We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great break from Marrakech” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Watier

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Watier to your Saves list
Riad Watier
16 Rue Ceuta | Medina, Essaouira 44000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 77 Hotels in Essaouira
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A great break from Marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2009

We recently spent a week in Morocco. Five night in Marrakech broken up with two night in Essaouira. I enjoyed Marrakech but its was good to have a change of senery. And was pleased to discover Riad Watier.

The owner picked us up from the coach station (incidentally, if you book the hotel is best to ask him which coach station to go to because one is much closer to the old part of the city). He was full of enthusiasm for Essaouira and I could soon see why.

Essaouira is a walled city surrounded by the sea on three sides. Its much calmer than the hustle of Marrakech and has a beautiful beach.

The hotel is beautifully decorated with the owners art collection, with very comfortable public areas. We booked a standard room, which was huge and had a separate sitting area and well appointed bathroom. The bed was very comfortable. Unfortunately the room was a little cool, but it was January and Morroco was having a cool spell. I am sure it would be respite from the sun during the rest of the year.

Breakfast was served on the roof terrace and much fun was to be had watching the sea gulls.

The hotel is situated in the old town a very short walk from the ramparts, harbour, restaurants and the beach.

Everyone was very helpful was offered lots of good tips, which is important if you only have a short amount of time. I would like to go back to Essaouira in the summer and will certainly book Riad Watier.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    283
    36
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
88
152
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2009

We booked Riad Watier based on great trip advisor reviews, but we were quite disappointed. The room was large, but it smelled of the toilet and was covered in flies. The shower was also not very good. We paid for a sea-view room, but there were no views to be had. We asked for massages, but the hotel forget to book them and then scrambled at the last minute to get us massages. Then when we were checking out and heading to the airport, we were told the massages had to be paid in cash. If you've been to Morocco, you know how difficult it can be to find a working cash machine, especially when you are in a hurry. For our last day, we asked for a late check-out and were told it was no problem. But then a different employee came knocking on our door telling us we needed to leave the room because another party would arrive that day for the room. The hotel was nearly empty while we were there, so we found it very difficult to believe. They gave us little advice and no recommendations for restaurants, etc. We were very disappointed to have paid so much to stay in a sub-par hotel.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London/Oxford
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2009

Watier is absolutely beautiful. Our room was huge, the bed was comfortable, the linens were crisp, the breakfasts were great, the location could hardly be better. The whole package is topped off by the charming staff and the lovely, relaxing ambience of the place.

Unfortunately somebody at Watier made a mistake with our booking meaning we had to check out a day early. They did really try to sort things out and offered to put us up somewhere else at their own expense, but we didn't really like the alternative offered so we made our own arrangements. They were so helpful and we enjoyed our stay so much, I can't mark the place down for this - we'll just have to go back and catch up our lost night another time!

  • Liked — Lovely inner courtyard
  • Disliked — Having to leave a day early!
  • Stayed December 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2008

We stayed at Riad Watier instead of our regular spot and it was a wonderful stay. The hosts were very welcoming and the room was beautiful. The setup was perfect for two couples and it felt very comfortable and we had abundant space. We were in the city just before the musdic festival and the preparations caused a city-wide blackout. This threw a curve into our plans for dinner that night as it was a very drak night and many restaurants were closed due to the power outage. Jean Gabriel (the owner) stepped in and offered to make us a dinner in the riad even though we had not booked it. The cook went through the kitchen and put together a dinner for four with whatever they had and it was delicious!
We felt very welcomed and were sad to leave such a beautiful spot.

  • Liked — Beautiful rooms and decor.
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2008

Having found it difficult to select a Riad because of the issue of fake reviews we were delighted with our choice of the Watier.
Although we missed meeting Jean Gabriel who was on holiday at the time we were very well looked after by Brahim and Naour and the other staff.
Brahim went out of his way to assist us. Absolutely nothing was too much trouble for him.
The Riad was beautiful and the accommodation was spacious and very clean and comfortable. Meals were delicious. Excellent breakfast included in very reasonable room price.
We would certainly return and highly recommend the Watier to others.

  • Liked — The cleanliness comfort and staff.
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
djb1974uk
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2008

Riad Watier is the perfect setting for staying in Essaouira. I have never felt so welcome at a hotel in my life. Jean Gabriel, is an amazing host/owner. Great fun to chat too, and even better to share a glass of wine with. His sense of adventure is infectious. From the night porter, to the waitress to the man himself, all are so happy and smiley it should make the big hotels in the world wake up and realise that the way to get clients to return is to treat them the way they do at Riad Watier. Congratulations to you all and thankyou for everything.....especially not laughing at our attempts to kite surf. We will def return...

  • Liked — log fires in the bedroom
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2008

This excellent riad combines a warm and friendly ambience with all the amenities of a nice hotel. It’s very well located in the lovely beach town of Essaouria, near shops and restaurants. It’s also a great value for families, given the size of their rooms. Our room, for example, was really more like a suite with a private bedroom, a loft for the kids, a sitting room and a bathroom.

We stayed at the Riad Watier for three nights in October 2008 and our favorite things about the hotel included: breakfast on the roof terrace with a view of the Atlantic and delicious breads, jams, coffee & hot chocolate; a very nice and spotless bathroom with endless amounts of hot water; a large bedroom suite (as described above); comfy beds with down comforters; mint tea in the library—one of our favorite spots in the hotel; the dining room, which serves delicious and reasonably priced meals upon request; the hotel pets, a chameleon and several tortoises; the friendly staff; and the charming proprietor, Jean Gabriel, who told us great stories and entertained our daughters with his “talking globe.”

This hotel is family friendly in every way, but is well suited to all sorts of travelers. It’s also beautifully decorated and filled with interesting art, photographs, books etc. We felt at home both in the hotel and in the relaxed and peaceful town of Essaouira—a great town for shopping, quiet dinners, and walks on the beach, as well as a nice break from the congestion and sensory overload of Marrakech!

Thank you to Jean-Gabriel and all the staff at Riad Watier!

  • Liked — breakfast on the roof, large rooms, library, friendly owner & staff
  • Disliked — nothing!
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Watier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Watier

Address: 16 Rue Ceuta | Medina, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Essaouira
#5 Family Hotel in Essaouira
#11 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Prestigia, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Watier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Watier Essaouira
Riad Watier Hotel Essaouira

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Watier, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.