We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We relaxed at this nice inn!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Palazzo Desdemona

Save Saved
You added Palazzo Desdemona to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Palazzo Desdemona
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12-14 rue Youssef el Fassi, Essaouira, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 78 hotels in Essaouira
Japan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“We relaxed at this nice inn!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

We stayed two nights in this hotel.
Our room has a big window and small balcony. So the room was sunny,bright room.
That feel really nice.

But taking shower sodden with washroom is a bit of a pity.

Anyway I was very satisfied with your services.
Thank you so much:D

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    54
    44
    16
    9
    1
See reviews for
22
64
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsingborg, Sweden
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

This is a beautiful hotel with charm and character. All the rooms are different and i enjoyed walking around and look at them all.
The location is perfect! Right between the busy shopping streets in the medina, the harbor and the big square with all the cafees and restaurants. No dark alleys to get there at nights, big plus for me as a female solo traveller!
Staff is nice and breakfast is good with orangejuice, coffee, 2 kinds of bread, butter, honey and 3 kinds of jam.
And it´s clean! (unlike most of other places in essaouira..)

Hope to come back someday!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2011 via mobile

A beautiful hotel, lovingly restored. It's not your bland Ibis, it has character and a few cracks but in our view all the better. Breakfast is included and a really good start to the day.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset, UK
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2011

We arrived here from Marakesh and I have to say it was great - we had room 5 - which was very spacious with high ceilings, sofas, really comfortable bed with cotton sheets. The room was painted white - spotless, open the windows look over the square to the sea - really lovely and the bathroom had a window ! Breakfast was served downstairs and again was good and very tranquil The girl we met, who I think was the owner's wife was very welcoming and the location couldn't be better - away from the hustle of the medina a very short walk to everything - a lovely peaceful place to stay - would highly recommend it.

Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Gwillimbury, Canada
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
210 helpful votes 210 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2010

I stayed 3 nights here in one of the upper level "suites" with massive private terrace.

The location of the hotel is excellent, located right on the edge of the venerable and picturesque, whitewashed & blue, Essaouira medina. A 30 second walk from the main square with all its cafes, restaurants and the winding laneways of the medina beyond.

The room had lots of windows and direct access to the private terrace, with an unobstructed view of the harbourfront, clocktower and charming surrounding buildings. Other than the many birds (including a noisy rooster next door), it was very quiet.

The service was excellent-excellent from the manager to the cleaning crew to the wait-staff, it was really professional and friendly.

The restaurant on the main floor is home to a local wifi hotspot and guests get free useage 24 hours a day.

I only had breakfasts here and they were pretty good...Not exceptional but decent.

On the downside, the hotel needs a retro-fit in a pretty major way: The paint is crumbling on the exterior, and the 61 steps up to the top floor are fine for a young, strapping buck like me, but would be a major problem for those with mobility issues.

The finish and decor in the room itself was very dated and a bit worn out. Opening and closing the doors was an exercise in slamming and yanking-hard, and it wasn't just my room with this problem: I could hear other doors slamming around the hotel as well, so they must have all had the same problem. While there were lots of sheets and blankets on the bed, they too had seen better days.

The bathroom was functional, but dated and worn as well, and water temperature regulation was a nuissance at best; a burn or freeze experience at worst. The towels looked like they could have actually been used by Jimi Hendrix himself on his last visit to Essaouira, sometime in 1968.

The room's terrace was massive and clean, but there was only 1 wooden table and ancient chairs present. Given the exposure to ample sunlight, a couple of loungers would have made it a very, very nice place to spend the day.

Listen, I know it sounds like I'm bashing the place, but I really DID enjoy my stay as a solo traveller, as I'm pretty easy-going. With a bit of new paint and some investment in some new ammenities, this place could easily be something really, really special. I paid 75EU/ night incl breakfast and it was worth it for that amazing view and terrace but overall, I would only give it 3 out of 5. I WOULD stay here again however, if that means anything to you.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casablanca, Morocco
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2009

This small hotel is located inside the walls of the old city. Very friendly and helpfull staff (helped carrying luggage to the car parked far from the hotel).
Amazing rooms with very nice local design. The lobby is the "must see" place : each summer, the owner invites an artist to present its work for free. The lobby is then converted to an art gallery. This summer the artist was "Azzedine Abassi". Not only did he present his work, but he used to come to the lobby each morning at 9.00 and work there until 3.00pm (Very nice and affordable painting by the way). Almost forgot : breakfast is served in the lobby :)
And should you need to stay in touch with work or relatives, you have free access to wifi connection.
we spent 6 nights in this hotel and we'll surely go back very soon.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2009

This hotel is well situated, and the common areas are beautifully appointed. However, the welcome we received was less impressive. Despite the fact that the ground floor is a Salon de Thé, we were not offered any refreshment on arrival after our three hour trip from Marrakech. In fact, we were not even offered a seat while we filled out the tourist forms. This was in direct contrast to our experience at the riad in Marrakech, where we had just spent three days, and we were quite shocked.

Our room was equally disappointing. The hotel prides itself in having open views, yet our room overlooked a brick wall of a building being renovated eight feet away on the other side of a back alley. The shower room was particularly shabby and was in dire need of renovation, which would not cost the earth in Morocco. We were, in fact, shown three rooms, all at the back of the hotel and all of an equally poor standard.

We asked if we could upgrade to a room at the front of the hotel, but were told they only had suites left. The rate we were quoted was Dh 1700 a night, ie Dh 1000 more than we were paying. We subsequently discovered, by looking at the list of rooms and prices displayed at reception – by law all Moroccan hotels have to display current prices at reception - that the dearest suite in the hotel was Dh 1400 a night. When we pointed out to our host that one of the rooms at Dh 900 a night would be ideal for us, he maintained that they were all booked. Yet the hotel seemed very empty.

We were made to feel very unwelcome by our host, and while the situation of the hotel made up for this to some extent, the substandard room was another negative.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palazzo Desdemona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Desdemona

Address: 12-14 rue Youssef el Fassi, Essaouira, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#32 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Palazzo Desdemona 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, Booking.com, Priceline, HostelBookers, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Palazzo Desdemona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Desdemona Essaouira
Palazzo Desdemona Hotel Essaouira

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palazzo Desdemona, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.