We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautifully decorated hotel with rooftop terrace” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Adul

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Essaouira
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dar Adul
Save
You added Dar Adul to your Saves list
63, rue Touahen, Essaouira, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 161 Essaouira B&B and Inns
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Beautifully decorated hotel with rooftop terrace”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012 via mobile

Very tastefully decorated and well located in the centre of medina. Ocean view on the rooftop terrace. Nice and helpful staff. Room was bit small and not well ventilated (no window.) but there are better rooms available!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    27
    5
    6
    2
See reviews for
21
52
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

When we planned our trip, we liked a location of the Riadl, but it was strange that since 2011 there was no reviews.
Nevertheless we wrote in riad, quickly received confirmation and decided not to change our mind.
And we weren't mistaken. Riad is really remarkable. Excellent location, in a few steps from entrance to Scala, close to port (5 minutes on foot).
We stopped in room Tlata. It's ideal for a small family. There are, double bed or 2 twin beds in loft and single bed in the lounge. Everything is very purely and comfortably. There are a lot of original pictures there.
There is a fantastic view to the ocean from a roof terrace (especially to watch sunset).
We had breakfast (very tasty!) on a terrace in the company of a family of seagulls (mother, father and a baby bird:)).

We recommend! Won't regret!
Thanks to all team for hospitality!

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

We had four nights here and the staff were great, the owner very helpful, the rooms superb and the location fantastic. The owner has recently opened a restaurant and that is well worth eating at also. Best four nights we have had anywhere for a long time!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2011

The riad is beautifully decorated and very inspiring. We felt at home from the moment we walked in. Didier and his team provided a first class service and couldn't be more helpful. We had such a comfortable stay, we did not want to leave!! The Roof terrace is the perfect place to watch sunsets. The food is delicious. I highly recommend Dar Adul! Thank you Didier and your team!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2010

My husband and I stayed at Dar Adul last week for 2 nights and 2 days and really loved this riad. The welcome could not be friendlier or more sincere and the true sincerity and friendliness of the owner and staff continued throughout our stay, The decoration is very lively but not over the top and is def. very fun. There is a certain whimsy in the decor which lends to the overall relaxed nature of Dar Adul. It is by no means stuffy or pretentious and yet it is a really nice place. The location is fantastic too. We loved our room which had amazing decorative pieces evidencing the attention to detail of the owner. We also loved sitting on the roof top terrace overlooking the ocean at sunset while enjoying mint tea and pastries - what a luxury! We really enjoyed our stay at Dar Adul and were sad that we could not stay longer to have more time to enjoy all that the riad has to offer. The owner, Didier, is lovely and seemed to truly want to share his love of Essaouira with us. Definitely a great place and a great find.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2010

Stayed here for 2 nights in the upstairs room which is next to the terrasse. The rooms are beautifully decorated with African artifacts and deep colours. Our bed was very comfortable, there is a portable heater in the bedroom, and a heater in the large bathroom, which has lots of hot water and good pressure in the shower. Best of all, this room has its own private terrasse with sun loungers. The main terrasse has a view of the sea. There is also a nice living room downstairs with music, books and games, and a fireplace which is lit on cold evenings. It is possible to buy drinks and snacks as well. The staff is friendly and helpful.
The only small complaint would be that the terrasse furniture was not wiped off so it could be enjoyed when the sun came out. Hopefully it is better taken care of during the warmer months. Someone did come to wipe off the loungers on our private terrasse upon our request.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2009

We entered the house and the first thing I noticed was a pair of shoes in the kitchen where a woman was preparing something in a dirty room...Rooms smell humidity alot.
Don't reserve the rooms in the patio cause you ll not have privacy at all.
Sorry to talk only negative but I don't see what positive can be there.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dar Adul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Adul

Address: 63, rue Touahen, Essaouira, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 161 B&Bs / Inns in Essaouira
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the old Medina, close to shops, 10 minutes from the port and the beach, two minutes from the walls, you will be received as friends in this old notary house. The charm of Dar Adul will seduce you. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dar Adul Hotel Essaouira

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Adul, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.