We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Lunetoile

Save Saved
You added Riad Lunetoile to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Riad Lunetoile
191 Rue Sidi Mohamed Ben Abdullah | Medina, Essaouira 44000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 156 Essaouira B&B and Inns
Iowa City, Iowa
1 review
“Amazing Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

I stayed with some friends at the Riad for 1 night over the summer. Sue knew we only had a short time in the city and made the stay well worth it. She gave us great ideas on things to do and great restaurants to eat at. The Riad was beautiful and the staff was as friendly as you can get. If you get a chance to stay in Essaouira, don't even think about staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lunetoile, Owner at Riad Lunetoile, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
"don't even think about staying anywhere else"!!! Thank you Sooooo much...what a lovely review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    149
    44
    6
    5
    1
See reviews for
41
93
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

This is a very charming place to stay. The staff was super friendly and Sue, the owner, was a very warm and welcoming lady who made us feel right at home. She gave us many helpful tips about places to go explore around the city. Our room was tastefully decorated, extremely clean and surprisingly large. There was a nice rooftop terrace with an ocean view that was open for everyone to use and a nice common area on the first level where we could talk with other guests. I thought it was a great value for the money. I would highly recommend this as an excellent place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lunetoile, Owner at Riad Lunetoile, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Thank you!! LOVE that you appreciate "THE GREAT VALUE FOR MONEY"... ( Amongst all the other praise)...thank you so much...Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012 via mobile

i can only recommend lunetoile as we spent 6 days and nights here and it was never boring! camel riding at la maison de chameau, hammam (thanks to latifa who made this an unforgetable relaxing experience), massage, waxing, enjoying the nice breakfast every morning and chilling out at the rooftop terrace... well, essaouira is not too bad either :) we will come back with little babyboy!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lunetoile, Owner at Riad Lunetoile, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Thanks for the wonderful write up...we SOOO await your return with baby....wishing you a serene next few months...from all of us at Lunetoile.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

We had a very pleasent stay at Riad Lunetoile in Essaouira. The staff is very kind and caring, and the owner of the hostel (Sue) is very involved with the guests who stay at Riad Lunetoile. We got a lot of information about Essaouira when we arrived, which made us immediately a bit familiar with this for us unknown city.
The Riad is very clean, the breakfast is great and the rooms are beautiful, for a reasonable price. We definitely come back one day!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lunetoile, Owner at Riad Lunetoile, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Thank you so much for the wonderful review...and please do come back....always welcome! Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ork
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

The riad has been tastefully decorated to create a warm and inviting place to stay. Our room (4) was a very spacious and restful place to stay. The terrace has a great view of the sea and all the roof tops of the riads around it. The ladies who looked after us were lovely and very meticulous. Breakfast with warm croissants, coffee, juice and yoghurts was delicious. Sue met us on arrival with tea and nibbles and advice on where to eat. We went riding with Anwar on his Berber horses- a great expereince.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lunetoile, Owner at Riad Lunetoile, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Thanks so much! Soooo glad that we were able to give you a "GREAT EXPERIENCE"... as you had arrived a little bit 'shattered' from your Marrakech hols! Yes, Essaouira is much more calm and I am thrilled that we were able to turn things around for you...especially for your daughter...welcome back, anytime...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Many thanks again to ALL of you Ladies in Lunetoile! As a family we could not feel more welcome. It started at the bus station where Mrs.Kabiva met us and it countinued through all our stay in this super friendly, clean and stylish riad. We were happy having breakfasts on the roof terrace every morning while the town was waking up. The owner Mrs.Sue was very helpful providing us with the info we needed regarding the Essaouira. About food, hamams, events... everything. She really took her time. The room was beautiful, peaceful, clean and airy not to mention the rose and oranges on the table and even rose petals on the bathroom floor ♥

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lunetoile, Owner at Riad Lunetoile, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
THANK YOU! And thank you for taking the time to write a review...much appreciated...and we are thrilled that you all loved Lunetoile and Essaouira....from all of us...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

After making a mistake whilst booking the riad lunetoile (i booked for the wrong month!) i was panicking that my partner and i would be stranded with nowhere to stay. How wrong i was! Sue and her staff were fantastic in rearranging my booking and making sure someone was there to meet us off the bus from Marrakech - all this despite the fact Sue was out of the country at the time. We stayed in the Apartment at the top which is GORGEOUS, the staff were friendly, there was a lovely breakfast and the Riad was ideally situated near all the action of Essaouira. I have nothing bad to say about this place, it was amazing and we will definately be returning.

Room Tip: If you can, get the apartment at the top, its worth the extra cash.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lunetoile, Owner at Riad Lunetoile, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
The last sentence says it all.....AMAZING and Definitely be returning...music to our ears, as they say! Thank you...and we will alwys be here....from Sue and all of the ladies at Lunetoile.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Lunetoile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Lunetoile

Address: 191 Rue Sidi Mohamed Ben Abdullah | Medina, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 156 B&Bs / Inns in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Lunetoile, situated in the heart of the Medina, with sea-views from the top terrace and from apartment 5, is the ideal relaxing, comfortable, holiday home / guest-house / B&B, to rent, in Essaouira. Ideal for surfers, individuals, couples or families... our Moroccan hospitality will enthrall you.....so, Submit yourself to a gentle introduction to true Moroccan hospitality, mixed with a little European comfort, and spiced up with a few Indian accessories. Enjoy all, that the Orient, has to offer, whilst still being in Africa!Savour our home-made BISUITS and sip mint tea from our sea-facing, rooftop terrace and listen to the waves of the Atlantic Ocean, crashing onto the rocks, whilst you let yourself drift into the mysteries of this far-away, Arabic, land. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, HostelBookers, HotelsClick and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Riad Lunetoile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Lunetoile, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.