We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very much enjoyed” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Casa Lila

Save Saved
You added Riad Casa Lila to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Riad Casa Lila
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   94 Rue Mohamel El Qorry, Essaouira 44000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 78 hotels in Essaouira
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
98 hotel reviews
Reviews in 105 cities Reviews in 105 cities
347 helpful votes 347 helpful votes
“Very much enjoyed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

The riad is on one of the main pedestrian streets (cars are banned inside the city walls). As one walks through a door from reception into the main courtyard, it's a transformation, going from the hubbub of the town, to a calm sanctuary.

Each of the rooms has an individual colour theme - feels like someone has put great thought into furnishing the place. The rose petals scattered over the bed made my fiancee rather happy. In the courtyard, there's also a big comfy sofa and a bunch of chairs around a table, as well as plenty of other seats next to a fireplace and a mini library. Breakfast is on the terrace, overlooking the rest of the city - great in the sunshine.
Yes, some of the other reviewers have a thing about the purple colour theme, but I think they are just being petty, trying too hard to find something that they didn't like. Reception staff are very kind and gentle with guests.

The couple who own the place are very hands on - they really want their guests to have a good time while in Essaouira, and give good advice about what's fun to do and attractive to see.

The only bad thing I can possibly say, is it would be nice if wifi were available in the courtyard as well as just reception so you can surf on your phone. Otherwise, extremely difficult to fault this place - can only suggest you try it yourself.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    105
    32
    9
    3
    5
See reviews for
20
101
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Staden Kobenhavn, Denmark
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011

Casa Lila is an authentic and clean Riad inside the Medina. It is run by a sweet french couple and with a kind helpful staff. Every room is different and charming in its own way. Breakfast on the terrace in the morning inclusive and I suggest a nice warm oil massage in the evening. Note - It can be chilly during winter at night even in the rooms but there are heaters and extra blankets to make up for it. If you are going to Essaouira this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

We were very impressed already by Essaouira, but we were even more by this wonderful riad.
It is very well located, on the main street of Essaouira. The staff and the owners of this riad are very helpful and enthousiastic.
The riad has 9 beautiful rooms, a very big terasse on the roof, nice wellness area (massages). A real delight!

Room Tip: Rooms on the roof have the most light and you are the nearest to the terrasse.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

the Ryad in question has been accurately decored by the owners , a french couple , which created a masterpiece od interior decor , following the maroccan guidelines mixed with the andalusian base . Should also underline that colours has been used with great majestry,
The interiors are so "attractive" that you can easily forget that you are not located on the sea front , but anyhow really centrally located inside the medina andvery close to a parking .
Also the massage room is wonderfully decorated keeping you immediately in a relaxing atmospheare.
The policy of this Ryad includes upgrades of room if any suite is available at checkin.
and I could take advantage for a larger bed ....

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

Decided to leave my group tour and found this riad by myself just by walking by and liking the sign. The personnel inside were so friendly and accommodating. They showed me the GORGEOUS rooms on the main floor. The rooms are inside and away from the hustle and bustle of the street. The main living area for all of the rooms surrounding it, is just fanstastic, like an oasis! The rooms to sleep in are designed so magnificently that you may never want to leave to walk around the city. I actually didn't get to stay in them b/c they were sold out, so alas, I got the penthouse apt....awwww! After walking up 4 flights of stairs, not so bad tho...I was shown what looked like a little dollhouse doorway and shuttered window. The light that came in and the breeze was not to be believed - sleeping was amazing. The design of the room w/a living room area, a very large bed with the best square pillows I have ever slept on and the mattress was the best in all of Morocco (I was backpacking for 1 month, so I tried out lots of mattresses!). The shower was a LARGE walk-in and there was a separate room w/the toilet. The sink was in between the two. Breakfast was on the roof (for all the guests) but I had a little corner all to myself. I also had my own lounge chair. The other guests that I met were very personable and the brekkie was quite substantial (for Morocco) and delicious. I did wander around the other floors to peek into rooms that were being cleaned and each bedroom is designed differently. There is a room w/a giant sunken bathtub - wow! And a suiteroom for a family with separate bedrooms and a stunning (what seems like shared) shower/toilet area. Dinner is served there, but I didn't try it, probably should have. Also they have access to mani/pedis and massage services, didn't try that either.

Room Tip: Take whatever is available, you won't be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

The staff and owners of the Riad the Casa Lila are all very welcoming and make you feel very much at home. The service is excellent and everybody is just waiting to help out so as to make your trip the best ever...the decoration is of very good taste making you feel like a princess full of eastern delight......... We just loved the blue room with its tower shape and the fact that it lead straight out onto the roof terrace was heaven.....there's an excellent face care or body massage if you feel like being spoilt. The Casa Lila is very well situated in the Medina with all facilities at hand and Michel and FanFan the most charming owners really put themselves out to help when ever necessary, and have an excellent list of places to visit and addresses of guides.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verona
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

Good location, our room was comfortable although slightly narrow, well furnished and had an interesting shower/bath. Had been part of the original bathhouse. The roof terrace gave a great view and breakfast was excellent. The owners were also ver friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Casa Lila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Casa Lila

Address: 94 Rue Mohamel El Qorry, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Room Service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Essaouira
#17 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
#22 Family Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Riad Casa Lila 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Splendia, Booking.com, Prestigia and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Riad Casa Lila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Casa Lila Essaouira
Riad Casa Lila Hotel Essaouira

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Casa Lila, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.