We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A palace... and you're the royalty!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of L'Heure Bleue Palais

Save Saved
You added L'Heure Bleue Palais to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
L'Heure Bleue Palais
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2, Rue Ibn Batouta | Bab Marrakech, Essaouira 44000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 78 hotels in Essaouira
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A palace... and you're the royalty!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I can't recommend this highly enough. We had a lovely warm welcome with dates and tea followed by a guided tour of the hotel services. The rooftop pool was delightful with views over the town and sea and the complimentary fresh fruit kebabs were a generous refreshment. Breakfast was delicious, we loved the freshly made moroccan specialities. Our only comment would be that the food in the hotel is very expensive compared to some very nice restaurants in the medina, we spent a lot on dinner on our last night and had tagines which were not as good as we'd had elsewhere and were more than twice the price. The decor, staff and location are all excellent, we hope to return someday.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
f_laustriat, Directeur général at L'Heure Bleue Palais, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
All team of Heure Bleue joins me in thanking you for your very kind words about our beautiful home. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon to share good times!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    219
    45
    25
    12
    8
See reviews for
49
179
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
91 hotel reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Just inside the Medina in Essaouira is this pleasant Riad. Very comfortable and with good facilities, although they could have dispensed with cathode ray tube televisions.

Only a short walk to the usual jumble of shops and stalls in the Souk.

Just one word of warning, and this relates to the fish restaurants by the water. They are not as cheap or as good as they either could or should be. They cost of a meal of fish and sea food sitting on "rustic" wooden tables with similarly ordinary seating was nearly on a par with a first class restaurant in Fes. One is better off eating at a less fashionable place in town.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
f_laustriat, Directeur général at L'Heure Bleue Palais, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Thank you very much for your comment. It is very helpful. You are right, my dear sir, our TVs are a bit "tired" and we are planning to change them soon. I am pleased to see that the rest of our services satisfied you, please be informed that the entire team looks forward to seeing you again one day soon at Heure Bleue Palais
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

A group of 4 of us stayed at L'Heure Bleue Palais in February 2012.

What an absolutely fabulous hotel.

- We were upgraded to beautiful suites on arrival
- The staff treated us like VIPs and were super helpful when the airline had lost my boyfriend's suitcase and arranged to collect it for us from Marrakech which was a 5 hour round trip for the driver. This was particularly important as the airline staff couldn't speak much English and we had to trust the driver with my boyfriend's passport
- the breakfasts were amazing
- we loved the roof top terrace and pool area with lovely lunches and little snacks brought out when we had drinks

The spa was quite expensive but that is the only tiny complaint I have.
I cannot recommend the hotel enough, it is gorgeous and we cannot wait to return.

Room Tip: If you can have a suite then get one - they are lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
f_laustriat, Directeur général at L'Heure Bleue Palais, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding our facilities and service. It is a great pleasure to share your comments with our team. I look forward welcoming you once more to the Heure Bleue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gloucestershire
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

The purpose was to enjoy 7 days of relaxation in an interesting place. We had not been to Morocco before. From our perspective, this hotel proved to be ideal. The building is interesting (so glad we did not opt for a typical European hotel), without exception, all the staff were professional, helpful and friendly from the moment of arrival until our departure. By using the hotel's special 7 nights offer, we were able to combine cultural insights, exploratory trips and distinctive activities (incl camel riding, quad biking and a cookery workshop) all tailored to our specific requests on timing etc for which Naima merits special thanks. Essouira is small (and it is as it says a "windy city" but there is plenty to seek out if you wish.

Room Tip: We had a "senior suite" plenty of space and airy
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
f_laustriat, General Manager at L'Heure Bleue Palais, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
I would like to thank you most sincerely for taking the time to write to us. It is always a great pleasure to receive such compliments,
Naima and I thank you for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit to Essaouira will be at Heure Bleue Palais

We all look forward to be of at your service once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

I have been severals time now and l'heure bleue is one of the best hotels i have been too, The service is excellent and the rooms are very well appointed. Essaouira is off the beaten track for UK visiters as there are no direct flights, but it is worth the 2-3 hour drive from Marrakech. During the summer it is warm, but the wind keeps the temperatures to a good level. Nearby there is also a world class golf course designed by Gary Player! Top hotel and top service, what more can you ask for!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
f_laustriat, General Manager at L'Heure Bleue Palais, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
I really appreciate your kind comments,
Thank you for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.
Cordially
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rehoboth Beach
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We had a suite and our friend had a connecting room -- just so convenient that way to go back and forth. The suite had a fireplace and since it was a cold windy nite in April, we asked the staff to make us a fire. They did, and left wood so we could keep it going. It was so wonderful to lie in bed and look at the fire -- the fireplace was in the middle of the room and could be viewed from either the sitting area or the bedroom. Just toasty. The bathroom was large with a decent shower separate from the tub. Two sinks. Nice robes and amenities plus large thick towels.
We got room service for dinner and they were quick to deliver and take away when we were done. The weather was too chilly and windy to consider even going to pool on the roof, but it did look very nice from the quick glance we gave it. This hotel is easy to find and a great location for walking in the medina.

Room Tip: We were on top floor and recommend the suite with fireplace there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
f_laustriat, General Manager at L'Heure Bleue Palais, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding our facilities and service. It is a great pleasure to share your comments with our team. I really look forward to see you once more at the Heure Bleue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wells, Somerset
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

This is an absolutely wonderful hotel. In the Moroccan tradition, beautifully decorated and furnished with wonderful, caring staff. The suites are spacious and comfortable with very good lighting and stylish decor. There are fireplaces in every room should the wind cause the temperatures to drop too much. The restaurant offers some of the best food we have ever eaten. Very well positioned on the edge of the souk offering easy access to the seafront and the souk area. Have stayed in some beautiful riads over the years but this is just the best and we will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
f_laustriat, General Manager at L'Heure Bleue Palais, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
I would like to sincerely thank you for sharing with us your feedback and letting us know about your recent visit.
Your positive feedback has been shared with the team, which will encourage them to continue their effort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to L'Heure Bleue Palais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Heure Bleue Palais

Address: 2, Rue Ibn Batouta | Bab Marrakech, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Essaouira
#2 Spa Hotel in Essaouira
#11 Family Hotel in Essaouira
#24 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — L'Heure Bleue Palais 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A masterpiece of the Essaouira medina...this palace of marvels lies in the heart of this town loved by artists and aventurers alike. The panoramic outdoor pool on the terrasse overlopks the medina and the ocean. the cuisine offers a subtle blend of french and Moroccan influences ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tingo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your L'Heure Bleue Palais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l`Heure Bleue Palais And Spa
l`Heure Bleue Palais Hotel Essaouira
l Heure Bleue Palais Essaouira

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Heure Bleue Palais, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.