We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Riad bello e pulito” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Asmitou

Save Saved
You added Riad Asmitou to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Riad Asmitou
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   32 rue Bagdad | Medina, Essaouira 44000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #77 of 154 Essaouira B&B and Inns
Italia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Riad bello e pulito”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2009

The rooms are clean and the staff is very hospitable, when you give directions to Essaouira. Excellent breakfast, a special thanks to Youssef. You can not pay by credit card, why not go the fax line (one line telofica funzionava scusala) More on booking.com, to other people is really the same. Terrace in the sofas and chairs are old and poorly taken photos deceive, the owner said it had changed ?????!. The location is excellent, at the Medina and 500 meters from the bus station. For the same price but I think it is better or the same quality but lower prices may Essaouira as a city is more expensive than other cities of Morocco. If you want to do a Hammam and massage you ask the owner to refer to the center estestico Nassy I think superlative hammam, scrub and massage all over an hour and a half for 300 Dh. Council stay in this riad.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    44
    45
    12
    4
    2
See reviews for
19
57
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Providence, RI
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2009

We spent two nights here as a side trip from Marrakesh - the owner of the riad there made all the arrangements for us. Asmitou was absolutely perfect. The room was spacious and clean, the bathroom was sizable and modern, the bed was comfortable, and the riad location was great. The staff were super friendly, including the owner, with whom we chatted for almost an hour about the renovations of the property. She put a tremendous amount of thought and care into every detail. Each room has its own name and flair. Before leaving for dinner one night we relaxed in the lounge area downstairs and we treated to some delectable treats as we enjoyed a bottle of wine. We could have easily have spent another couple of days in Essaouira, thanks to the comfort of Asmitou. Highly recommend this riad!

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marrakech, Morocco
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2008

Lovely riad in the medina of essaouira. Rooms are clean and nicely furnished. Staff was nice and the brakfast good . Our room was a bit noisy thou, because it faced the street, maybe other rooms are qiuter.
there is a nice solarium and free internet connection.
Very good for the price!

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2008

Great place, very friendly though the owner was a bit pushy about the payment...
There is a wonderful solarium and the Savanne suite we had is very comfortable. Good hospitality, clean and nice decoration. On a scale from 1-10 (10=very good): 8.

  • Liked — the suite and the solarium
  • Disliked — very friendly but a bit pushy personnel
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2008

My boyfriend and I stayed at Riad Asmitou for 5 nights during the Gnaoa World music festival last week and it was really excellent.
Lovely staff, well located, delicious breakfast of pancakes, fresh bread, jam, coffee and freshly squeezed orange juice.
There is much less hassle here in Essaouria than Marrakesh and there is a nice breeze coming in from the ocean which makes it comfortable to sunbathe on the couches on one of the terraces.

I would definitely recommend a stay here...it's clean, relaxing and quiet.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston Upon Thames
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2008

We were a party of 5 (2 twins and 1 single room) that stayed here for 4 nights for the festival. Its located at Bab Doukkala gate and in a great spot really. All staff charming without exception (very much including gracious owner Solange and night porter Ibrahim).

Rooms and bathrooms were simple, nicely decorated and very comfortable and spotlessly clean (i saw three different rooms and they were all consistently good). Communal areas of the riad (roof terrace, breakfast terrace etc) also very good.

Cold beers, wine and spirits are all available and very welcome as a sundowner before going out.
Breakfast were fine, nothing special but perfectly adequate.

I am giving this review 5 stars not because its a five star place (its 3 stars in my opinion), but because i struggle to find anything to mark it down (with the minor exception of not very nice coffee for breakfast) and the value for money is simply excellent (£40 per night).

Would i stay here again? - extremely likely.

  • Liked — Incredible value for such a good place
  • Disliked — Inferior coffee at breakfast
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota, USA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2008

Despite initial uncertainty about online reservations and transit to Essaouira, Riad Asmitou satisfied our expectations completely.

We loved the location down a tiny alley, facing a neighborhood gathering spot: the communal water spigot. Just a couple of minutes walk away from the cobbled center of the medina. No cars allowed!

We loved the careful, tasteful decor and delicious breakfast, served on the rooftop. We loved the warm staff and their responsiveness both in person and via email. To our amazement, as we checked in we were invited to sit and take tea!

Although this riad offers quiet repose, including no TV, we did catch a local wi-fi signal. We could focus on the place and each other, and still make sure the kids were OK back home.

The Supratour bus stop is a 20 minute walk away. Since no cars enter the medina, walking is the way. Relax about the luggage: upon descent from the bus, you will find eager carriers with ubiquitous blue carts to escort you to your hotel. They know the way, freeing you to enjoy the sights and smells of this gem of a place!

FYI, note that Riad Asmitou is not near the beach; this location satisfies curious shoppers and people watchers inside the medina. The beach is 20 minute walk away. Also note that initial deposit can be paid with credit card, and the balance is payable in dirhams, cash only.

  • Liked — Location in heart of medina.
  • Disliked — Room a bit too cramped and street sounds are quite audible.
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Asmitou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Asmitou

Address: 32 rue Bagdad | Medina, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 154 B&Bs / Inns in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Asmitou 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Budget Places, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Riad Asmitou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Asmitou Essaouira
Riad Asmitou Hotel Essaouira

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Asmitou, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.