We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Casa Lila

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Casa Lila to your Saves list
Riad Casa Lila
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   94 Rue Mohamel El Qorry, Essaouira 44000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 76 Hotels in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
Essaouira, Morocco
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

À vey Nice Riad in The center of Essaouira. The staf makes you veel very welcome. Our room (The green room) was à very sweet and romantic place. The breakfast served on the roof of Casa Lila is prepared fresh every day. À special recommandation for Hyat, she has her own beauty salon in Casa Lila. We tried several massages, all very well and professional.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    38
    9
    4
    5
See reviews for
22
118
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Casa Lila is amazing, like a beautiful palace full of lanterns and beautiful artefacts. The pink powder room is really special and even better than the photos.
The roof terrace for delicious breakfast was perfect. The staff all made us feel at home and welcome.
It is well situated as it is close to the gate to the port and sea.
We stayed for three nights and I'd definitely stay there again. I was sad the leave.
I loved the rose petals too!
Thank you making our stay so special.

Room Tip: The rose powder room is amazing. It has a bath AND hot water and towels with rose petals. The bed is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Our stay in Riad Casa Lila was excellent. We really enjoyed the level of service of the hotel staff, the beautifull views during breakfast and the clean comfortable rooms. It's possible to get massages in the Riad and I could highly recommend those.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

We stayed here in June 2012 and discovered we were the only guests! We got the option to pick any room we wanted and went for the top floor. Room was perfect. Simply perfect. No imperfections. Beautifully decorated and cleaned properly every day with rose petals put back on the sink and bed. How romantic!

Location is great. Its a small medina anyway but if you come from the main gate its a straight walk and easy to find.

Food: Breakfast was fine. Nothing amazing but not bad also. We didnt eat all the food given to us so the owners personally asked what we would like to eat. Very attentive. Like this.

Service: The chap at reception was a little quiet and came across as indifferent but he just struggled with english. We decided (twice!) to bring food back to the riad to eat and he laid out a table for us with music. Who does that? Good service.

Only criticism is the noise the seagulls make in the morning. They tend to come sit on the roof and so if you're staying on the top floor you will hear very loud seagulls who will def wake you up.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

We stayed in Casa Lila for 2 nights and had entire place to ourselves. Beautifully kept and maintained. The riad was peaceful and felt like home. The French couple were so lovely and warm and friendly. They helped us with dinner suggestions and were very attentive to our breakfast each morning.

We were upgraded to any room in the house, we choose the big room on the terrace level. Altho very nice we were surprised by how much noise you could hear from the sea gulls early morning. Otherwise, a lovely stay!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

Riad Casa Lila is such a lovely place to stay in Essaouira. It is run by a wonderful and very helpful french couple. We stayed in the Saffron room on the second floor and it was spacious, exotic, airy, romantic, clean and comfortable. It looked just like the picture on the website.

The riad is well appointed in authentic moroccan decor. It is conveniently located within a 5 minute walk of the car park in the heart of the medina. The rooms are quiet.

Breakfast is served on the roof terrace with beautiful city views. We had such a relaxing stay and would love to return again some day.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Stockholms Län, Sweden
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

We had a two bedroom apartment in February for a very decent price. It is placed in one of the busy streets two minutes walk from the gate Bab Marrakech. But is a quiet sanctuary with it's own spa. I got a lovely massage one of the days. If you want a hammam there is one just on the opposite side if the street that we got recommended from the Riad. My wife went there and was satisfied. Every day they had spread rose leafs on the beds.
We had a large apartment but there was also very nice common areas where we sometimes spent time reading and planing our next day.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Riad Casa Lila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Casa Lila

Address: 94 Rue Mohamel El Qorry, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Room Service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Essaouira
#17 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
#22 Family Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Riad Casa Lila 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Splendia, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Casa Lila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Casa Lila Essaouira
Riad Casa Lila Hotel Essaouira

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Casa Lila, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.