We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic clean Riad” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Casa Lila

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Casa Lila to your Saves list
Riad Casa Lila
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   94 Rue Mohamel El Qorry, Essaouira 44000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 76 Hotels in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Copenhagen, Staden Kobenhavn, Denmark
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Authentic clean Riad”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011

Casa Lila is an authentic and clean Riad inside the Medina. It is run by a sweet french couple and with a kind helpful staff. Every room is different and charming in its own way. Breakfast on the terrace in the morning inclusive and I suggest a nice warm oil massage in the evening. Note - It can be chilly during winter at night even in the rooms but there are heaters and extra blankets to make up for it. If you are going to Essaouira this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    37
    9
    4
    5
See reviews for
21
114
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

We were very impressed already by Essaouira, but we were even more by this wonderful riad.
It is very well located, on the main street of Essaouira. The staff and the owners of this riad are very helpful and enthousiastic.
The riad has 9 beautiful rooms, a very big terasse on the roof, nice wellness area (massages). A real delight!

Room Tip: Rooms on the roof have the most light and you are the nearest to the terrasse.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

the Ryad in question has been accurately decored by the owners , a french couple , which created a masterpiece od interior decor , following the maroccan guidelines mixed with the andalusian base . Should also underline that colours has been used with great majestry,
The interiors are so "attractive" that you can easily forget that you are not located on the sea front , but anyhow really centrally located inside the medina andvery close to a parking .
Also the massage room is wonderfully decorated keeping you immediately in a relaxing atmospheare.
The policy of this Ryad includes upgrades of room if any suite is available at checkin.
and I could take advantage for a larger bed ....

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

Decided to leave my group tour and found this riad by myself just by walking by and liking the sign. The personnel inside were so friendly and accommodating. They showed me the GORGEOUS rooms on the main floor. The rooms are inside and away from the hustle and bustle of the street. The main living area for all of the rooms surrounding it, is just fanstastic, like an oasis! The rooms to sleep in are designed so magnificently that you may never want to leave to walk around the city. I actually didn't get to stay in them b/c they were sold out, so alas, I got the penthouse apt....awwww! After walking up 4 flights of stairs, not so bad tho...I was shown what looked like a little dollhouse doorway and shuttered window. The light that came in and the breeze was not to be believed - sleeping was amazing. The design of the room w/a living room area, a very large bed with the best square pillows I have ever slept on and the mattress was the best in all of Morocco (I was backpacking for 1 month, so I tried out lots of mattresses!). The shower was a LARGE walk-in and there was a separate room w/the toilet. The sink was in between the two. Breakfast was on the roof (for all the guests) but I had a little corner all to myself. I also had my own lounge chair. The other guests that I met were very personable and the brekkie was quite substantial (for Morocco) and delicious. I did wander around the other floors to peek into rooms that were being cleaned and each bedroom is designed differently. There is a room w/a giant sunken bathtub - wow! And a suiteroom for a family with separate bedrooms and a stunning (what seems like shared) shower/toilet area. Dinner is served there, but I didn't try it, probably should have. Also they have access to mani/pedis and massage services, didn't try that either.

Room Tip: Take whatever is available, you won't be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

The staff and owners of the Riad the Casa Lila are all very welcoming and make you feel very much at home. The service is excellent and everybody is just waiting to help out so as to make your trip the best ever...the decoration is of very good taste making you feel like a princess full of eastern delight......... We just loved the blue room with its tower shape and the fact that it lead straight out onto the roof terrace was heaven.....there's an excellent face care or body massage if you feel like being spoilt. The Casa Lila is very well situated in the Medina with all facilities at hand and Michel and FanFan the most charming owners really put themselves out to help when ever necessary, and have an excellent list of places to visit and addresses of guides.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verona
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

Good location, our room was comfortable although slightly narrow, well furnished and had an interesting shower/bath. Had been part of the original bathhouse. The roof terrace gave a great view and breakfast was excellent. The owners were also ver friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2011

I'm sorry to read the previous review, because we had our money (just €20) taken out of our luggage at the airport and it made us feel really robbed and uncomfortable. I do however wonder if it is justified to give the ryad a low rating wrt location, cleanliness and sleep quality. We stayed here for 4 nights to do some windsurfing and we loved every minute of it, especially since we arrived after a full week in the desert and mountains. The rooms are beautifully decorated, each with it's own color scheme and very spacious and clean. They are cleaned every day, including fresh towels. There's no airco, but with the sirocco blowing everyday, you don't need an airco. We stayed on the second floor, in the lilac room, which had a much larger courtyard than the first floor, handy to hang our stuff to dry at the end of the day. 1 small minus point: the sea gulls are LOUD, so if you are a light sleeper, consider using ear plugs.
The ryad is located 100m from Bab Marrakech, very handy if you need to park your car (no cars allowed in the medina) and if you are travelling with Supratours. There are many restaurants and food stalls nearby to stack up on fresh bread and fruit for the day. Banks and cybercafes are also around the corner.
I went to the Lalla Mira hammam right around the corner from Casa Lila and it was great. 180 dirhams for a scrub, massage and body wrap by a friendly female attendant. It is not a public hammam, so you need to make an appoitment. I was the only customer at the time.
1 tip in Essaouira: if you're coming for the beach life and surfing, the best place to go is beach club Ocean Vagabond, about a 20 min walk away from town. The terrace is is the only one on the boulevard surrounded with a wooden fence, which you'll appreciate once you see and feel the sand blowing horizontally across the beach. Food is excellent (huge salads and burgers for 80 dirhams) and the tanning beds are for free, if you order drinks. Music is great, some of the best I have heard at any beach club. It is THE place for surfers to hang out.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Casa Lila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Casa Lila

Address: 94 Rue Mohamel El Qorry, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Room Service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Essaouira
#17 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
#22 Family Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Riad Casa Lila 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Splendia, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Casa Lila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Casa Lila Essaouira
Riad Casa Lila Hotel Essaouira

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Casa Lila, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.