We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place and nice staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Lalla Mogador

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Riad Lalla Mogador to your Saves list
Riad Lalla Mogador
12, Rue de l'Iraq, Essaouira 44000, Morocco   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #78 of 160 Essaouira B&B and Inns
london
1 review
“Nice place and nice staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2008

Nice relaxed atmosphere, friendly, personal & helpful service. Highly recomended. Thank you very much...

  • Liked — the friendly people
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    10
    5
    3
    2
See reviews for
6
20
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
milano, italia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2008

We stayed one night at the Riad Lalla with my wife and three children. We read the reviews and we had some expectations. Well, first of all we were "welcomed" by a workman who was scraping off the walls and after that by a maid who led us to our room (the number 5). The overall impression was of a place left alone: there was nobody at the reception, the hall was a mess, work in progress and fresh paintings everywhere....basically: no service, no warmth, no welcome, no "home away from home" feeling. Finally at the reception desk I saw a small note "This riad is for sale. If you are interested contact....etc. etc." So if you're interested in buying, go there. Otherwise at the moment there are many more attractive choices in Essaouira....

  • Liked — the setting and the terrace
  • Disliked — service
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2007

This riad is in a prime location for everything in Essouira. The staff were all very helpfull and friendly and made us very welcome. The rooms were nice and large and ours had a great terrace that over looked the little streets.
The roof terrace was great and was a lovely way to start the day by having breakfast up there.
Overall, it was fantastic and i'd definatley go back.

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2007

We have just came back from Morocco and from all hotels and riads there we enjoyed Riad Lalla the most!

Riad has no more than 8 rooms, some of them overlooking sea or street. We stayed in a very silent room no.7, blue room, overlooking the yard. The bed was comfortable and the room was very light (which was wonderful in comparison with dark rooms in other Riads that we stayed). They had additional heater in the room (which on cold November night was very much wanted).

Riad is centrally located, little bit hard to find, but in a safe and pleasant part of the city. It is close to the sea (10 min walk) and to local hammams (just next street). It is alo 5 minutes walk to the bus stop (which is useful if you have lots of luggage). Staff is frendly and helpful.

Also, it is possible to use another Riad's swimming pool.

We spent wonderful time there and would love to come back once!

  • Liked — Views and pretty room
  • Disliked — It was hard to find it
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london, england
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2006

We had a room for 4 which was very good value and was a nice room with a sea view. It was a split level room with a double bed upstairs and 2 beds underneath. The bathroom was on the top level.

It was the top room in the Riad and was about 4 flights up though.

There was no pool in the riad but you don't need one with a great beach just minutes away.

Great breakfast and was in the centre of the medina.

Not much of an atmosphere in comparison to some the riads we stayed in Marrakech but easy to book with fast, efficient emails from the owners.

  • Stayed September 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Lalla Mogador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Lalla Mogador

Address: 12, Rue de l'Iraq, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 160 B&Bs / Inns in Essaouira
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Budget Places, HostelBookers and TripOnline SA so you can book your Riad Lalla Mogador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Lalla Mogador, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.