We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great riad in Essaouira's old medina” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad l'Ayel d'Essaouira

Save Saved
You added Riad l'Ayel d'Essaouira to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Booking.com
and 6 more sites!
Riad l'Ayel d'Essaouira
2.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   28 rue Mallek Ben El Morahhal, Essaouira 44000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 148 Essaouira B&B and Inns
Yeovil, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great riad in Essaouira's old medina”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

A great place to stay. Very clean and comfortable and felt very homely. The staff were extremely kind and helpful, and we enjoyed really good home made Moroccan cooking in the riad which can be arrange each morning. Room was very clean and comfortable - not too hot even in the middle of August. Located right inside the old medina easy walking distance of pretty well everywhere. which means you can explore various parts of Essaouira in the morning and then come back and have a peaceful afternoon on the rooftop terrace!! We spent our 25th wedding anniversary there and it was really great. Overall highly recommended.

Room Tip: Only slight drawback was that our room (Cherafa) was on the side of the side street and that could b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    112
    37
    13
    3
    1
See reviews for
39
73
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burnaby
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

First of all, don't rely on google maps for the location, because the riad's marker is a few streets off from the actual address (bad google!). Just pay one of the cart guys 20 dhm and save yourself the hassle of trying to find it (the riad's emailed directions aren't helpful, either).
My room, the Mogador, was really small, but I didn't mind since it was clean. Interestingly, noise was less noticeable in this riad than in most others because the walls are about a foot thick! As with most riads, the rooms face into the courtyard, so noise echos around. Service was ok, neither special, nor bad. About the wi-fi, you can only get it in one spot on the ground floor.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

A friend and I have just returned from a week long trip to Morocco, with three days/2 nights in Essaouira both here. This Riad is very beautiful, run by a lovely family and right in the heart of the Medina.

We received an email in advance with some directions on which were very helpful and finding the Riad straight forward. On arrival we were given mint tea and cakes while we filled in a quick form with passport details etc. We were asked whether we wanted to have a nerby Hammam booked for us which was a nice touch.

We were taken to our room which I forget the name of but it was the first on the left once you go up the stairs. Our room was very large (could of slept 4), well decorated, very clean and smelt of a lovely incense from downstairs.

Breakfast was up on the lovely terrace roof and was really enjoyable; strawberry/apple/banana slices, freshly squeezed OJ, coffee and crepes and bread.

All in all, we found a website which had an offer on meaning we paid £25 per person for the two nights which made this an incredible find and out of this world value for money!!

I thoroughly recommend visiting Essaouira and you must stay here.

Room Tip: First on the left on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights in January and really enjoyed the city. The riad was ok-- it is owned by a Frenchman and the staff speak a little English, but it was difficult to communicate most of the time (especially when a pipe burst in our room, though this was fixed quickly once we sorted the language barrier problem). We stayed in the room on the top floor (with the roof terrace), and although it was lovely and we enjoyed the privacy and comfort, the ventilation was non-existent. Apparently Essaouria as a whole has a problem with plumbing, and there was often a toilet-type smell coming from the shower. It wasn't enough to make us find another place though.

Room Tip: I wouldn't recommend the room on the top floor, but we didn't get to see the others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

The staff were not only friendly but helpful and kind. The riad is clean, beautiful, and right in the heart of the medina. My room was beautifully decorated and I felt like a queen at a reasonable price. I needed to find a place to buy bus tix for the next day and the manager walked with me through the winding streets so I'd be sure to find it. The food was tasty and plentiful and ready when I came down in the morning. I can't praise it enough.

Room Tip: Ask for a suite. It's not very expensive but is clean and beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uppsala, Sweden
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

For of all, this riad is not a 5* hotel. It is a riad in Essauoira and in being so it is a cosy small place to stay without aircon and flat-screen tv:s. Instead of the modern amenities this place comes equipped with the two most friendly people I have ever met. The couple that runs this riad will not only serve you the best mint-tea in Morocco, they will also walk you to the pharmacy in the middle of the night if you feel sick and need medicin. They care about you and they do everything they can to make you feel welcome. The breakfast on the rooftop is perfect and the night before they'll even ask you what time you'd like to have it and then they'll make it for you at that time.

I would certainly stay here again if I went to Morocco. Both the town and especially this riad is a must stop on any journey to this country.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

We picked this after good reviews in the Lonely Planet and we were certainly not disappointed. We stayed here for 4 nights (originally it was supposed to be 2) - lovely breakfast in the mornings, great roof top terrace to escape the bustle of the city downstairs and a good service. You would be well advised to stay here - we stayed in many five star hotels and luxury riads during our trip, but this remained our favourite.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad l'Ayel d'Essaouira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad l'Ayel d'Essaouira

Also Known As:
Riad l`Ayel d`Essaouira Hotel Essaouira
Riad l`Ayel d`Essaouira Hotel
Address: 28 rue Mallek Ben El Morahhal, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 148 B&Bs / Inns in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Riad l'Ayel d'Essaouira 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On a peaceful street in the heart of the Medina of Essaouira, Riad Ayel invites you to take advantage of the serenity of this ancient house souiri completely restored according to the purest Moroccan traditions with all the necessary comforts. It is 5 min from the port, the beach and also the souks and the excitement of the medina, while taking advantage of the peace of the street which shelters it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Priceline, Venere, Prestigia and Hotels.com so you can book your Riad l'Ayel d'Essaouira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad l'Ayel d'Essaouira, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.