We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay, on the eastern edge of the medina” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palazzo Desdemona

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Palazzo Desdemona to your Saves list
Palazzo Desdemona
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12-14 rue Youssef el Fassi, Essaouira, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 77 Hotels in Essaouira
San Francisco, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent stay, on the eastern edge of the medina”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Great spot. Excellent location and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Our room was large and open up on a plaza, which made for great people watching. Great welcome and the nicest place we have stayed so far. The price was amazing for the quality. The terrace is probably underutilized...mainly because Essourira howls wind from about noon until midnight. But all in all, a great place and well decorated to boot.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    48
    19
    9
    3
See reviews for
25
72
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hereford, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

My son had booked a nights stay at the Palazzo Desdemona online from our Riad in Marrakesh so it was a lovely surprise to find the hotel in such a great central location in this pretty seaside town. The greeting was very friendly and we were offered Moroccan tea and biscuits on arrival. The hall is spacious and adorned with lovely artwork. Our room was called 'The Rita Hayworth suite',and we were not sure what to expect from such a grand title. It was found at the top of the building after a few flights of steps (not suitable for disabled), on a wonderful rooftop terrace offering lovely view of the sea and harbour. The room itself was well suited for my son and I, offering comfortable double bed and single divan, the bathroom was clean and spacious. The real bonus was having our own roof terrace to lounge on and relax and enjoy the views! Breakfast was served in thehall/dining area , huge basket of fresh cakes and pastries, fresh orange juice..yummy!Staff was attentive and friendly and happy to help with our bags till we left laterin the day. Finally the bill was very sensible, coming at £70.00 in total.A lovely old world hotel that i would highly recommend.

Room Tip: rooftop room not for mobility reduced customers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We regret not staying longer! The hotel is beautiful and the people working there is even better! They helped us arranging tours and also taking care of the baby! (Giving us a precious break at meal time). Great location, near from everything you want to see in the city. Very clean rooms, nice decoration. Totally recommended!

Room Tip: my room was beautiful, but there is at least one room with no window to outside. don't get that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bxl
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

I stayed at the Palazzo Desdemona for three nights last week and had a wonderful time. The hotel is a beautiful riad that has been very carefully restored and modernised. Our luxury suite was a very large room with plenty of space for three adults. The staff were very welcoming and helpful and we appreciated their assistance in arranging a taxi transfer to and from Marrakech with a reliable driver. The hotel is also in an ideal location - just inside the old medina walls but not in the middle of the markets or narrower streets further into the centre. The sea and beach are very close, we could even see the sea from our room. The rook top terrace is a nice place to relax in the sun and the street-level terrace is a lovely place to enjoy breakfast or a delicious pastry from the cafe in the lounge area later in the day. I would definitely recommend this hotel for anyone looking for a combination of traditional and modern luxury

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We were staying in Marrakesh, got a bus to Essaouira for the day & decided to stay overnight as it was so much more inviting than Marrakech. Having had lunch of barbequed fish & prawns at one of the stalls on the port we strolled into the walled town to find a large hotel on our left & Palazzo Desdemona to our right. Just looking into the hotel raised our curiosity and we asked if they had a room for the night. We had a choice of 3 & they showed us around them . We opted for the middle sized room, room 1, which had french doors, shutters & a balcony overlooking the square & Medina walls. The room was old style & full of character but also spotlessly clean. The bed had a 4 poster style iron frame draped with cloth. The bathroom was an annex of the room onto a large landing & had a window that you could open when in the shower & look onto the landing! Told you it was quirky!! (see the pictures).
The staff were fantastic. As well as showing us the rooms, we were served with mint tea & pastries when we arrived & the breakfast was lovely with fresh croissants & bread.
From here we explored the Medina & found that we were actually spoilt for choice for restaurants (as opposed to finding it hard to find a decent one in Marrakesh!) & opted for one called Le Patio up a small alley that served fantastic fish dishes.
We also spent some time in the port where you can walk on the ramparts & watch trawlers being built by hand out of wood - no Health & Safety regs here!
Turned out to be the best day of of our holiday.
I didn't see any evidence of aircon or heating but I wasn't looking that hard so may have missed it??
I see one reviewer made mention of the clock bells. We slept with the french doors open but the slatted shutters closed & whilst the bells were obvious, they weren't intrusive - & saved me looking at my watch a couple of times!
The room cost us 670 Dirhams, about £53, with tax & breakfast. Bargain!
We'd definately stay again!

Room Tip: The balconies are a superb place to spend a few minutes 'people watching'!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Nice reasonably priced hotel ideally suited to explore the old town and the beach. The room was comfortable and clean, my only complaint being the plumbing with the shower in need of an upgrade. Having said that once you got the hang of it, not a problem. The staff were very friendly and attentive. I'd stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms facing Oqba Ibn Nafiaa have a view of the old city walls, some with balconies. But be aware th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed one night in the Terrasse Suite. The hotel was close to the edge of the Medina and parking was easy (next to the seafood stalls) and a 2min walk to the hotel. Greeted by mint tea and lovely small pastries. The lobby is a fantastic art cafe in itself and has a relaxed atmosphere. Lots and lots of stairs to the rooftop terrace suite but worth it for the views, the room has excellent views through its big windows too. The decor is a little tired but it adds to the charm. We read reports that there would be problems with the hot water in the shower, but it turned out to be fine, occasionally a bit cold but mostly strong and hot. The location is perfect for exploring both the beach and the Medina and we felt safe coming back to the hotel in the evening. We wanted to leave our suitcases for a couple of hours after we checked-out, but the location they suggested was not a locked room and quite near the back entrance in plain view, so we locked them in the car instead. Breakfast good too, highly recommended (especially for the sunset and sunrise views from the Terrasse Suite).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palazzo Desdemona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Desdemona

Address: 12-14 rue Youssef el Fassi, Essaouira, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#32 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Palazzo Desdemona 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelBookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Palazzo Desdemona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Desdemona Essaouira
Palazzo Desdemona Hotel Essaouira

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palazzo Desdemona, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.