We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could have been better” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Palazzo Desdemona

Save Saved
You added Palazzo Desdemona to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Palazzo Desdemona
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12-14 rue Youssef el Fassi, Essaouira, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 78 Hotels in Essaouira
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Could have been better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We were greeted with mint tea and delicious pastries. We had the room on the terrace - the Terrasse suite. The room was nice with a wonderful terrace. Unfortunately though, the room and bathroom smelled. The bathroom was not too clean too - there were hairs and I'm super eeky when it comes to hairs. It's a pity cos the room was nice and cosy and the terrace was wonderful with a perfect view. I must warn you though that you have to climb several flights of stairs to reach the room so it was quite tiring but the view is worth it. We asked for the fireplace to be lighted up the next day but were given firewood and had to light it up ourselves. The wifi signal though is wonderful, we could surf the net on our laptop and mobile devices even on the lovely terrace! We do appreciate that a lot.

There is a harmless cat hanging around the hotel so if you are very afraid of cats, you may want to think twice. The location is very good as it's near an open space and near a lot of things. We didn't eat their breakfast as we chose to eat out on the first day and on the second day, we waited and waited but since we were not served with breakfast and we were in a hurry, we left without breakfast.Not all the staff were smiley but the guys are reception were very nice and helpful. Unfortunately though, we may not come back to Palazzo Desdemona even though we love Essaouira. We may try a different riad/hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    44
    16
    9
    3
See reviews for
22
66
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chichester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Very helpful staff. We felt cold in the evening in December and they immediately put a heater in our room so it was cosy when we came back from a meal out. The cheaper rooms are inside which is quite good as far as street noise goes. The hot water was a bit erratic and slow but it did work eventually. The pillows were overstuffed and hard but that seems a bit of a Moroccan thing as we found the same elsewhere.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

The hotel is located in an idea position. Very easy to find. The owners are friendly and accommodating. The faults we found were the shower head broke as soon as we got there. Also, we were promised a balcony room but ended up in a room with windows that overlooked other rooms in the hotel, but also did not shut properly so we could hear people come in and out. The main room is very quirky and fun and it is a pleasant stay overall.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Japan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

We stayed two nights in this hotel.
Our room has a big window and small balcony. So the room was sunny,bright room.
That feel really nice.

But taking shower sodden with washroom is a bit of a pity.

Anyway I was very satisfied with your services.
Thank you so much:D

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsingborg, Sweden
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

This is a beautiful hotel with charm and character. All the rooms are different and i enjoyed walking around and look at them all.
The location is perfect! Right between the busy shopping streets in the medina, the harbor and the big square with all the cafees and restaurants. No dark alleys to get there at nights, big plus for me as a female solo traveller!
Staff is nice and breakfast is good with orangejuice, coffee, 2 kinds of bread, butter, honey and 3 kinds of jam.
And it´s clean! (unlike most of other places in essaouira..)

Hope to come back someday!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2011 via mobile

A beautiful hotel, lovingly restored. It's not your bland Ibis, it has character and a few cracks but in our view all the better. Breakfast is included and a really good start to the day.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset, UK
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2011

We arrived here from Marakesh and I have to say it was great - we had room 5 - which was very spacious with high ceilings, sofas, really comfortable bed with cotton sheets. The room was painted white - spotless, open the windows look over the square to the sea - really lovely and the bathroom had a window ! Breakfast was served downstairs and again was good and very tranquil The girl we met, who I think was the owner's wife was very welcoming and the location couldn't be better - away from the hustle of the medina a very short walk to everything - a lovely peaceful place to stay - would highly recommend it.

Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palazzo Desdemona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Desdemona

Address: 12-14 rue Youssef el Fassi, Essaouira, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#32 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Palazzo Desdemona 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, Booking.com, Priceline, HotelsClick, HostelBookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Palazzo Desdemona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Desdemona Essaouira
Palazzo Desdemona Hotel Essaouira

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palazzo Desdemona, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.