We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad l'Ayel d'Essaouira

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Riad l'Ayel d'Essaouira to your Saves list
Riad l'Ayel d'Essaouira
2.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   28 rue Mallek Ben El Morahhal, Essaouira 44000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 161 Essaouira B&B and Inns
London
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Lovely stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

A friend and I have just returned from a week long trip to Morocco, with three days/2 nights in Essaouira both here. This Riad is very beautiful, run by a lovely family and right in the heart of the Medina.

We received an email in advance with some directions on which were very helpful and finding the Riad straight forward. On arrival we were given mint tea and cakes while we filled in a quick form with passport details etc. We were asked whether we wanted to have a nerby Hammam booked for us which was a nice touch.

We were taken to our room which I forget the name of but it was the first on the left once you go up the stairs. Our room was very large (could of slept 4), well decorated, very clean and smelt of a lovely incense from downstairs.

Breakfast was up on the lovely terrace roof and was really enjoyable; strawberry/apple/banana slices, freshly squeezed OJ, coffee and crepes and bread.

All in all, we found a website which had an offer on meaning we paid £25 per person for the two nights which made this an incredible find and out of this world value for money!!

I thoroughly recommend visiting Essaouira and you must stay here.

Room Tip: First on the left on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    37
    14
    3
    1
See reviews for
42
75
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights in January and really enjoyed the city. The riad was ok-- it is owned by a Frenchman and the staff speak a little English, but it was difficult to communicate most of the time (especially when a pipe burst in our room, though this was fixed quickly once we sorted the language barrier problem). We stayed in the room on the top floor (with the roof terrace), and although it was lovely and we enjoyed the privacy and comfort, the ventilation was non-existent. Apparently Essaouria as a whole has a problem with plumbing, and there was often a toilet-type smell coming from the shower. It wasn't enough to make us find another place though.

Room Tip: I wouldn't recommend the room on the top floor, but we didn't get to see the others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

The staff were not only friendly but helpful and kind. The riad is clean, beautiful, and right in the heart of the medina. My room was beautifully decorated and I felt like a queen at a reasonable price. I needed to find a place to buy bus tix for the next day and the manager walked with me through the winding streets so I'd be sure to find it. The food was tasty and plentiful and ready when I came down in the morning. I can't praise it enough.

Room Tip: Ask for a suite. It's not very expensive but is clean and beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uppsala, Sweden
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

For of all, this riad is not a 5* hotel. It is a riad in Essauoira and in being so it is a cosy small place to stay without aircon and flat-screen tv:s. Instead of the modern amenities this place comes equipped with the two most friendly people I have ever met. The couple that runs this riad will not only serve you the best mint-tea in Morocco, they will also walk you to the pharmacy in the middle of the night if you feel sick and need medicin. They care about you and they do everything they can to make you feel welcome. The breakfast on the rooftop is perfect and the night before they'll even ask you what time you'd like to have it and then they'll make it for you at that time.

I would certainly stay here again if I went to Morocco. Both the town and especially this riad is a must stop on any journey to this country.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

We picked this after good reviews in the Lonely Planet and we were certainly not disappointed. We stayed here for 4 nights (originally it was supposed to be 2) - lovely breakfast in the mornings, great roof top terrace to escape the bustle of the city downstairs and a good service. You would be well advised to stay here - we stayed in many five star hotels and luxury riads during our trip, but this remained our favourite.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
köln
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2011

We arrived at Marrakesch and took a direct Bus to Essaouira. The owner of the Riad gave us a short route describtion via mail, we decided to walk from the bus station outsude the medina to the riad and followed Jean-Pauls directions. They were clear, simple and easily we found the riad. First we had a warm welcome with tea and biscuits, great - we felt comfy overall from the beginning. And, we were much too early, but the staff don't mind. And goes on preparing dinner. :-) So, a relaxed welcome. And it goes on in this way for the 4 days of our stay.
The staff knows the city and gave us a good tip for a restaurant which is not full of tourists. ;-)
We like to say thank you for our pleasant stay. Lovely greetings...
Claudia and Marc

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2011

Booked a night's stay after reading generally positive reviews and seeing attractive photos of the riad. The reality was nowhere close to what was depicted in the pictures. Though we had two cloudless, sunny days, the rooms, terrace and common areas looked nothing like the hotel photos. Everything was much darker than conveyed by the photos. Some reviewers rave about the terrace and view from the rooftop. Unless I was in the wrong riad, my view from the top comprised the rooftops of surrounding buildings, laundry hanging on makeshift lines, antennas, garbage and spare tires. Between two nearby buildings, I was able to catch a glimpse of the beach.

The staff were courteous and friendly; the continental breakfast ( coffee or tea, bread, jams, a bowl of chopped bananas and apples) was okay. The location is good and easy to find from the Supratours bus station. No wifi; was able to use a PC located in the "office" for a few minutes.

For sure, I don't think it's the worst place to stay but I suspect there are better places for the money - I simply didn't have time to compare.

Essaouira itself is a pleasant town - worth at least two or perhaps three days, depending on one's preferences and constraints.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bretagne44, Propriétaire at Riad l'Ayel d'Essaouira, responded to this review, May 23, 2011
Hello,
I am surprised that you can say that photos do not correspond to the reality: you are the first person to say to me it for 4 years.
You were in Riad: it is the building which is made to avoid that the heat returns inside. Consequently, the sun cannot light rooms around the patio or around the passageway. It is thus different from a building modern as you were able to see in the new districts of Marrakesh. In a Medina, you are for the contact of the local population, with its typical lifestyle. The charm of Riad in a old Medina cannot be appreciated if you look for a modern town planning.
Cordially.
Jean-Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad l'Ayel d'Essaouira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad l'Ayel d'Essaouira

Address: 28 rue Mallek Ben El Morahhal, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 161 B&Bs / Inns in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Riad l'Ayel d'Essaouira 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On a peaceful street in the heart of the Medina of Essaouira, Riad Ayel invites you to take advantage of the serenity of this ancient house souiri completely restored according to the purest Moroccan traditions with all the necessary comforts. It is 5 min from the port, the beach and also the souks and the excitement of the medina, while taking advantage of the peace of the street which shelters it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Prestigia and Tingo so you can book your Riad l'Ayel d'Essaouira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad l`Ayel d`Essaouira Hotel Essaouira

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad l'Ayel d'Essaouira, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.