We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it will definitely go back!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar L'Oussia

Save Saved
You added Riad Dar L'Oussia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Riad Dar L'Oussia
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   04 Rue Mohamed Ben Messaoud - Bab Sbaa | Medina, Essaouira 44000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 78 hotels in Essaouira
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Loved it will definitely go back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

We had a gorgeous meal here,. It happened to be my birthday as well and the staff arranged champagne, dessert with birthday candles and all came out of the kitchen to sing happy birthday. A beautiful setting, fabulous food and reasonable priced.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    154
    67
    13
    9
    7
See reviews for
43
128
10
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Shah Alam
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Once you enter Essaouira you will fall in love with the charm and beauty of the city and Riad Dar L'oussia made my holiday even more memorable and it was just like a home away from home.
Great location, only 5 minutes walk from the port and the Old Medina.
Gorgeous and well appointed rooms , beautiful lobby, and beautiful interior of the restaurant and i love most the roof top breakfast area which commands a great view of the Atlantic coast & the port . Watch out for the wonderful seagulls , they may join you for breakfast too!

Great place to relax and i have decided to let my group stay for 2 nights instead of 1 night just
because of Dar L'oussia. Staffs are friendly and always giving you full attention and do not hesitate to book a room there.

Room Tip: The higher floors you go, the lesser steps you have to take for breakfast as it's located on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Beautiful hotel, excellent kitchen, very friendly and helpful staff.
Everything we had wished for.
Staff went beyond their duties in returning my phone back to my home address when I found out I had left it there.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

I had a lovely stay before new year with friends. I am originally from Essaouira and took my English friends to Dar L'Oussia and they were very happy with the choice. The position is wonderful, the rooms were excellent - warm and comfortable - and only two minutes walk from the car park outside the walls.

Rajaa, the manager, was welcoming and looked after us very professionally, and the service throughout was first class.

Essaid

Room Tip: All rooms seemed very comfortable. More sun on upper floors if you are ok with the climb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

A group of us spent a happy three days at Dar L'Oussia at the end of 2012. Normally, riads in Essaouira can be damp but this one was warm and welcoming. The riad has been rebuilt within an ancient building and even has under-floor heating; very nice on winter nights in this windy resort. Adequate breakfasts on the roof terrace, nice when its sunny, but can be a bit windswept, and four flights up: not so good for the infirm.

Rooms comfortable, service and welcome warm, spa and hammam good value. Bar very pleasant although we took space by the logfire in the salon/dining room. The riad is wonderfully positioned, just inside one of the main gates to the medina, near the main square and virtually overlooking the sea and the port. Everything within walking distance.

All in all a good find, comfort paired with tradition. The whole experience represented good value and we will definitely return. Recommended!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed there for about two weeks with two kids. The people working there were very friendly. The rooms service was good. The room and bathroom were cleaned everyday.

The restaurant situated in Riad was very nice. The meals very delicious and sphere and decoration was very authentic.

The Riad is situated in a very nice location, next to the beach and close to medina. I will recommend this place not only for singles but also for families with kids.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

I stayed at Riad Dar L'Oussia with My Mum on a Groupon deal. We were very pleasantly surprised as the Riad is beautiful and set around a light, airy courtyard. Our room was a little dark inside as there were no windows to the exterior, just the door and window into the central courtyard. But it was well furnished with a simple yet stylish adjoining bathroom. We had breakfast on the roof terrace every morning, which afforded stunning views across the harbour, beach and town. The Riad is well situated just inside one of the entrances to the Medina, so it's only a 5 minute walk to the markets, harbour or beach. The staff were all very friendly and knowledgable and I'd definitely recommend this hotel to others.

Room Tip: If there are rooms with external windows, these are probably lighter than those with only courtyard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Dar L'Oussia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar L'Oussia

Address: 04 Rue Mohamed Ben Messaoud - Bab Sbaa | Medina, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Essaouira
#3 Business Hotel in Essaouira
#14 Family Hotel in Essaouira
#15 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Dar L'Oussia 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Venere and Otel so you can book your Riad Dar L'Oussia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar l`Oussia Hotel Essaouira
Riad Dar l Oussia Essaouira

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Dar L'Oussia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.