We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal mid-range place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar Nafoura

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Dar Nafoura to your Saves list
Riad Dar Nafoura
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   30, rue Ibn Khaldoun, Essaouira 44000 , Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 174 Essaouira B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ideal mid-range place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful, friendly- when we checked in, the owner Sylvie sat down to tea with us and gave us a map of the town and went through all of her recommendations (which all turned out to be great). In the medina but not too hard to find

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    31
    10
    3
    5
See reviews for
37
76
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Brilliant location in Essaouira. Friendly staff - gave us a warm welcome and helped you to plan our two days of adventure. Breakfast was a lovely bonus while staying at Riad Dar Nafoura.
I would recommend this accommodation to all (families, couples and groups on friends).

Thank you
Helen and Annie!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We literally stumbled on this place by pure chance-and what a chance! From the otuside it looked like nothing special, a small alley leading to a dark door-but once inside it was spectacular, an incredible hotel bdone out in a really interesting way to celebrate local culture and provide a little European luxury. The owners are a couple from Brittany but whio have lived there for many years and built up a good local netwrok of friends and a great team of freindly and helpful staff. Everyone we met here could not do enough for us and the kindness and generosity of the owners really made the trip. As well as expert local knowledge and a general helping hand in all that we needed in the hotel and the city itself they really took the time to make us feel at home and welcome. There was never any hint of being too busy to help. The hotel itself is amazing as a building and the rooms are all large and really comfy. There is a roof top terrace and views across the city from up there, for meals, sitting or naps. I cannot recommend this place or the owners highly enough. Brilliant.

Room Tip: I preferred the rooms on the upper floor personally, but all were of an excellent standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

A last mintute find as we wandered through the Medina of Essaouira we were deligeted to discover this little gem
Extremely clean and very comfortable, Dar Nafoura was the perfect spot. Best of all was the excellent hospitality from Silvia and Jackie.
A really memorable experience -- highly recommended by a very satisfied Irish customer

Room Tip: We were given a choice of rooms - all were lovely though the 'orange' one at the top that I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We stayed in Dar Nafoura for four days, booking the entire house for a foodtrips.co.uk cookery trip. I have never experienced a similar level of hospitality in any Riad, hotel or guest house. Sylvie and Jacky were focussed on making our stay as enjoyable as possible and gladly agreed to us taking over their entire house and staff, turning it upside down.

Their enthusiasm in making our trip enjoyable is probably best expressed through an anecdote. Lacking cooking equipment for a whole lamb Jacky helped us in creating a technical drawing, finding a welder and ultimately pulling the resulting monster of an oil barrel barbecue through the open courtyard onto the roof.

I am not sure if this is something you want to do on your trip to Essaouira. (Actually, I am. You don't, do you?) But whatever your plans are for Essaouira: The team that runs and works at Dar Nafoura will, based on my experience, work tirelessly for you.

Is the Riad also beautiful, located in a less touristy and more interesting part of the Medina, with lovely breakfast and all that at a surprisingly low price point? It is.

Go. You'll love it.

Room Tip: If you are traveling as a couple, Loubna is the most spacious of the doubles.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

one of the nicestplaces i have ever slept. very nice people,beautiful&clean rooms, amazing breakfast. 10 out of 10!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

During a surf trip around Europe my boyfriend from New Zealand and I decided to stop at Essaouira and stayed at the Dar Nafoura. We had an amazing time there! The riad is fantastic and well maintained. The rooms are clean, well decorated, cosy and perfect for romantic nights. The terrace is also a great place to hang out. But the place is not the only good thing about the riad, the staff are charming and helpfull. The owners Jacky and Sylvie will do all their best to advise you and make you have an awsome time! After a long day surfing it was delightful to get back there and have a good rest and good food in this peaceful and friendly atmosphere!
We really recommend this place and would love to go back!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
0.2 mi away
Riad Etoile d'Essaouira
Riad Etoile d'Essaouira
#46 of 76 in Essaouira
4.0 of 5 stars 51 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dar Al Bahar
Dar Al Bahar
#33 of 76 in Essaouira
4.0 of 5 stars 152 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Al Zahia
Riad Al Zahia
#20 of 76 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 stars 245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Caverne d'Ali Baba
Caverne d'Ali Baba
#41 of 76 in Essaouira
4.0 of 5 stars 68 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Orange Cannelle
Riad Orange Cannelle
#19 of 174 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 stars 125 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Blue Kaouki
Hotel Blue Kaouki
#27 of 174 in Essaouira
5.0 of 5 stars 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Dar Nafoura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Nafoura

Address: 30, rue Ibn Khaldoun, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 174 B&Bs / Inns in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Dar Nafoura 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Dar Nafoura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Dar Nafoura, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.