We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, stylish clean rooms, friendly staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palazzo Desdemona

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Palazzo Desdemona to your Saves list
Palazzo Desdemona
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12-14 rue Youssef el Fassi, Essaouira, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 77 Hotels in Essaouira
Toulouse, France
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good location, stylish clean rooms, friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

The first plus was that, in addition to the bookings.com confirmation, we received a personal mail from the hotel confirming the arrangements. There followed a dialogue about arrival times which was reassuring.

Hotel is in an excellent location within the medina and five or more minutes by foot from the Suprabus stop. Next to a Societe Generale cash machine.

We were upgraded from a standard confort room to a mini-suite consisting of a bedroom and adjacent living room which had two single beds and a small balcony overlooking the small garden and avenue below. So we were very happy. Agree with one commentator that some couples might be disappointed with the elegant four poster standard double bed, in terms of size. We used one of the single beds as well!

Decor is very stylish and not overdone although some of the paintings are a bit amateurish! Our room was impeccably clean. Good hot large tiled shower. Lovely yellow and white tiles in bathroom. No safe in our room.

Essaouira was windy and a bit cold and we liked the room so much that we used it more than we would otherwise, in order to rest. There is building work going on somewhere close so that was an interruption during our day time rests but normally that would not bother the usual tourist. One bit of advice for Essaouira which was not particularly clear from our guide-book is that the place can be coldish as well as windy in the winter so you shoud take a pullover or windbreaker as the temperature is very different from that in Marrakesh.

More than adequate breakfast consisting of fresh orange juice, yoghurt, excellent baguettes with butter and jam, pain au chocolate, and a kind of madeira cake. Coffee was good but not hot enough. However, the friendly waiter just gave it a buzz with the expresso machine.

The young staff are a great asset to the hotel. Good English and of course French, outgoing, friendly. The manager at reception carried our small over-night bag up two flights of stairs. (We stayed two nights from Marrakesh.)

Our impression was distorted positively because of the upgrade but we certainly recommend this place.

Room Tip: We did not find noise an issue. I gather the rooms can vary a lot in size. We were delighted with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    48
    19
    9
    3
See reviews for
25
72
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

You probably can't do better in Essaouira medina. It is just inside the medina walls on a quiet square with a little bit of garden. The ground floor is a pleasant salon de the where they serve breakfast( included in the price.) My room was clean and comfortable. It was up a couple of flights of steep narrow stairs and had no exterior window, but this is usual in medina houses. There was a small roof terrace with good views all round but you couldn't really benefit from it in Feb. as it was too windy. I did not much like Essaouira, the medina was very grubby and full of tacky tourist shops. I did have a meal in one of the medina cafes but the food wasn't very good and I was overcharged. So I ate in a beach bar which was clean and honest and the food was ok. There is a long beach with a pleasant corniche as far as it goes. But at this time of year the wind gets really fierce after about 11 am

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogø by Danmark
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

I love to visit beautiful places and that includes places to stay. This luxury riad is a jewel and so is Essaoira so it was difficult to choose , stay in the room or go out... Everything is beautiful from the doors to the beds , and still very comfortable . Lovely staff , beautiful rooftop view , perfect situated . We will be back!!!

Stayed February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

An outstanding family run hotel in the very centre of the old Medina. Our room was typically Moroccan decor, clean, and a pleasure to spend 3 nights in. Delightful staff who speak excellent English. Very nice breakfast and all well priced. No alcohol but there are several bars in the town. Would thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
233 reviews 233 reviews
179 hotel reviews
Reviews in 179 cities Reviews in 179 cities
231 helpful votes 231 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

We had a very simply furnished room and bathroom on the top floor of the hotel and up several flights of steep stairs – note that there is no lift!! From the little balcony outside our room we had views over the rooftops of Essaouira. The port and the souks are short walk away, and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast is nice - the usual coffee, orange juice, yoghurt, pancakes, bread and jam. We could have done with more lighting in our room and a little more furniture but other than that it was lovely.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Rachid and hotel staff were very friendly and provide a good service. I will come back one day with my wife, for sure. Great location, and close to car parking. Shower had not a courtain, it is the only thing I was not happy about. I love the building, in general.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

I stayed here last week whilst travelling alone. The place is lovely. The rooms (I stayed in three of them during the course of my 6 day stay!) are clean spacious and comfortable. The staff are outstanding & really go out of their way to be helpful. The location is good. I would recommend highly.

Room Tip: No pool - just can't change the above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palazzo Desdemona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Desdemona

Address: 12-14 rue Youssef el Fassi, Essaouira, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#32 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Palazzo Desdemona 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelBookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Palazzo Desdemona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Desdemona Essaouira
Palazzo Desdemona Hotel Essaouira

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palazzo Desdemona, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.