We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“charming authentic riad in the old city” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Lalla Mogador

Save Saved
You added Riad Lalla Mogador to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Riad Lalla Mogador
12, Rue de l'Iraq, Essaouira 44000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #73 of 156 Essaouira B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“charming authentic riad in the old city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

after reading some bad reviews about this Riad, i was not expecting much. i chose this Riad as it was recommended by my Moroccan friend and cheaper than the other one. But it was a topnotch cosy place to stay! highly recommended! they also arranged a taxi from Marrakech Airport to the Riad.

they put us in a much nicer room with a fire place (room 5) as it was off season and they allowed us to light a fire in the evening when it got cold. it was so lovely to have it on. they would do it for you if you ask them, though. and no bed bugs! v. clean. the staff is very friendly and helpful. the receptionist and a couple of guys who work there speak very good English.

breakfast was also very nice with freshly squeezed orange juice, a fried egg, bread, coffee/tea and yogurt on the terrace. i paid much more for a Riad with much worse breakfast, just carb and orange juice, in Marrakesh.

the shower took ages to get hot water but for a very old riad, it's kind of expected. the water pressure was very good, and once it got hot, it kept being hot. although the shower head was leaking, that was a sign of a very good water pressure! i'd stayed in the Riad with an expensive big shower head with not much water coming out, which is actually much worse than this.

we were lucky to have stayed in the room 5. the room originally booked is Room 4, which is very charming but small. overall prices for each room are reasonable.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    22
    10
    5
    3
    2
See reviews for
6
21
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2011

Wow! We fell in love with this charming little Riad straight from day one! Located in the depths of the medina, we were lucky to have the receptionist come and collect us from one of the main gates to guide us to the hotel. Our room was located right at the top. We had our very own terrace where we were served breakfast every morning, little lounge and beautifully decorated bedroom and bathroom, all very charming and very Moroccan! I would definitely recommend that you try to book this room!! The view was amazing, looking over all of the other buildings with the blue sea in the backdrop. The staff are so eager to help you, and recommend places to eat and visit. However, there was just one issue which is unavoidable when staying within the medina….the call to prayer. I know not many tourists appreciate it especially at the earlier hours of the morning, but it’s just part of the whole experience of being in Morocco. It wasn’t a problem, but I’m not going to lie and say it didn’t wake us up, but it only lasts for 5mins. Overall, if you want to stay within the media (which I think every traveler visiting Essaouira should) then this is the riad for you!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conwy, Wales
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2010

We booked Riad Lalla from Marrakech for two nights intending to then continue travelling through Morocco. We ended up staying for six nights! The Riad is in a great location if a little hard to find at first - look out for the helpful signs at alley junctions. Our first room was spacious and comfortable with a large bedroom and separate sitting area & shower room. At breakfast we took a look at the balcony above the main terrace & realised there was a 'penthouse' room up there. We changed rooms to that one (a little more expensive but well worth it). It is a wonderful room, all very beautifully decorated & furnished, large sleeping area, shower room, lounge area with fireplace where we had a cosy night in with a fire one evening, private terrace with great view of the sea where we had our breakfast each morning. Siham and the waiting and night staff are all very friendly and helpful, but not intrusive - you have your own front door key. You are able to use the pool and facilities at Riad Zahra about 20 minutes walk along the beach - we did this several days and had our lunch poolside - great food and service, very relaxing days. The owners & staff are all very helpful and friendly. No problem here with swimwear & I would suggest doing this as on the beach you wouldn't feel comfortable 'uncovering' yourself.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2010

Cute enough, not really that special. VERY LOUD! VERY CENTRAL. Did not really get a feel from the staff that they could be bothered to be nice or help out. They seemed very put out by doing pretty much anything. The only time I saw the owner was when she showed up for her payment. Other than that she was pretty much invisible. Anyway good value for the price but I would not stay again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bahia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2009

This Riad was a lovely surprise, it is simple and comfortable without any pretensions at being anything else. I stayed there with a friend and we had a very pleasant room with sleeping areas that provided privacy and intimacy at the same time. The staff was very very helpful and very kind. Muhamed who works in the evening especially went out of his way to help us and was a great source of information about the city and it's peoples.

The breakfast space on the roof terrace is lovely and every day we would hate to leave that little piece of paradise...and would often return in the evenings to soak up the last rays of sunshine. Beautiful

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2009

After deciding to try out Morocco with a friend that had been once before (to Marrakesh) I was pleasantly surprised when I got through the door of the Riad Lalla and saw the courtyard setting of place I would call home for the next six nights. We were greeted and shown to our room which was a quaint traditional Moroccan room with stone shower and sink which made a great change.
The room was clean, the maid came each day to tidy and make our bed, which being two 28 year old girls was a great!! The receptionist and owners were extremely helpful for our entire stay and even organised a trip to one of Lalla's sister Riads a few miles away, where we had lunch and used the pool, it was a very tranquil. We also used the Riad Zahara's pool (about a 20 minute walk/5 min taxi ride) which was lovely and we were made to feel really welcome. Riad Lalla is in a great location within the Medina and the beach is only about a five minute walk away.
Our Stay in Essouria was a fun one, the weather was amazing and there are a lot of characters in the town. If you are wanting to escape the typical tourist spots of Agadir and the likes this is definitely a good place to come. There were some great places to eat ('After Five' has amazing food and chilled atmosphere) and lots of shops/stalls to walk round. The only thing I would say is bring your bargaining powers as you have to barter for practically everything, however we also found this on our four night stay in Marrakesh so its just the norm!!!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2009

We were very dissapointed with this riad. The location is very good but that is the only good comment. I saw a few rooms and they all looked scruffy. We ended up cancelling and ended up going to the Ibis hotel, where we were very happy. It was finally quite and clean. I am sure you can find better in Essaouira. The owners need to renovate it to higher standards. Beds were not comfortably either, with a dip in the middle. (unless you like banana shaped beds). Bathroom ceiling had plaster coming off. 2 inch gap under the balcony door, where insects get it.
I tried not to be too fussy, but this was just not good. had to leave.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Lalla Mogador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Lalla Mogador

Address: 12, Rue de l'Iraq, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 156 B&Bs / Inns in Essaouira
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Budget Places, HostelBookers and TripOnline SA so you can book your Riad Lalla Mogador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Lalla Mogador, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.