We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant affordable riad” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Marosko

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Essaouira
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Riad Marosko
Save Saved
You added Riad Marosko to your Saves list
66, Impasse rue d_Agadir, Essaouira, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 78 Hotels in Essaouira
Madrid, Spain
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Pleasant affordable riad”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

This riad is a great deal for the very reasonable price. I stayed here during the unforgettable Gnaoua musical festival, and it was perfectly located away from the crowds and city bustle, but extremely easy to reach and find. The views from the rooftop breakfast area and deck are lovely, the breakfast itself is top-notch, and the staff are nice and friendly. They gave me some good chit-chat time since I unfortunately had to travel alone for a few days (merci!)... The room is simple but riad-lovely, with maybe just a few tiny issues: the wide-open shower sprays water all over the place (though it is cool and pretty) and, as occurs in almost all riads, there is a quite a bit of noise coming in from the inner courtyard, especially in the morning hours when it becomes a loading and unloading zone :) I think travel anywhere south of Paris requires earplugs anyway, so take a pair just in case you are a light sleeper! Very easy to reach from Bab Marrakesh grand taxi area, and only a lovely 5-minute stroll from the main streets and plaza, oozing with charm every step along the way. I'd go back and would recommend this place to friends, unless moolah isn't an issue and you can afford to pay double for a more luxury-style place with a pool and other high-end amentities. But if you just want an affordable pleasant place to stay this is a great mid-range choice!

Room Tip: Maybe higher up would be quieter (I was on the first floor and it was a bit noisy at times), and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    23
    2
    3
    1
See reviews for
12
37
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

We spent three nights at Riad Marosko after transferring there from a disappointing stay at another riad in Essaouira. The staff were very friendly and our room (number 3) was clean and comfortable. The riad is good value for money and very centrally located for the restaurants and bars in the city.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

Just got back to New York after a week in Morocco, and wanted to immediately recommend this place to future travelers. Mari and her staff could not have been more welcoming, the charming riad is perfectly situated in the medina for exploration, the breakfasts on the roof terrace were delicious, and the view from the roof-top observation deck was stupendous (thanks, Magid, for the tea at sunset!) I would go back in a heartbeat, and while the mattress in our room was a little too hard for my liking, my partner rather liked it (by the way, for you LGBT travelers, we were absolutely made to feel welcomed here, which, I gather, is not always the case in Morocco) If you go to beautiful Essaouira, reserve at Marosko. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Otley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2011

We spent 6 nights here in January and had the place to ourselves on 5 of them. Our room wasn't really large enough to spend non-sleeping time in, but there was a (communal) sitting room on the same floor where we sat to read on wet afternoons. This is not a luxury riad, it's more homely, but very comfortable and well positioned down a narrow lane off the main thoroughfare in from Bab Marrakech, convenient for the Supratours coach from Marrakech. As others have said, the rooftop terrace is a real asset.

Room Tip: There's no lift so choose a lower floor if you don't like stairs - they are a little steep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

Nicolas and his staff were really friendly, professional and helpful. We really enjoyed our stay at the riad and it was ideally situated in the Medina, but also close to the beach and the port. Our only criticism was the difficulty we had in getting the shower to produce hot water - a few times we had to call in a member of staff to assist.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

We had a lovely three day stay at the Riad Marosko, Nicolas was very helpful in recommending places to continue our journey on and Marie was most welcoming and charming. Breakfast on the terraced roof was delicious.
Lovely place to stay,comfortable and with very nice staff. I would really recommend it, it is centrally located but very peaceful.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merrick, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

We were a family of four. Couple with two adult children. The Riad was a wonderful place to stay in Essaouira. Marie, our host at the Riad, was wonderful and provided us with some great information and recommendations. I would highly recommend this Riad if you are planning a visit to Essaouira.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Marosko? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Marosko

Address: 66, Impasse rue d_Agadir, Essaouira, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#30 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Riad Marosko Essaouira
Riad Marosko Hotel Essaouira

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Marosko, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;