We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dar Afram” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar Afram

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Essaouira
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riad Dar Afram
10,rue Sidi Magdoul, Essaouira 44000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 78 hotels in Essaouira
Paris, France
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Dar Afram”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We got off the bus in Essaouira having no place to stay. Luckily for us Taz from Riad Dar Afram was there to save the day and brought us to his beautiful Riad. We stayed there for four days soaking up the sun on the roof top gazing out at the sea view. The rooms are tastefully furnished and very clean. The decor throughout the riad is really lovely. The food was great, fresh and nutritious and the company fantastic. Every night the guitar came out and the singing went on into the small hours. If you want a home from home with two wonderful hosts Taz and Abe don't miss the Dar Afram experience. Thanks guys :)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    54
    10
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
22
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Zürich, Schweiz
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

I absolutely loved my stay at Dar Afram - great hospitality, nice people, very good breakfast (especially when you carry your tray all the way up to the roof terrace!) and the music never seems to stop at this place!
Although Essaouira is anyways not big and distances are close from almost all places, the neighbourhood is really nice and definitely another plus.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We had a week here in late september and we really enjoyed it. Lovely musical vibes, really nice social dinners with great hosts, a sweet roof terrace and soon to be roof bar/bbq experience. I would most definitely return! Abdul's & Taz's hospitality was second to none and they really like to have a jam on the guitars, inviting everyone to get involved! Loved it! Tnx guys.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Slept here for 5 days during our stay in Essaouira. We were doing a fairly low-budget trip and slept in hostels and cheap hotels and this was surely one of the best value for money I've ever had! This is not the most important thing though because its a great place to stay without looking at the price. The young australian/maroccan guy running it is an extremely chilled and friendly guy that is willing to help you with anything you ask. In the evening there is the option to eat in the common room together with any other guests that have decided to try the exquisite cooking of two lovely ladies, and exquisite it was! The roof-terrace is also great; breakfast in the morning sun and a drink overlooking the sunset. We were in a different place the first couple of nights in Essaouira and I'd recommend anyone going to Essaouira to check out Dar Afram!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

A friend and I stayed here in December 2011 for 3 nights. Good spacious rooms, shared bathroom (but was never a problem). Pretty basic accommodation but a very cool rooftop terrace where we could eat breakfast (included and homemade) and enjoy the sunshine. The owners are laid-back and very helpful. You can also get dinner here for an extra charge. The location is hard to find (you'd need a guide most likely) but it's in a good location and close to a very good hammam and spa called The Sahara (highly recommended for massages!). Water was hot but rooms were a little cold at this time of year (no heating in rooms). All in all, a good stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2011

This is a really nice hostel/small hotel for travelers in Essaouira.

Taz is a brilliant host and so are the kind and generous ladies serving breakfast, which, by the way, is quite good for the price.

I would love to return and experience the amazing "vibes" and sense of community that so many others have praised Dar Afram for online, and in its guest books. Trust me, this is a great place for both young and fun-minded older travelers to stay and enjoy.

Location is stellar, too. Plenty of hot water in the spotless bathrooms.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

i love this riad - authentic moroccan in every way with beautiful design, great food and wonderful music - the bar area is great and reasonably priced - the food is superb and beautifully prepared by moroccan women in the kitchen and the owner Taz - makes everyone feel so welcome

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Dar Afram? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Afram

Address: 10,rue Sidi Magdoul, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 78 hotels in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Afram is famous for music, a funky vibe and a special, unique atmosphere. A beautiful traditional riad run by friendly aussie-moroccans.There are 6 high standard spotless bedrooms like apartments with private bathroom and showers, sleeping 2 to 4 people. There is also a single and shared rooms available.You can enjoy a fantastic 360 degrees view of the sea and see far accross the roofs of the medina.Breakfast is included and is usually served on the terrace. Sunset barbeques is another feature of this wonderful terrace.Communal evening meals are organised everynight with some of the towns finest chefs and live music follows. Musicians and artists from all over the world visit dar afram. We even have an online you tube channel that captures some of the talent flowing through. Check out Dar Afram TV for some of the live perfomances.As written in our trip advisor and lonely planet reviews, Dar Afram is the pefect place to meet people and make new friends.A house of charm, inspiration and good feeling which is beautifully decorated with various art and antiques.Our guests often stay longer than expected and truly feel at home. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Dar Afram, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Riad Dar Afram to your Saves list