We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Place to Spend our Anniversary” 5 of 5 stars
Review of L'Heure Bleue Palais

Save Saved
You added L'Heure Bleue Palais to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
L'Heure Bleue Palais
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2, Rue Ibn Batouta | Bab Marrakech, Essaouira 44000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 78 hotels in Essaouira
Cambridge
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Wonderful Place to Spend our Anniversary”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

The L'Heure Bleue Palais is like an oasis of calm as you step off the bustling streets of the medina. We stayed as a couple for 4 nights at the end of June / start of July 2013.

Everything from the beautiful welcome food and drinks (freshly squeezed OJ, ice cold water - much needed after our long journey, the juiciest dates known to man, and a plate of moroccan patisserie), to the unexpected upgrade to a suite, made for a perfect first wedding anniversary getaway. Incidentally, they didn't know it was our anniversary at that point so the upgrade must have been simply down to it being low season and the hotel not being fully booked.

The whole place has a colonial feel to it, luxurious without being overly slick and modern (which I loved), and the staff incredibly friendly and helpful. Mamadou should be noted in particular, and his big smile every day made us smile too. Also the guys working the rooftop terrace were ultra friendly, and the lady who organised our trip to the Val D'Argan winery (sadly didn't get her name) was very knowledgeable and efficient.

The room was just perfect too. As I mentioned, we were upgraded from a classic room to a suite so it was always going to surpass expectations, but it was a gorgeous room. Big entrance space with complimentary chilled water in the fridge and a daily delivery of dates and fresh fruit. Then a cosy window seat and sitting area in front of the fireplace (which we didn't need at end Jun / early July), and on the other side of the central fireplace a great big bed. Plenty of hanging and cupboard space for clothes. And then a gorgeous marble bathroom. I LOVED the bathroom, complete with full size toiletries which were refilled daily. There were his and hers sinks, big bath, separate walk in waterfall style shower and the toilet was behind its own closed doors for privacy.

If I were going to make suggestions for improvement (and these really are just tiny little gripes) then: 1) There weren't enough hooks to hang things like your hand towel. There were only two hooks and with bath towels, hand towels and complimentary dressing gowns, I felt there needed to be more. 2) The light switches were a nightmare! About 6 different lots of lights controlled by 6 different switches in different places in (and out of) the bathroom.... made for some comedy moments every time you went in or out!

The room was serviced twice a day bringing fresh water and changing the pillows from day to night, as well as scented candles being lit for when you return from dinner.

The pool area was very nice and the food served at the rooftop terrace was great. Yes it is windy up there, as many people have mentioned, but Essaouira is known as the windy city. Quite frankly the wind made for the perfect sunbathing conditions, as you never got too hot despite the glorious sunshine. I can imagine that in colder weather you might not want to hang out up there for long, but at this time of year it made for a very nice place to spend a couple of hours after a busy day out and about.

Everybody else has mentioned breakfasts, and for a good reason... they are great! As soon as you sit down you are brought a freshly squeezed OJ and two plates of assorted moroccan pancakes. I recommend trying them with the honey and almond oil mix. In addition you can order eggs however you want them... we tried poached and omelettes and both were cooked and presented beautifully. There is the obligatory buffet with a great selection of fresh and dried fruits, compotes, homemade yoghurts and cheese / meat. There is also an array of breads and muffins, but I personally didn't try them. The best bit is that their coffee is really good (always a welcome surprise).

So overall, just a beautiful place to stay.

My one complaint was that we chose to have our anniversary dinner at the hotel restaurant and sadly didn't have a very good experience. I will review the restaurant separately as I genuinely believe the hotel overall is very deserving of a 5* review, but we were disappointed with what should have been a special meal. We felt rather like second class citizens as the staff fussed over another couple (one of whom was celebrating her birthday), and made no mention of our anniversary. Not that you expect anything at all, but even just a "Happy Anniversary" and a smile would have been nice. (By this time they did know it was our anniversary as they asked us if we would be eating in the restaurant at all and we said yes, we'll book in for Sunday to celebrate our wedding anniversary). A shame as it was the one big let down, on an otherwise perfect stay.

We did the hammam experience at the hotel spa and this was brilliant, and very professional. My husband was a bit dubious about the paper thong but he survived!

Definitely recommend staying here if you fancy a little piece of luxury whilst visiting this beautiful city.

Room Tip: If you can afford a suite they are definitely worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    219
    45
    25
    12
    8
See reviews for
49
179
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We stayed in this impressive converted colonial building and had a great time.

It was a bit different from the other places we stayed - much more formal and French. This isn't a critisim - they offer first class service and accommodation in grand surroundings, with an air of Michelan-star about the food.

The doorman and car-park attendant were especially friendly and helpful for us, but also the room was lovely (although the view a bit odd - Essaouira rooftops are a bit like Rio's favellas), the pool nice (but a bit windy, and the wall at the far end could do with a quick lick of paint), and the restaurant very impressive, and breakfast was an enormous spread.

If you like all of lifes luxuries, this is the place for you!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London , UK
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

To repay the exquisite hospitality of my friends in Marrakech, I have invited them to spend a long weekend in Essaouira, at the hotel L’Heure Bleu.
Situated in the medina, but easy to get to, this old caravanserai has been transformed into a beautiful hotel by the owner, a Moroccan adviser of the King, known internationally for his culture, which has been able to renovate the building with great taste. Beautiful and immaculate rooms with comfortable beds.
The service was perfect and excellent the food served: The beautiful terrace with a swimming pool offers serene moments of relax, under the splendid and clear sky of Essaouira. A place to consider for the authenticity and the joie de vivre of the past.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Niguel, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We spent four nights at this property because my husband was determined to surf in Morocco. The beach was long a beautiful but it was very windy and the water cold. He was prepared with his wetsuit and was able to rent a board from a local outfit. The surfing was not great but worth it when he got to take a picture with him and the board on a camel! Success.

This hotel is locate at one of the entrances to the medina and is a lovely, colonial style property. Our room was large and very lovely - especially the bathroom. The staff was kind and somewhat knowledgeable although we had just come from a very exceptional experience at the small riad - Dar les Cigognes - in Marrakech where the service was amazing and very personal making this property seem lacking. The pool and roof top terrace was lovely as well as the inner courtyard and the delicious breakfast each day. My favorite staff member was the Sengalese doorman Mamado who was very warm and personable.

Room Tip: The third floor was lovely and reasonably quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
f_laustriat, Directeur général at L'Heure Bleue Palais, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thank you for your nice comment, Mamadou and the whole team Heure Bleue awaits you in YOUR home for a new moment of happiness!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This is a lovely hotel and the staff make it so with their attention to detail. The room was good, however it was the roof terrace that made for such a relaxing stay. If you want a pieve of luxury try this.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
f_laustriat, Directeur général at L'Heure Bleue Palais, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
I would like to sincerely thank you for sharing with us your feedback and letting us know about your recent visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meifod, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

We arrived here after a traumatic time with husband in hospital in Marrakech. Some relaxation was needed and a bit of pampering. We were upgraded to a fantastic suite and it was absolutely beautiful. Service excellent all round. Food out of this world. Dinner is not cheap here but it is beautiful and the salt baked fish is especially to be recommended. Wonderful views from the terrace too.
The facial I had in the spa was a little disappointing - I had hoped for an hour of relaxation but it only lasted 3/4 hour and much of this time was spent being steamed and having pores "dealt with" - however the spa is lovely, the beautician was very sweet and the Sens de Marrakech products are heavenly.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
f_laustriat, General Manager at L'Heure Bleue Palais, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
We are all happy that you had good stay among us. Thank you for telling me about the treatment in the Petit Spa, I will pay attention to this service. We hope to see you soon again at Heure Bleue Palais.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dakin
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

I loved this place, my partner did not. She hankered after the cool minimalism of our Marrakech Riad Dar-K. However I loved the colonial style, the staff who couldn't do enough for us and the wonderful suite that they put us in. The view from the roof was beautiful and the English Bar- just fantastic. I want to come back someday.
The staff were fantastic- the doorman was right out of a Tintin book- huge, fez wearing and very smiley. The food at breakfast was lovely and the courtyard beautiful. We had a hammam at the hotel which was great fun, very naked and very invigorating. Wonderful.

Room Tip: Book a suite, you can have a fire in your room! Wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
f_laustriat, Directeur général at L'Heure Bleue Palais, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
thank you for your nice message and your objectivity. I promise to do everything possible in order to make your partner love this beautiful home. The staff awaits you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to L'Heure Bleue Palais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Heure Bleue Palais

Address: 2, Rue Ibn Batouta | Bab Marrakech, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Essaouira
#2 Spa Hotel in Essaouira
#11 Family Hotel in Essaouira
#24 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — L'Heure Bleue Palais 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A masterpiece of the Essaouira medina...this palace of marvels lies in the heart of this town loved by artists and aventurers alike. The panoramic outdoor pool on the terrasse overlopks the medina and the ocean. the cuisine offers a subtle blend of french and Moroccan influences ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline and Otel so you can book your L'Heure Bleue Palais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l`Heure Bleue Palais And Spa
l`Heure Bleue Palais Hotel Essaouira
l Heure Bleue Palais Essaouira

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Heure Bleue Palais, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.