We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perhaps once chic - now very faded. An aamzing view” 2 of 5 stars
Review of La maison des artistes

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added La maison des artistes to your Saves list
La maison des artistes
19, Rue Laalouj | ancienne Medina, Essaouira, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 78 Hotels in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Perhaps once chic - now very faded. An aamzing view”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

La Maison des Artistes suffers from lack of care. The view out to sea (we stayed in the large pavillion room on top of the building) was quite spectacular, but unfortunately the bin wasn't emptied, the bedding was quite old and cheap and simply it did not justify the price (£100 ish per night). I left my phone charger there and returned a day later to try to get it back and it took more than 40 minutes to get someone to answer the phone or the door. The standard would be acceptable in an 1950's Skegness boarding house, it is not today in an establishment asking modern prices.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lazy_Kora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

We stayed in the Scala room which had doors opening onto the terrace with wicked views of the sea. One of the reasons we picked this room was cause of the bath in it but the water ran so slowly there was never much reason in running a bath. And the bath water came out on the terrace when you let out the bath... also nice breakfast but a bit thrown together, coffee wasn't great.

Overall a beautiful hotel with lots of interesting objects but a couple of down points that made us think it was a bit overpriced.

Room Tip: Choose the very top room cause it has sea views on all sides. They were refurbishing it while we wer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

if you are able to switch rooms during your stay do so, since each one of them is different. The sea views through the windows is worth each Dinar.
Have breakfast in the top before joined by the seaguls.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Balmes78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
114 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2011

My husband just stayed here for one week as part of the Ganoa Music Festival in Essaouira, Morocco. He really enjoyed the charm and the central location as it is right in the medina and the heart of the action. He liked the quirky, imaginative approach to the decor and the simpleness of the hotel. He said it was clean and the staff was friendly.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Parisa63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2011

Recommended, good vibe and breakfast. Only frustration is lack of proper ensuite, no standing showers either. Great decor, comfortable rooms.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank praig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2011

Probably the best boutique hotel I have ever stayed in. Great breakfast and amazing rooms that really show off the artistic theme. Highly recommend this.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kiwisaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2010

Yes yes yes - there are numerous reviews here about the tattiness and even some comments about the low levels of cleanliness but all I can say is ... we LOVED Maisons des Artistes and stayed 4 nights there. We stayed 3 nights in the smaller Domino room, which while a little damp in the morning was spotlessly clean and serviced on a daily basis to a good level. We stayed the last night in the stunning penthouse Pavilion and managed to bargain down the price a bit to a more reasonable €100. We would heartily recommend this place as the terrace is amazing - as both a suntrap and place to chill, with stunning sea views of La Skala ramparts in the West of the Essaouira Kasbah.

The service was friendly (if a bit quiet) and the breakfasts hearty and well prepared - again stunning taking them on the terrace with the sea air morning breeze.

The only slight complaint would be the dampness of the rooms in the morning (due to the sea air) and yep some of the furniture and fittings are (whilst funky) pretty tatty. BUT it is clean though and the stairs that sometimes smelled musty when you came up them are shared with other residences and once you're on the terrace most (normal) people will have got over that. And please please please get some WiFi so you can check out recommendations for dining from the Riad ...

We feel this place is not to be missed though and a curious mix of Moroccan Riad and quaint Cornish seafront cottage. Check it out if you're in Essaouira ... it's also in the Kasbah so you're 2 minutes from some incredible artisan shops and 5 minutes from the top 3 restaurants we found in Essaouira.

Loved it.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank parismcmahon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
1.2 mi away
Riad Zahra Mogador
Riad Zahra Mogador
#13 of 78 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 stars 577 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Baladin
Riad Baladin
#10 of 78 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 stars 974 reviews
0.6 mi away
Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Villa Gonatouki
Villa Gonatouki
#1 of 2 in Ghazoua
5.0 of 5 stars 474 reviews
0.2 mi away
Madada Mogador
Madada Mogador
#17 of 78 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 stars 411 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Malaika
Riad Malaika
#8 of 78 in Essaouira
5.0 of 5 stars 725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La maison des artistes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La maison des artistes

Address: 19, Rue Laalouj | ancienne Medina, Essaouira, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Essaouira
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your La maison des artistes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Maison Des Artistes Hotel Essaouira
La Maison Des Artistes Essaouira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing