We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved everything about Casa Lila!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Casa Lila

Save Saved
You added Riad Casa Lila to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Riad Casa Lila
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   94 Rue Mohamel El Qorry, Essaouira 44000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 78 hotels in Essaouira
Madrid, Spain
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Loved everything about Casa Lila!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Casa Lila is amazing! It felt like a real treat. They upgraded us to a bigger room at no charge, and the Rose suite was phenomenal! I loved the bright colors and the design of Casa Lila, and how it felt both old/antique and new/modern at the same time. In the room was the most amazing bath, part of the old Hammam, we were told. The room was spacious and so very comfortable. Breakfast on the roof was a treat too. The staff was super friendly and helpful, booking us a last minute hammam and massage a few minutes away that was excellent. We stayed at a lot of Riads, and this place is really one of our favorites!

Room Tip: We were upgraded to the Rose room, which had that heavenly bath and tons of space!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    106
    32
    9
    3
    5
See reviews for
20
101
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newport Beach
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

In summary, we would happily return and love FF and her team!

PROS
1. Rooms - quirky, cool and impeccably designed!
2. Location - 5 minutes from bus station, 5 minutes from beach, in the heart of the cool Medina (where you want to be)
3. Breakfast - more than adequate, although on 2 occassions, my requests for more fruit were rejected
4. Terrace - sunny and lovely!
5. Courtyard - well-decorated and welcoming!
6. Management - they go out of their way to help you, solve problems and treat you to a fab holiday!

CONS
1. Spa - small, and manned by one very unhappy girl. But, they do have a wide menu of treatments and perhaps I was just unlucky...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Casa Lila is exactly how I had imagined a riad to be. Right in the centre of the medina, but completely sheltered from the chaos in the streets outside. The furnishings are beautiful, shabby chic, with creative (subdued) lighting, plants, and rose petals strewn on the towels and beds each evening. Each room has a different colour theme - we were in ivory and rose petal. Both were lovely in different ways, although ivory did have a very small bath in the middle of the room. Breakfasts were served on the roof terrace, weather permitting, and were fresh and delicious. There is a beauty salon where I had the best massage I have ever had! What really made Casa Lila special was the staff, however - they were without exception charming, helpful and friendly. There were some irregularities in the plumbing (a leaking sink) but this in no way detracted from a great experience. I would thoroughly recommend Casa Lila and would love to return.

Room Tip: We stayed in two twin bedded rooms. Both were quiet, placed round a lovely central courtyard cover...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essaouira, Morocco
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

À vey Nice Riad in The center of Essaouira. The staf makes you veel very welcome. Our room (The green room) was à very sweet and romantic place. The breakfast served on the roof of Casa Lila is prepared fresh every day. À special recommandation for Hyat, she has her own beauty salon in Casa Lila. We tried several massages, all very well and professional.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Casa Lila is amazing, like a beautiful palace full of lanterns and beautiful artefacts. The pink powder room is really special and even better than the photos.
The roof terrace for delicious breakfast was perfect. The staff all made us feel at home and welcome.
It is well situated as it is close to the gate to the port and sea.
We stayed for three nights and I'd definitely stay there again. I was sad the leave.
I loved the rose petals too!
Thank you making our stay so special.

Room Tip: The rose powder room is amazing. It has a bath AND hot water and towels with rose petals. The bed is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Our stay in Riad Casa Lila was excellent. We really enjoyed the level of service of the hotel staff, the beautifull views during breakfast and the clean comfortable rooms. It's possible to get massages in the Riad and I could highly recommend those.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

We stayed here in June 2012 and discovered we were the only guests! We got the option to pick any room we wanted and went for the top floor. Room was perfect. Simply perfect. No imperfections. Beautifully decorated and cleaned properly every day with rose petals put back on the sink and bed. How romantic!

Location is great. Its a small medina anyway but if you come from the main gate its a straight walk and easy to find.

Food: Breakfast was fine. Nothing amazing but not bad also. We didnt eat all the food given to us so the owners personally asked what we would like to eat. Very attentive. Like this.

Service: The chap at reception was a little quiet and came across as indifferent but he just struggled with english. We decided (twice!) to bring food back to the riad to eat and he laid out a table for us with music. Who does that? Good service.

Only criticism is the noise the seagulls make in the morning. They tend to come sit on the roof and so if you're staying on the top floor you will hear very loud seagulls who will def wake you up.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Casa Lila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Casa Lila

Address: 94 Rue Mohamel El Qorry, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Room Service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Essaouira
#17 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
#22 Family Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Riad Casa Lila 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Splendia, Booking.com, Priceline, Prestigia and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Riad Casa Lila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Casa Lila Essaouira
Riad Casa Lila Hotel Essaouira

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Casa Lila, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.