We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely but a bit stuffy” 3 of 5 stars
Review of L'Heure Bleue Palais

Save Saved
You added L'Heure Bleue Palais to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
L'Heure Bleue Palais
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2, Rue Ibn Batouta | Bab Marrakech, Essaouira 44000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 78 hotels in Essaouira
Laguna Niguel, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Lovely but a bit stuffy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We spent four nights at this property because my husband was determined to surf in Morocco. The beach was long a beautiful but it was very windy and the water cold. He was prepared with his wetsuit and was able to rent a board from a local outfit. The surfing was not great but worth it when he got to take a picture with him and the board on a camel! Success.

This hotel is locate at one of the entrances to the medina and is a lovely, colonial style property. Our room was large and very lovely - especially the bathroom. The staff was kind and somewhat knowledgeable although we had just come from a very exceptional experience at the small riad - Dar les Cigognes - in Marrakech where the service was amazing and very personal making this property seem lacking. The pool and roof top terrace was lovely as well as the inner courtyard and the delicious breakfast each day. My favorite staff member was the Sengalese doorman Mamado who was very warm and personable.

Room Tip: The third floor was lovely and reasonably quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
f_laustriat, Directeur général at L'Heure Bleue Palais, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thank you for your nice comment, Mamadou and the whole team Heure Bleue awaits you in YOUR home for a new moment of happiness!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    219
    45
    25
    12
    8
See reviews for
49
179
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This is a lovely hotel and the staff make it so with their attention to detail. The room was good, however it was the roof terrace that made for such a relaxing stay. If you want a pieve of luxury try this.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
f_laustriat, Directeur général at L'Heure Bleue Palais, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
I would like to sincerely thank you for sharing with us your feedback and letting us know about your recent visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meifod, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

We arrived here after a traumatic time with husband in hospital in Marrakech. Some relaxation was needed and a bit of pampering. We were upgraded to a fantastic suite and it was absolutely beautiful. Service excellent all round. Food out of this world. Dinner is not cheap here but it is beautiful and the salt baked fish is especially to be recommended. Wonderful views from the terrace too.
The facial I had in the spa was a little disappointing - I had hoped for an hour of relaxation but it only lasted 3/4 hour and much of this time was spent being steamed and having pores "dealt with" - however the spa is lovely, the beautician was very sweet and the Sens de Marrakech products are heavenly.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
f_laustriat, General Manager at L'Heure Bleue Palais, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
We are all happy that you had good stay among us. Thank you for telling me about the treatment in the Petit Spa, I will pay attention to this service. We hope to see you soon again at Heure Bleue Palais.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dakin
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

I loved this place, my partner did not. She hankered after the cool minimalism of our Marrakech Riad Dar-K. However I loved the colonial style, the staff who couldn't do enough for us and the wonderful suite that they put us in. The view from the roof was beautiful and the English Bar- just fantastic. I want to come back someday.
The staff were fantastic- the doorman was right out of a Tintin book- huge, fez wearing and very smiley. The food at breakfast was lovely and the courtyard beautiful. We had a hammam at the hotel which was great fun, very naked and very invigorating. Wonderful.

Room Tip: Book a suite, you can have a fire in your room! Wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
f_laustriat, Directeur général at L'Heure Bleue Palais, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
thank you for your nice message and your objectivity. I promise to do everything possible in order to make your partner love this beautiful home. The staff awaits you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I can't recommend this highly enough. We had a lovely warm welcome with dates and tea followed by a guided tour of the hotel services. The rooftop pool was delightful with views over the town and sea and the complimentary fresh fruit kebabs were a generous refreshment. Breakfast was delicious, we loved the freshly made moroccan specialities. Our only comment would be that the food in the hotel is very expensive compared to some very nice restaurants in the medina, we spent a lot on dinner on our last night and had tagines which were not as good as we'd had elsewhere and were more than twice the price. The decor, staff and location are all excellent, we hope to return someday.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
f_laustriat, Directeur général at L'Heure Bleue Palais, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
All team of Heure Bleue joins me in thanking you for your very kind words about our beautiful home. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon to share good times!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
91 hotel reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Just inside the Medina in Essaouira is this pleasant Riad. Very comfortable and with good facilities, although they could have dispensed with cathode ray tube televisions.

Only a short walk to the usual jumble of shops and stalls in the Souk.

Just one word of warning, and this relates to the fish restaurants by the water. They are not as cheap or as good as they either could or should be. They cost of a meal of fish and sea food sitting on "rustic" wooden tables with similarly ordinary seating was nearly on a par with a first class restaurant in Fes. One is better off eating at a less fashionable place in town.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
f_laustriat, Directeur général at L'Heure Bleue Palais, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Thank you very much for your comment. It is very helpful. You are right, my dear sir, our TVs are a bit "tired" and we are planning to change them soon. I am pleased to see that the rest of our services satisfied you, please be informed that the entire team looks forward to seeing you again one day soon at Heure Bleue Palais
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

A group of 4 of us stayed at L'Heure Bleue Palais in February 2012.

What an absolutely fabulous hotel.

- We were upgraded to beautiful suites on arrival
- The staff treated us like VIPs and were super helpful when the airline had lost my boyfriend's suitcase and arranged to collect it for us from Marrakech which was a 5 hour round trip for the driver. This was particularly important as the airline staff couldn't speak much English and we had to trust the driver with my boyfriend's passport
- the breakfasts were amazing
- we loved the roof top terrace and pool area with lovely lunches and little snacks brought out when we had drinks

The spa was quite expensive but that is the only tiny complaint I have.
I cannot recommend the hotel enough, it is gorgeous and we cannot wait to return.

Room Tip: If you can have a suite then get one - they are lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
f_laustriat, Directeur général at L'Heure Bleue Palais, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding our facilities and service. It is a great pleasure to share your comments with our team. I look forward welcoming you once more to the Heure Bleue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to L'Heure Bleue Palais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Heure Bleue Palais

Address: 2, Rue Ibn Batouta | Bab Marrakech, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Essaouira
#2 Spa Hotel in Essaouira
#11 Family Hotel in Essaouira
#24 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — L'Heure Bleue Palais 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A masterpiece of the Essaouira medina...this palace of marvels lies in the heart of this town loved by artists and aventurers alike. The panoramic outdoor pool on the terrasse overlopks the medina and the ocean. the cuisine offers a subtle blend of french and Moroccan influences ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tingo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your L'Heure Bleue Palais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l`Heure Bleue Palais And Spa
l`Heure Bleue Palais Hotel Essaouira
l Heure Bleue Palais Essaouira

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Heure Bleue Palais, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.