We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEAUTIFUL RIAD, FRIENDLY TEAM AND FIRST CLASS SERVICE.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Adul

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Essaouira
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dar Adul
Save
You added Dar Adul to your Saves list
63, rue Touahen, Essaouira, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 160 Essaouira B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“BEAUTIFUL RIAD, FRIENDLY TEAM AND FIRST CLASS SERVICE.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2011

The riad is beautifully decorated and very inspiring. We felt at home from the moment we walked in. Didier and his team provided a first class service and couldn't be more helpful. We had such a comfortable stay, we did not want to leave!! The Roof terrace is the perfect place to watch sunsets. The food is delicious. I highly recommend Dar Adul! Thank you Didier and your team!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    26
    5
    6
    2
See reviews for
20
52
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2010

My husband and I stayed at Dar Adul last week for 2 nights and 2 days and really loved this riad. The welcome could not be friendlier or more sincere and the true sincerity and friendliness of the owner and staff continued throughout our stay, The decoration is very lively but not over the top and is def. very fun. There is a certain whimsy in the decor which lends to the overall relaxed nature of Dar Adul. It is by no means stuffy or pretentious and yet it is a really nice place. The location is fantastic too. We loved our room which had amazing decorative pieces evidencing the attention to detail of the owner. We also loved sitting on the roof top terrace overlooking the ocean at sunset while enjoying mint tea and pastries - what a luxury! We really enjoyed our stay at Dar Adul and were sad that we could not stay longer to have more time to enjoy all that the riad has to offer. The owner, Didier, is lovely and seemed to truly want to share his love of Essaouira with us. Definitely a great place and a great find.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2010

Stayed here for 2 nights in the upstairs room which is next to the terrasse. The rooms are beautifully decorated with African artifacts and deep colours. Our bed was very comfortable, there is a portable heater in the bedroom, and a heater in the large bathroom, which has lots of hot water and good pressure in the shower. Best of all, this room has its own private terrasse with sun loungers. The main terrasse has a view of the sea. There is also a nice living room downstairs with music, books and games, and a fireplace which is lit on cold evenings. It is possible to buy drinks and snacks as well. The staff is friendly and helpful.
The only small complaint would be that the terrasse furniture was not wiped off so it could be enjoyed when the sun came out. Hopefully it is better taken care of during the warmer months. Someone did come to wipe off the loungers on our private terrasse upon our request.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2009

We entered the house and the first thing I noticed was a pair of shoes in the kitchen where a woman was preparing something in a dirty room...Rooms smell humidity alot.
Don't reserve the rooms in the patio cause you ll not have privacy at all.
Sorry to talk only negative but I don't see what positive can be there.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2009

We originally only booked for three nights, but after arriving in this gorgeous home, we decided to extend our stay to five nights!

The House is gorgeous, beautiful and vibrantly decorated throughout with very individualized rooms that are all different and special in their own way! This place is a superb retreat, that has a good location within the medina (the most beautiful part of the town), the staff are great and make you feel very welcome and part of there family! Our room was superb, with its own little roof terrace, just next to the main terrace that was gorgeous and positioned right on the sea front, with great views and sunsets directly across the ocean front!

Great stay at a great price for such a lovely place, highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rochester
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2009

.....I really thought that i would arrived in a warm and welcoming house: wrong....
I thought that being decorated by an artist, it would be tastefull....wrong again....
The rooms were really damp.....I was expecting another souvenir from such a lovely and quaint little town....but jI will never go back to that House!

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2009

We spent almost three weeks in Morocco in Winter '09. We were trying to find the sweet-spot between "backpacker-ish" and "unnecessarily-overpriced". Morocco is still short on accommodations that fall into that sweet-spot, but Dar Adul was by far our favorite of everywhere we stayed. Regarding the previous reviews from 2007, I can only conclude that this place must have been heavily renovated and the management changed since then.

Imagine bright white walls, and bursts of color everywhere, from the art that covers the walls. The rooms, the hallways, the common areas: all are covered with paintings in styles very appropriate to Morocco and to Essaouira's location on the beach. The rooms themselves are decorated warmly and fully. Our own home is much more sedate and modern, but these were done very, very nicely. To some people it would be cluttered, but we found it harmonious, creative, and welcoming. (One thing to note: Essaouira is known for a style of art sometimes called "primitivist". This isn't everyone's cup of tea, but try to enjoy and respect it for what it is, and get past writing it off as childish.) The owners are apparently artists, as is the lovely young man who manages the place day-to-day. He was wonderful to us.

Breakfast was complete and served with warmth, and yet typical of Moroccan breakfasts we had: I never quite learned to love them, as much as I appreciated the coffee and excellent fresh juice. This was as good as any we had.

The house is lovely, with a sun-drenched roof-top that overlooks the western ramparts and the pounding surf. Even in winter, we were plenty warm, which was a problem other places we stayed. The rooms we looked at were all wonderful: each more interesting and creatively decorated than the last, with spacious tiled bathrooms.

I think we paid maybe 80 Euro a night, and thought it was a bargain. I'd strongly recommend it unless you're planning on spending lots more. We extended by a night just to enjoy it longer.

The location is just slightly off the beaten path, but is convenient from the parking at the port. Once you find it, you'll be happy and find it easy to get around. But give yourself 15 minutes or so to deal with the unmarked streets of the Medina the first time, and get a good local map. :-)

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dar Adul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Adul

Address: 63, rue Touahen, Essaouira, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 160 B&Bs / Inns in Essaouira
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the old Medina, close to shops, 10 minutes from the port and the beach, two minutes from the walls, you will be received as friends in this old notary house. The charm of Dar Adul will seduce you. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dar Adul Hotel Essaouira

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Adul, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.