and the joy! Thank you for your very nice comments, and WE certainly look forward to your return!

Sue, Kabira, Latifa x2 and Ftuma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

I stayed here for a few days during a 6 week trip through Morocco. Essaouira is a wonderful little city and Lunetoile is a terrific place to explore it all from in comfort. Very helpful staff and the owner Sue was there to welcome me and get me oriented with everything I needed - directions, restaurants, etc. The rooms were all beautiful and genuinely decorated not to mention comfortable and quiet. The roof deck was also a terrific place to relax and look out over the city and the ocean. The Riad is located within an easy walk to the most traveled areas but also accessible to the less traveled areas as well which are great for walking and exploring. Super clean, friendly and relaxing. I would definitely stay here again on a return trip.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lunetoile, Secrétaire at Riad Lunetoile, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Google Translation
Je suis très contente que vous avez aimé Lunetoile et Essaouira ... et que vous pouvez revenir? Toujours les bienvenus. Merci beaucoup pour le charmant description, et pour prendre le temps d'écrire... Sue et les femmes de Lunetoile
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Me and my friend went to Essaouira for 3 days before I left Morroco. This is the best riad I've ever stayed. Sue (the owner) was warm and very helpful. She briefed us about the recommended restaurants, hamam, and spas. She also informed us about the normal price for camel riding or any other activities that we can do. Rooms are very clean, thoughtful, and beautiful. They provides a complimentary snack, water, and extra heater in the room. You can even ask for more! They served a great breakfast too! :)

The only downside is that the staff cannot speak English. They are very very helpful though. I cannot speak french but I still can communicate with the staffs during my stay! So it's not really a downside :)

This is definitely something that I will gladly recommend to anyone. You should try!

Room Tip: Any room will do - even the most cheap room is beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lunetoile, Owner at Riad Lunetoile, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
"The BEST RIAD I have ever stayed" (sic) That is indeed PRAISE! Thank you very much and do come back again....we are always here to make you comfortable and welcome..with true Moroccan hospitality....from all of us at Lunetoile.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

Highly recommend! Susan and her staff are so gracious, even picked us up from the bus station when we first arrived. The location is a 5 minute walk to the port and very near to trendy cafes and shops. The breakfast is homeade and literrally served to you whenever you wake in the morning. Rooms are very clean and the staff even make ur bed for u when youre out for the day. Only thing i might not recommend is purchasing a hammam day through the hostel, i was looking for more of a spa type hammam and they took me to a communal hammam.. Not a bad experience but i could have done that on my own with 1/4th the cost.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lunetoile, Owner at Riad Lunetoile, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thank you so very much for the lovely review, and for taking the time to write it. We were very happy to have met you, and to have you stay at Lunetoile. Sorry about your feelings of the hammam...I usually make it very clear that it is a local authentic hammam....so, re your misconception of it being a spa, I am very very sorry! Spa it is not! Hehehe...no white slippers and robe and soothing music..just raw, honest, Moroccan Hammam which is filled with girls and their Mums all doing their weekly ablutions..or, in the case of Men's Hammams...filled with Men. However, the cost of 115dhms, is NO spa price! And to say you could have got it at 1/4 of the price is, of course true, if you were to have done your hammam yourself! But, being a novice, this would not have been easy for you, as you would not have known what to do, nor would you have had any of the mats, soaps, exfoliating glove etc...not to mention the lady who spent 1 hour with you, giving you, what I thought was a fantastic massage? And ALL of this for 115dhms...which is about 10€ ! Personally, I think that this is fantastic value for money....but, I do appreciate what you have written...and thank you...Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Lunetoile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Lunetoile

Address: 191 Rue Sidi Mohamed Ben Abdullah | Medina, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 156 B&Bs / Inns in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Lunetoile, situated in the heart of the Medina, with sea-views from the top terrace and from apartment 5, is the ideal relaxing, comfortable, holiday home / guest-house / B&B, to rent, in Essaouira. Ideal for surfers, individuals, couples or families... our Moroccan hospitality will enthrall you.....so, Submit yourself to a gentle introduction to true Moroccan hospitality, mixed with a little European comfort, and spiced up with a few Indian accessories. Enjoy all, that the Orient, has to offer, whilst still being in Africa!Savour our home-made BISUITS and sip mint tea from our sea-facing, rooftop terrace and listen to the waves of the Atlantic Ocean, crashing onto the rocks, whilst you let yourself drift into the mysteries of this far-away, Arabic, land. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, HostelBookers and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Riad Lunetoile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Lunetoile, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.