We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular Riad with lovely decor and great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Mimouna

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Mimouna to your Saves list
Riad Mimouna
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   62, Rue d'Oujda | Sandillon, Essaouira 44000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 161 Essaouira B&B and Inns
Colchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Spectacular Riad with lovely decor and great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2009

On entering the Riad you are amazed by the incredible decor. The ceilings and furniture in the public areas are lovely. The rooms themselves, whilst small, are nicely presented and opulent. If you manage to get a sea view room, the view is also spectacular, as this is one of the few Riads right on the ocean.

Pros:- Decor, Service and location

Cons:- My only minor issue was the stairwell lighting, which wasn't good and you need to take care

If you have heavy luggage, hire a man with a trolley as vehicles are not allowed within the old town walls and the streets are crowded and narrow.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    92
    24
    7
    8
See reviews for
34
150
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2009

We stayed two nights here and could not be happier. We upgraded and received a room with a sea view and was very, very happy with it. The view is amazing-definitely worth the extra money. The room was clean and well managed. Staff were friendly. Breakfast was served on the roofdeck which had gorgeous views of the ocean and city. Loved this place and would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2009

I read different reviews of this riad - some positive, some negative. Again coming from the Riad Fes we were quite spoiled, but I would definitely recommend this hotel. The staff were very friendly and the view from the rooftop is amazing. Some people complained that is was "musty" on the reviews on Trip Advisor - but what would you expect? This riad literally sits on the edge of the ocean, it's pretty amazing. I liked the spot, it was tucked back along the ocean wall, but yet very close to the souks. It's very easy to find your way around Essaouira. The rooms aren't fancy, but it's comfortable and very quiet. I would recommend this riad.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marrakech
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2009

We had a wonderful stay in Riad Mimouna which overlooks the Atlantic Ocean. The soothing sound of the gentle waves helped us to sleep soundly and then to wake up to the sounds of waves and seagulls was perfect!
The riad has been tastefully decorated using traditional interior style and sumptuous fabrics have been used for curtains and bed linens and cannot fault this riad at all! I highly recommend a stay at this Riad.
Riad Mimouna's breakfasts are great; orange juice, fresh croisants, Moroccan fresh bread, boiled egg, fruit youghurt, butter , honey, fruit conserves and endless helpings of fresh hot coffee and last but not least a 300ml of bottled water and all this is standard!
I would most definately stay at Riad Mimouna on my next trip to Essaouira! 10 out 10 is what I would give to this lovely riad for its opulent look, cleanliness, good breakfast and its location!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2009

Riad Mimouna is in an incredible location. The sea crashed against the sea walls just below our window. Our room was nicely furnished and had a very nice bathroom. The rooftop terrace has a gorgeous view and is a nice place to relax. We had to leave for home before the breakfast room was officially open, but the staff kindly accommodated us anyway, with fresh-squeezed juice nd delicious croissants and rolls. There is free Internet access from the lobby. I also noted the mustiness, but it is to be expected given the age and location of the riad. Note that it is in the medina and taxis cannot drive in there, so you will have to carry your own luggage for a few blocks, or hire a man with a cart.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2009

This hotel was a great value for money. It is very clean, well decorated and well-kept. It’s centrally located and has magnificent views of the sea though not all rooms come with a view of the sea. The breakfast was served outside on the roof and while it was a bit cold in the morning, it was a terrific way to start the day. The staff is very friendly and speak English very well. It’s a bit dark in the lobby area, but that not surprising given how tight and close all the buildings are in the Medina. We highly recommend this hotel for a truly Moroccan experience.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2009

beautiful riad sea view rooms excellent however major building work all day every severely impacted on .our stay. We could not spend any time in room and terrace was closed off due to the heavy masonry work.CHECK BEFORE YOU VISIT

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Mimouna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Mimouna

Address: 62, Rue d'Oujda | Sandillon, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 161 B&Bs / Inns in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Mimouna 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Orbitz, HostelBookers, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Riad Mimouna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Mimouna Hotel Essaouira

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Mimouna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.