We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ocean View Tastique” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Mimouna

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Mimouna to your Saves list
Riad Mimouna
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   62, Rue d'Oujda | Sandillon, Essaouira 44000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 161 Essaouira B&B and Inns
London
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Ocean View Tastique”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

We flew in to Marakesh and after a long taxi journey of near misses (people, dogs, cyclists and other cars with no lights) at night we arrived at the gates of the city. We then had our bags portered in a hand trolley and trundled at some pace through still busy alleys. An exciting start to our stay!! The Riad was a haven of tranquility and peace from the constant movement of the rest of the city and we were glad of this rest time. Our room had the sea view which was constantly changing and we were fascinated by the daring exploits of the young lads tombstoning off rocks and men collecting seafood from the rock pools below. The breakfasts are continental in style with the thrill of an extra treat from the kitchen each day: pancakes/muffin/crumpets. All with delicious honey and wake up coffee served on the top floor in a covered terrasse, if its too windy to brave the outdoor space (cleaned every morning). The hotel is well oiled and the staff are very good at what they do. I highly recommend.The city is exciting and lots to discover in the maze of streets. We ventured out through the city to the outskirts of town past the horse and carts and the car mechanic repair zone to find a supermarket for some lunch items; although this was more expensive it turned out than eating out. There are also clothing quarters where the ornate trims are made and jewellery sections where you can browse without being pressured. We loved Silvestro for Italian food and Taros for cocktails and magician who got my watch without me noticing or feeling!

Room Tip: Ocean view mini suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelRiadMimouna, Responsable réception at Riad Mimouna, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear client,

We would like to thank you for your special comments, we do appreciate that !!!

we are very pleased to count you among our best clients

And I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you in the very near future!

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    92
    24
    7
    8
See reviews for
34
150
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Amazing riad in a nice location. Our room was overlooking the ocean and had a glass wall. The sound of the waves in the night is unforgettable. We'll maintained, clean riad, nice staff. Definitely worth visiting!

Room Tip: Choose the suite with the ocean view, worth paying a bit more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wiwixmimouna, Responsable réception at Riad Mimouna, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear client,

Thank you so much for your comments, we appreciate that !!!

I will transfer your compliments to my staff; it is the biggest reward for their daily effort

And I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you in the very near future!

Best regards, and ave a great week !!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

Amazing views down the rampart walls and ever-changing coast. As an artist I spent some hours just looking out the window at the rocks that emerged from the waves and painting the coastline (yes I brought my oil paints and canvases to Morocco with me). Food was okay...by this time we had had enough tajine for the time being anyway. Service was fine. People are very friendly. Be sure to visit the Berber store just steps from Mimouna's front door. The proprietor is wonderful and he is happy to pour you some tea and discuss the meaning of the many Berber designs of jewelry he carries. We recommend Essaouira and Merzouga where we stayed at Auberge du Sud at the edge of the desert. Love, love, love both these places on our trip organized by Ibex Expeditions who are focused on real experiences so we knew we'd get the flavor of Morocco.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a water view. Ours was a corner room right above the reception desk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wiwixmimouna, Responsable réception at Riad Mimouna, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear client,

Thank you very much for your message,for your nice words.

We appreciate that you take time to give us your positive feed back!

I will transfer your compliments to my staff; it is the biggest reward for their daily effort and I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you in the very near future!

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

A beautiful Riad built into the Medina wall, We would recommend a room facing the sea, as the views are simply spectacular. Staff were very friendly and helpful and we were made to feel welcome. The terrace is exposed to the sea winds, so we found it to be too cold to enjoy in February. The meals were disappointing and the dining room was depressingly empty. We stayed for 10 days on half board and no choice of menu was offered for breakfast or dinner. There are plenty of restaurants within walking distance however. Although in the Medina it is not within the Souk which is about 5 minutes walk - 15 minutes from the port. The traders in the Souk were far less aggressive than in Marrakech.

Room Tip: Sea facing rooms have spectacular views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wiwixmimouna, Responsable réception at Riad Mimouna, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear client,

First I would like to thank you for choosing hotel Riad Mimouna

I would also like to thank you for your constructive feedback,and like to express my sincerest apologies because the food in the restaurant wasn't as good as you imagine it.

Thank you again for taking the time to share your review on Tripadvisor.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
verteillac
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

Had a superb room overlooking the sea.Beds extremely comfortable and excellent bathrooms.
Lovely to have breakfast on the terrace and sunbathe afterwards.For me quite a long walk but sorted by sitting in the luggage cart.Drawbacks no wifi in the room and no lift.
Otherwise loved it.Forget Marrakech,make a beeline here.

Room Tip: Obviously one overlooking the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wiwixmimouna, Responsable réception at Riad Mimouna, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear client,

Thank you very much for your message,for your nice words.

We appreciate that you take time to give us your positive feed back!

I will transfer your compliments to my staff; it is the biggest reward for their daily effort and I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you in the very near future!

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
362 helpful votes 362 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

I chose this Riad quite last minutes and the "best" Riad were all fully booked
Honestly I was very happy with this choice. The Riad is located on the perimeter walls of the medina, literally on the sea. The view from the terrace is probably one of the best than you can get in whole essaouira even if it's quite it's quite impossible to have breakfast outside for the number of bees that jump on the jam and honey.
Nevertheless you can have breakfast in the indoor terrace ( with view) and relax on the outdoor terrace
Rooms are fine, Wifi connection quite a disaster. It's definitely more a hotel than a Riad
Overall a very good value for money.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wiwixmimouna, Responsable réception at Riad Mimouna, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Dear client,

Thank you very much for your message,for your nice words.

We appreciate that you take time to give us your positive feed back!

I will transfer your compliments to my staff; it is the biggest reward for their daily effort and I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you in the very near future!

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

Unfortunately while the views of the sea from the Riad are excellent, even special, the overall experience of the Riad is very disappointing.

The Riad is large, dark, dank, cold and tired which is in stark contrast to the more intimate, well managed cared for and beautiful Riads I had the pleasure of staying at in Fes and Marrakech. The Riad is tired and needs to be refurbished, paint is peeling and cracked, the bathrooms need a significant upgrade and while the room is clean it does not appear clean

A pity

M Melbourne

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wiwixmimouna, Responsable réception at Riad Mimouna, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Dear client,

First I would like to thank you for choosing hotel Riad Mimouna

I would also like to thank you for your constructive feedback,and I would like to express my sincerest apologies for that.

Thank you again for taking the time to share your review on Tripadvisor.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Mimouna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Mimouna

Address: 62, Rue d'Oujda | Sandillon, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 161 B&Bs / Inns in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Mimouna 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Riad Mimouna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Mimouna Hotel Essaouira

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Mimouna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.