We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“French Charm in Moroccan Clothing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Watier

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Riad Watier to your Saves list
Riad Watier
16 Rue Ceuta | Medina, Essaouira 44000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 78 Hotels in Essaouira
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“French Charm in Moroccan Clothing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

There is a difference in a professional smile of a concierge and the welcoming smile of someone bringing you into their own home. As soon as you meet Jean-Gabriel and his staff you immediately realise that they are bringing you into their sumptuous Ryad as a friend, not a customer. The suite I stayed in afforded me one of the best nights sleep I ever had, and the ensuite bathroom was perfect for 2 people. The decor demonstrated the skills of the local artists and artisans, and there is a hint of the bohemian thrown in as well! Jean-Gabriel knows his town & can direct you to restaurants that cater to all tastes & activities that suit as well. One night an Italian family whom were staying there decided they wanted to cook for us all, and we had a michelin star like salt baked snapper! Thank you very much Fabio! In all I stayed there for 5 nights and had an fabulous experience. I need to find out the recipe for the orange jam at breakfast as that is truly amazing!

Room Tip: Rooms to the back of the hotel tend to be more light as the sun transverses that way
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    274
    36
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
85
147
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Our thanks to Jean-Gabriel and his staff for making our stay at Riad Watier in Essaouira such an enjoyable one. Our room was tastefully furnished, airy and spacious. Breakfast was served on the roof terrace and delicious dinners were available on request in the ground floor dining room. Jean–Gabriel was a friendly and attentive host supplying useful recommendations for local sightseeing, shopping and eating out in the town. We are particularly grateful to him for his invitation to watch with him one of the key Six Nations Rugby Union matches.

Room Tip: It would appear that better rooms are on the upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

In our experience, the host and staff of a Riad make all the difference between an adequate and exceptional experience. At Riad Watier, Jean-Gabriel and the others make your feel right at home with genuine hospitality and kindness. We arrived late (from Merzouga desert) and, despite the late hour, a delicious dinner was awaiting us. Jean-Gabriel is a true host - personable and eager to guide the guests with recommendations and to exchange stories. For example, we went to a restaurant that didn't serve wine, and he kindly offered a bottle for us to take (as restaurant allowed guests to bring wine). We stayed in one of the large rooms (family of four) which was extremely spacious; perfect for our 10 and 13 year-old daughters. Breakfast was the most extensive of any Riad we stayed in, and was enjoyed on the peaceful rooftop terrace. The sun-deck was comfortable (they provide mattresses for the lounge chairs). Location is ideal - center of the Medina and a five-minute walk to the port/main square.

Room Tip: Room on second floor (starts with an 'L') is large and perfect for a family of four.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

What a lovely Riad - friendly and welcoming owner Jean Gabriel, beautifully decorated riad with great eclectic art, and very comfortable rooms. Our family of five (two adults and three children) shared a large lovely suite with a great bathroom. We enjoyed fantastic breakfasts on the roof terrace with views over Essaouira. The Riad was a beautiful and very relaxing place to come back to after strolling around the town, shopping in the markets and playing on the beach. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stayed here for two nights after visiting Marrakesh and what a contrast to the dark alleys of the medina. This bohemian riad offers excellent rooms - we had a junior suite with a mezzanine bedroom for our two teenage boys. We enjoyed a home cooked supper sat around the communal dining room table where we shared wine and stories from around the world. Jean Gabriel made us feel very welcome and gave great advice on where to shop for genuine gifts and where to eat. If you enjoy large sandy beaches then this is the place for you. Great surf for kite surfers and wind surfers or just strolling along the sands.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

A wonderful stay in a beautifully designed Riad with a great host and excellent service. The food at the Riad was delicious and, when eating out, the recommendations given met our needs perfectly. The 2 days we booked there were definitely not long enough. We hope to return soon.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
København, Staden Kobenhavn, Denmark
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

My family and I stayed at this Ryad for a little over a week, and I can honestly say that this has been the nicest hotel that I have stayed in - ever!
The service was excellent, the atmosphere was extraordinary, LITERALLY all the rooms were unique and very beautiful and the people working there were very sweet.

We loved our stay at Watier, and we'll most certainly come back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Watier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Watier

Address: 16 Rue Ceuta | Medina, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Essaouira
#5 Family Hotel in Essaouira
#11 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Prestigia, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Riad Watier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Watier Essaouira
Riad Watier Hotel Essaouira

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Watier, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.