We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relax in luxury” 5 of 5 stars
Review of L'Heure Bleue Palais

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added L'Heure Bleue Palais to your Saves list
L'Heure Bleue Palais
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2, Rue Ibn Batouta | Bab Marrakech, Essaouira 44000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 77 Hotels in Essaouira
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Relax in luxury”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This is a lovely hotel and the staff make it so with their attention to detail. The room was good, however it was the roof terrace that made for such a relaxing stay. If you want a pieve of luxury try this.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
f_laustriat, Directeur général at L'Heure Bleue Palais, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
I would like to sincerely thank you for sharing with us your feedback and letting us know about your recent visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    54
    31
    13
    8
See reviews for
60
204
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Meifod, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

We arrived here after a traumatic time with husband in hospital in Marrakech. Some relaxation was needed and a bit of pampering. We were upgraded to a fantastic suite and it was absolutely beautiful. Service excellent all round. Food out of this world. Dinner is not cheap here but it is beautiful and the salt baked fish is especially to be recommended. Wonderful views from the terrace too.
The facial I had in the spa was a little disappointing - I had hoped for an hour of relaxation but it only lasted 3/4 hour and much of this time was spent being steamed and having pores "dealt with" - however the spa is lovely, the beautician was very sweet and the Sens de Marrakech products are heavenly.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
f_laustriat, General Manager at L'Heure Bleue Palais, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
We are all happy that you had good stay among us. Thank you for telling me about the treatment in the Petit Spa, I will pay attention to this service. We hope to see you soon again at Heure Bleue Palais.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dakin
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

I loved this place, my partner did not. She hankered after the cool minimalism of our Marrakech Riad Dar-K. However I loved the colonial style, the staff who couldn't do enough for us and the wonderful suite that they put us in. The view from the roof was beautiful and the English Bar- just fantastic. I want to come back someday.
The staff were fantastic- the doorman was right out of a Tintin book- huge, fez wearing and very smiley. The food at breakfast was lovely and the courtyard beautiful. We had a hammam at the hotel which was great fun, very naked and very invigorating. Wonderful.

Room Tip: Book a suite, you can have a fire in your room! Wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
f_laustriat, Directeur général at L'Heure Bleue Palais, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
thank you for your nice message and your objectivity. I promise to do everything possible in order to make your partner love this beautiful home. The staff awaits you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I can't recommend this highly enough. We had a lovely warm welcome with dates and tea followed by a guided tour of the hotel services. The rooftop pool was delightful with views over the town and sea and the complimentary fresh fruit kebabs were a generous refreshment. Breakfast was delicious, we loved the freshly made moroccan specialities. Our only comment would be that the food in the hotel is very expensive compared to some very nice restaurants in the medina, we spent a lot on dinner on our last night and had tagines which were not as good as we'd had elsewhere and were more than twice the price. The decor, staff and location are all excellent, we hope to return someday.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
f_laustriat, Directeur général at L'Heure Bleue Palais, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
All team of Heure Bleue joins me in thanking you for your very kind words about our beautiful home. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon to share good times!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
90 hotel reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Just inside the Medina in Essaouira is this pleasant Riad. Very comfortable and with good facilities, although they could have dispensed with cathode ray tube televisions.

Only a short walk to the usual jumble of shops and stalls in the Souk.

Just one word of warning, and this relates to the fish restaurants by the water. They are not as cheap or as good as they either could or should be. They cost of a meal of fish and sea food sitting on "rustic" wooden tables with similarly ordinary seating was nearly on a par with a first class restaurant in Fes. One is better off eating at a less fashionable place in town.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
f_laustriat, Directeur général at L'Heure Bleue Palais, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Thank you very much for your comment. It is very helpful. You are right, my dear sir, our TVs are a bit "tired" and we are planning to change them soon. I am pleased to see that the rest of our services satisfied you, please be informed that the entire team looks forward to seeing you again one day soon at Heure Bleue Palais
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

A group of 4 of us stayed at L'Heure Bleue Palais in February 2012.

What an absolutely fabulous hotel.

- We were upgraded to beautiful suites on arrival
- The staff treated us like VIPs and were super helpful when the airline had lost my boyfriend's suitcase and arranged to collect it for us from Marrakech which was a 5 hour round trip for the driver. This was particularly important as the airline staff couldn't speak much English and we had to trust the driver with my boyfriend's passport
- the breakfasts were amazing
- we loved the roof top terrace and pool area with lovely lunches and little snacks brought out when we had drinks

The spa was quite expensive but that is the only tiny complaint I have.
I cannot recommend the hotel enough, it is gorgeous and we cannot wait to return.

Room Tip: If you can have a suite then get one - they are lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
f_laustriat, Directeur général at L'Heure Bleue Palais, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding our facilities and service. It is a great pleasure to share your comments with our team. I look forward welcoming you once more to the Heure Bleue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

The purpose was to enjoy 7 days of relaxation in an interesting place. We had not been to Morocco before. From our perspective, this hotel proved to be ideal. The building is interesting (so glad we did not opt for a typical European hotel), without exception, all the staff were professional, helpful and friendly from the moment of arrival until our departure. By using the hotel's special 7 nights offer, we were able to combine cultural insights, exploratory trips and distinctive activities (incl camel riding, quad biking and a cookery workshop) all tailored to our specific requests on timing etc for which Naima merits special thanks. Essouira is small (and it is as it says a "windy city" but there is plenty to seek out if you wish.

Room Tip: We had a "senior suite" plenty of space and airy
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
f_laustriat, General Manager at L'Heure Bleue Palais, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
I would like to thank you most sincerely for taking the time to write to us. It is always a great pleasure to receive such compliments,
Naima and I thank you for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit to Essaouira will be at Heure Bleue Palais

We all look forward to be of at your service once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to L'Heure Bleue Palais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Heure Bleue Palais

Address: 2, Rue Ibn Batouta | Bab Marrakech, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Essaouira
#2 Luxury Hotel in Essaouira
#11 Family Hotel in Essaouira
#24 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — L'Heure Bleue Palais 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A masterpiece of the Essaouira medina...this palace of marvels lies in the heart of this town loved by artists and aventurers alike. The panoramic outdoor pool on the terrasse overlopks the medina and the ocean. the cuisine offers a subtle blend of french and Moroccan influences ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Prestigia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your L'Heure Bleue Palais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l`Heure Bleue Palais Hotel Essaouira
l`Heure Bleue Palais And Spa
l Heure Bleue Palais Essaouira

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Heure Bleue Palais, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.