We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in the Medina with a good atmosphere of the past..” 5 of 5 stars
Review of L'Heure Bleue Palais

Save Saved
You added L'Heure Bleue Palais to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
L'Heure Bleue Palais
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2, Rue Ibn Batouta | Bab Marrakech, Essaouira 44000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 78 Hotels in Essaouira
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in the Medina with a good atmosphere of the past..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Nice hotel in the Medina with a good atmosphere of the past..I was told that it was an old caravanserai. Nice room spotless, impeccable service and good food: In a word a very good stay despite of the chilly and windy weather.
Not cheap, but it worth the money

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    49
    27
    13
    8
See reviews for
55
190
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

We spent 3 nights at the hotel recently. After a drive from Marrakech we were warmly greeted by the manager and relaxed with hot towels and snacks. After a short hotel tour we were shown our room. I was travelling with my father and the room was just what we required. Individually decorated and well appointed, the room was comfortable and spacious. The towels were particularly memorable.(A small point). All the staff we met were welcoming and the food was full of flavour. The chef even came to greet us one evening! A final point, the views from the roof top terrace are wonderful. A great place to stay to explore and relax at the end of the day.

Stayed January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
f_laustriat, General Manager at L'Heure Bleue Palais, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thank you for your lovely comment, the whole team Heure Bleue awaits you in YOUR home for a new moment of happiness!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We stayed for a week this year after a three day stay last year which just made want to stay longer. From the moment that we were greeted by Khalid as we arrived when we arrived we felt as if we were somewhere special. François and all the team make what they offer seem effortless. Charming and friendly and with an attention to detail. If we expressed our appreciation to the lovely staff they might very well say, "This is your house". And it really does feel like that when you are there. Everyone was so helpful and kind it difficult to single anyone out that it really was delightful to go off on to the beautiful roof terrace to be greeted by a smiling Hicham who would lay out cushions and towels. The next thing that might happen would be that he might come round with little breadfruit coverups. Then you could order a lovely lunch. Breakfast is gorgeous, the room are lovely but really if staff that make this hotel so wonderful. We arelooking forward to returning next year. The only trouble is that I week doesn't seem long enough. It's very hard to leave.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

I don't know what to say as speechless does not cover it. As soon as we arrived at the Riad my first word was WOW and wow it is. Within minutes of arriving the GM - Francois was personally greeting us. I have never sat and watched such a pro active General Manager he was brilliant and so were his team of staff - they really are a team! You may have read my hubbies write up already as I arrived in plaster and on crutches as the night before I broke my ankle in Marrakesh and our local guide had rung them and they were waiting to greet us with a wheelchair. Two of them picked me up and carried me up the stairs at the entrance like they were training for The World's Strongest Man and they helped us constantly for the 4 days we were there. Nothing seemed to be too much trouble. Lifts or doors opened as you approached. Cushions fluffed before you sat. Not a speck of dust anywhere - spotless! Breakfast was totally super every day with one of the biggest buffets I have ever seen with a good range of food and even locally sourced fresh salmon which complimented my scrambled eggs perfectly! Everywhere you turned there was something else to photograph. The roof terrace was amazing to and the food up there along with the service was great. We had 2 meals in the main restaurant which I think were expensive (£70+) for each meal for both of us with wine but what we had was darn good food. They started setting up the lights ready for the New Year's Eve bash which was when we left to come home and boy oh boy do I wish we could have stayed despite my wish to come home since my accident. I will be going back to do Essaouria on 2 feet as I missed so much. I will remember L'heure Bleue for 2 reasons and in this order - Francois and his staff 1st and the sheer beauty of the Riad 2nd. Those famous words - I'll be back! BIG thanks to Mamadou and Librasse, but every single member of staff was brilliant, a credit to Francois.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
f_laustriat, General Manager at L'Heure Bleue Palais, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you 1000 times for your enthusiast message. My entire team has done its utmost to help you forget your accident and we are pleased to have brought happiness despite your passenger handicap!
We hope to see you soon and in perfect health!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

A huge thank you to Francois and his excellent team for a fantastic stay. My wife and I were booked in for four nights. My wife had broken her ankle in Marrakesh the day before we arrived and the room we were to be in only had a bath, seeing that this would be impossible to navigate whilst in plaster we were very graciously given a suite with a walk in shower. The room was fantastic, complete with a fire place which on one evening was very useful, a man with a stack of logs popped up within minutes of asking and a roaring fire was on the go. The room was very quiet for three days then the room above was occupied and the noise from above travelled through the ceiling. The public areas of the Riad are fantastic, with superb internal views from every angle. The roof terrace and pool are a great bonus although the pool was a little too cool for my liking, but hey it was December. Breakfast was really very good, with more than enough variety to satisfy even the choosiest of people. The food on the roof terrace was superb as was the bar menu. Dining in the main restaurant was a bit pricey but nice, not quite Claridges but nice all the same. The big draw to the Riad though are the staff, they really are keen to impress and impress they do, even supplying us with a wheelchair so that my wife could get around. Special thanks to (sorry if they are misspelled ) Mamadou and Librasse , but all the staff were brilliant. We will be returning so my wife can see Essaouira on foot and I can get a break from pushing a wheelchair, once again thank you very much.

Room Tip: room 29 was great, turn up with a broken ankle to get an upgrade ;o) just kidding
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
f_laustriat, General Manager at L'Heure Bleue Palais, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
We are glad that you are home safe, Thank you for your nice comments and feedback, our team is happy to know that you had a nice stay at Heure Bleue Palais.
We wish a quick reestablishment to your wife and hope to having you soon among us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We loved our 2 night stay here, and would love to return for a longer stay next time.
Staff were really helpful, interiors were well-designed, and we liked the attention to detail and service in the rooms.
We enjoyed relaxing on the roof terrace and watching the sunsets from here.
The breakfasts we had were amazing! We've had to do a lot of surfing since to burn those off!
We stayed here on a Mr and Mrs Smith deal, so for us, the hotel was excellent value as well.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
f_laustriat, General Manager at L'Heure Bleue Palais, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding our facilities and service. It is a great pleasure to share your comments with our team. I look forward welcoming you once more to the Heure Bleue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

First -- what happened to the rule that motor bikes were not allowed in the old town??? We have visited Essaouira several times over the years and we really appreciated the pedestrian-only medina, so different from the motor-bike crazy alleys of Marrakech. This time there were bikes everywhere, beeping at pedestrians to get out of the way, blowing nasty fumes at customers in the cafes of the main square, and creating a noisy ruckus tearing up and down the medina at night. Everybody we spoke to is fed up with the bikes. One restaurant (Il Mare) had five of them revving outside its entrance and a whole tour group took one look and decided to eat somewhere else. Our waiter at a cafe in the main square cursed every time a bike went by and told us it gets worse every week. A carpet shop owner was in despair about it. What on earth are the authorities in Essaouira thinking???

Anyway, the hotel. On past visits we usually stayed at the old Sofitel, but as this is no longer a Sofitel we decided to try Heure Bleue, and we are glad we did. The hotel has a calm atmosphere of discreet quality -- for example, there is no big sign outside the hotel proclaiming its name or even that it's a hotel. Inside, the public areas feel more like a rather old fashioned club, especially the spacious, wood panelled lounge and bar area. Even the reception desk isn't what you might expect, instead there is wooden screen and staff pop out from behind it to attend your needs. And very attentive they are too. The service was excellent and the staff very responsive to any question or request.

The hotel is situated just inside the walls of the medina, a short walk from the main square, the beach, and the port. It is organized in the traditional Moroccan style, around an open courtyard. The rooms are a bit compact, but are comfortable and very well equipped with quality bathrooms and fixtures. There is a lovely planted roof terrace with excellent views over the town and the sea. The breakfasts were quite sumptuous. We did not eat in the hotel for other meals, as Essaouira has so many interesting restaurants now. All in all this was a very calm and comfortable stay at one of the very few first class hotels in Essaouira. Compared with other hotels it is definitely rather pricey though.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
f_laustriat, General Manager at L'Heure Bleue Palais, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Thank you for your review About the atmosphere of our house and service. It is true that the circulation in the medina becomes a problem and I will forward your comments to city authorities
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to L'Heure Bleue Palais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Heure Bleue Palais

Address: 2, Rue Ibn Batouta | Bab Marrakech, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Essaouira
#2 Spa Hotel in Essaouira
#11 Family Hotel in Essaouira
#24 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — L'Heure Bleue Palais 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A masterpiece of the Essaouira medina...this palace of marvels lies in the heart of this town loved by artists and aventurers alike. The panoramic outdoor pool on the terrasse overlopks the medina and the ocean. the cuisine offers a subtle blend of french and Moroccan influences ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your L'Heure Bleue Palais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l`Heure Bleue Palais Hotel Essaouira
l`Heure Bleue Palais And Spa
l Heure Bleue Palais Essaouira

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Heure Bleue Palais, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.