We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful little slice of heaven on earth...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Adul

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Essaouira
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dar Adul
63, rue Touahen, Essaouira, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 148 Essaouira B&B and Inns
Marrakech, Morocco
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Wonderful little slice of heaven on earth...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

A friend and I booked 2 nights here and were welcomed very warmly by the staff. The breakfast was good and the view from the terrace is breathtaking! I was happy to arrive and sad to leave. I felt so comfortable and at home there. It made my visit to Essouira complete.

Room Tip: Were on the 3rd floor, right as you step off the stairs, the door in front of you is a very spacious...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    63
    22
    4
    6
    2
See reviews for
18
46
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

We stumbled on this delightful place and we were not disappointed. We decided to have dinner there on our last night and it was a real pleasure.
Catherine the Maitre d looked after us superbly. The dinner was delicious and the ambience was lovely. The object d'art scattered around and all for sale too we're interesting and I would have bought everything if I could. They even laid on a log fire which was lovely to sit by and have our tea after dinner. Pre dinner we had a drink on the terrace over looking the sea...magnificent to see the waves crashing against the rocks...
We really hope to return and stay there too as the rooms looked lovely as well...some with own sun terrace.
A little bit of magic in a magic place. Do try it you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Didn't stay but will do next time. The room with the terrace would be my choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012 via mobile

Very tastefully decorated and well located in the centre of medina. Ocean view on the rooftop terrace. Nice and helpful staff. Room was bit small and not well ventilated (no window.) but there are better rooms available!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

When we planned our trip, we liked a location of the Riadl, but it was strange that since 2011 there was no reviews.
Nevertheless we wrote in riad, quickly received confirmation and decided not to change our mind.
And we weren't mistaken. Riad is really remarkable. Excellent location, in a few steps from entrance to Scala, close to port (5 minutes on foot).
We stopped in room Tlata. It's ideal for a small family. There are, double bed or 2 twin beds in loft and single bed in the lounge. Everything is very purely and comfortably. There are a lot of original pictures there.
There is a fantastic view to the ocean from a roof terrace (especially to watch sunset).
We had breakfast (very tasty!) on a terrace in the company of a family of seagulls (mother, father and a baby bird:)).

We recommend! Won't regret!
Thanks to all team for hospitality!

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

We had four nights here and the staff were great, the owner very helpful, the rooms superb and the location fantastic. The owner has recently opened a restaurant and that is well worth eating at also. Best four nights we have had anywhere for a long time!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2011

The riad is beautifully decorated and very inspiring. We felt at home from the moment we walked in. Didier and his team provided a first class service and couldn't be more helpful. We had such a comfortable stay, we did not want to leave!! The Roof terrace is the perfect place to watch sunsets. The food is delicious. I highly recommend Dar Adul! Thank you Didier and your team!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2010

My husband and I stayed at Dar Adul last week for 2 nights and 2 days and really loved this riad. The welcome could not be friendlier or more sincere and the true sincerity and friendliness of the owner and staff continued throughout our stay, The decoration is very lively but not over the top and is def. very fun. There is a certain whimsy in the decor which lends to the overall relaxed nature of Dar Adul. It is by no means stuffy or pretentious and yet it is a really nice place. The location is fantastic too. We loved our room which had amazing decorative pieces evidencing the attention to detail of the owner. We also loved sitting on the roof top terrace overlooking the ocean at sunset while enjoying mint tea and pastries - what a luxury! We really enjoyed our stay at Dar Adul and were sad that we could not stay longer to have more time to enjoy all that the riad has to offer. The owner, Didier, is lovely and seemed to truly want to share his love of Essaouira with us. Definitely a great place and a great find.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dar Adul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Adul

Also Known As:
Dar Adul Hotel
Dar Adul Hotel Essaouira
Address: 63, rue Touahen, Essaouira, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 148 B&Bs / Inns in Essaouira
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the old Medina, close to shops, 10 minutes from the port and the beach, two minutes from the walls, you will be received as friends in this old notary house. The charm of Dar Adul will seduce you. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Adul, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Dar Adul to your Saves list