We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury in The Medina” 4 of 5 stars
Review of L'Heure Bleue Palais

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added L'Heure Bleue Palais to your Saves list
L'Heure Bleue Palais
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2, Rue Ibn Batouta | Bab Marrakech, Essaouira 44000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 77 Hotels in Essaouira
Cumbria
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Luxury in The Medina”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Luxurious Hotel on the edge of the Medina. Very Expensive but beautiful place to stay. Reception staff welcoming and provided an excellent service. Rooftop terrace wonderful views and great location for breakfast. Service slow at breakfast and not the same high standard as other 5 star hotels I have stayed in. Crepes always arrived cold which was disappointing. I missed having a kettle in the room so that I could make tea or coffee when I wanted rather than having to wait for room service. I would stay again and recommend to family and friends.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
f_laustriat, General Manager at L'Heure Bleue Palais, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
we thank you for your feedback. We appreciate your comment which may help us make improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    54
    31
    13
    8
See reviews for
60
204
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
oakbank house hotel
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We stayed here for five nights and for the most part I would say the hotel is great.
The roof top pool and sun deck is probably as good as anything you could wish to find. The room was spacious and well maintained throughout our stay and breakfast served on the roof top is a joy. The staff were very friendly and helpful and created an atmosphere of peace and calm throughout.
The general cleanliness leaves a lot to be desired for a 5 Star Hotel. The floors although swept daily need washing. I used a wet flannel to rub three or four areas of tiling and the dirt lifted with no effort at all. It is a shame because the hotel could be spectacular.
Our biggest disappointment was the complete lack of menu translation available in the restaurant. Now at £40/50 per head I want to know what I am getting and if the hotel cannot see fit to print their menus in English then I, like several other couples I spoke to in the hotel, just go out to one of the many restaurants in town. Given we were there for five nights I would safely say the hotel lost at least £250 income from us alone and judging by the vacant dining tables every night that figure could be multiplied several times over.
I would also expect a better TV choice in the room in a 5 Star hotel. Half a dozen French channels and one English news channel is really poor. Satellite TV is expected.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
f_laustriat, General Manager at L'Heure Bleue Palais, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Thank you for your message and your comments, our team is happy to know that you had a nice stay at Heure Bleue Palais.
Our room maids and maintenance staff are doing their utmost to ensure that cleanliness is is irreproachable but I will ensure that their cleaning utensils are also impeccable. I regret that you have had this feeling of abandonment of the English language as we translated the restaurant menu, the breakfast and the restaurant's terrace. It is true that the room service menu is not yet translated but we will do so immediately. For television, you're also right, we are working on a complete renovation of our park broadcasting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

After 6 nights in hectic Marrakech we were delighted to enter the tranquility of L'Heure Bleue Plais. Our suites were divine and had their own fireplace, which we took advantage of in the evening as the weather cooled. We ate in the hotel restaurant 2 nights out of 3 and the food was some of the best we experienced in Morocco. The service was very attentive, and the atmosphere of the restaurant very relaxing in the plush surroundings. We were disappointed that the wind kept out time sunbathing in the luxurious rooftop for much of our stay, although we were blessed with one full day laying in the sun and being spoiled by the fabulous staff. I had a massage at the Spa and left half way through as the girl had no idea what she was doing and I ended up feeling much worse when I left. This was really disappointing as it was something I'd been looking forward to all day. That aside, we would thoroughly recommend this luxurious property and have to say being there made our stay in Essaouira.

Room Tip: We had a suite on 3rd floor. There were no views to speak of and no balconies, but the rooms were b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
f_laustriat, General Manager at L'Heure Bleue Palais, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Your message compliments affects us a lot, I am also disappointed that the spa treatment has not responded to your expectations because our staff are regularly trained with a great brand of Marrakech to innovate and improve overall care. I will personally ensure that improvements be made in the service if it is needed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks, UK
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We chose this hotel through a travel agent and stayed here for 4 nights. The hotel staff were courteous and helpful and the Riad/French colonial style is wonderful, making it seem a true oasis of calm in the bustle of the medina. However standards did not meet our expectations for a 5 star hotel. The hotel has fresh air ventilation rather than air-conditioning, contrary to our understanding and that of many other reviewers. We stayed in room 24 where the airflow was woefully inadequate meaning a lost night's sleep as it was so stuffy and when we raised this with the hotel staff in the morning they said it was working properly. After assuring them it was not they said it would be fixed by the time we returned later that day; it was not and we had to again raise it with reception. We were then moved to room where it was working more efficiently. I notice that there is a management response to an earlier comment saying that air-conditioning is not necessary here because the climate does not justify it. This seems a very complacent attitude for a luxury hotel, and in our experience a totally inaccurate view.
There were a number of details about the room which also did not meet expectations for a hotel at this level. There was a shower head in the bath but no hook to hang it and no proper shower cubicle or similar. The entrance to the bath was through a narrow opening in room 24 with no grab handles and was precarious to say the least. The opening to room 18 was better but you could not reach the bath plug from outside the bath! There was damp on the walls around the bath. There was no hair dryer available so had to request this. It was claimed there was Wifi in all rooms, but is only in reception.
There were shortfalls in other areas too. There was inconsistent service at breakfast, either not getting orders or receiving orders not asked for. The hotel restaurant was very stuffy and had a strange smell lurking and at 170 Dirhams (£13) for a bowl of Gazpacho very expensive. This was the only restaurant on site. The location is good as right in the Medina and there are some other excellent restaurants outside the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
f_laustriat, General Manager at L'Heure Bleue Palais, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
First of all, we should thank you for choosing our property, and for sharing your comments with us.

Actually, we only have fresh air ventilation in the hotel and it is true that we do not need air conditioning in Essaouira and especially in a riad because it is never hot in Essaouira (the wind city).

Essaouira is surrounded by the sea from three sides, thing that explain damp on the wall, smell in the restaurant, we admit it but we also should inform you that we do weekly deep cleanings and we repairs all damage caused by the moisture.

The shower hook could not be installed because we cannot break the marble and the bath plug is just behind the door.

We have wi-fi in all hotel area and our breakfast is very consistent, we even receive a lot of good comments about our breakfast which is included in the room fare.

Please be informed that our vegetables and fruits are grown in our own organic garden. Our chickens and roosters are feed by figs and corn which justify our rates.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

This is easily the best hotel experience we have had in a lifetime of travel. The hotel is extraordinary, a true oasis and a perfect retreat in the wonderful seaside city of Essouira. The facilities are first class, as is the service. From the welmonjng tea, through breakfast and dinner, we were treated to the ver best Morocco has to offer. Our suite was beautiful, but the great pleasure of this wonderful hotel is its beautful garden whether seen from the veranda or when dining under the lush foliage replete with a happy chorus of resident birds. One got accustomed to joining us at our table for tea! An absolute delight, not to be missed when travellin in Morocco!

Room Tip: Go for the suites on the 2nd and 3rd floors!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
f_laustriat, Directeur général at L'Heure Bleue Palais, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thank you for this enthusiastic comment, i’m going to share it with the entire team of Heure bleue .we will be pleased to see you again in Essaouira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

We were really looking forward to staying here, it looked lovely. The public areas and sun terrace are inarguably stunning. Its location is fine but the restaurant is very expensive. We didn't eat there but had room service and a chicken club sandwich, nothing out if the ordinary, was £20! Our first room was internal and on the first night the air conditioning was broken which led to a very hot and uncomgortable night. we informed them at breakfast and a fan was provided which just wasn't on given the price if this place. During the course of the day we asked for it to be fixed three times and when we came back at 5pm the ceiling in the bathroom was down and there were workmen in our room. We complained and were told it couldn't be fixed. We pushed this isdue in a polite but firm manner and eventually we got a snarled response that we could move to a suite for one night only. We did so but we told them we wouldn't be moving given we were only there for 1 night. The room was not worthy of being a suite and there was nowhere to eat the room service but in bed! The fridge in the room was also broken and the shower was over the bath which was very high and difficult and dangerous to climb in and out of! Breakfast was included and was plentiful but service was very erratic and rude, the staff apart from the doorman were the most unhelpful and arrogant that i have ever come across. The hotel also definitely catered to the French clientele which you may not find surprising but this was not a problem we found in Marrakech. All in all was very disappointing and I do not think it really belongs in the chateau relais group. I certainly wouldn't return and would look for a smaller and friendlier hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
f_laustriat, Directeur général at L'Heure Bleue Palais, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
All of us are surprised and very sorry that you didn’t enjoy your experience at the Heure Bleue Palais.
This is true, we have a system of fresh air and not air conditioning and it can happen that it is not cool enough for people who like air conditioning…but we are never hot in Essaouira because of the breath from the ocean and we try to avoid pollution with this system.
Otherwise, the kindness and helpfulness of the staff are fully known by our guests, maybe because one or two in restaurant or housekeeping do not speak English fluently, you thought that the staff prefers French guests, but I can ensure you that we do our best for all of our guests, always!
I really hope you give me another chance to welcome you in order to let you forget this “accident”!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

An oasis of calm + perfect escape from the lively world outside. My 10 year old daughter and I stayed at L'Heure Bleue and we both loved it. Our room (No20) was glorious. The hotel looks and feels like an old colonial gem (all panelling and bevelled glass) but is, in fact, only 8 years old! The craftsmanship is exceptional. So is the service: discreet but warm and friendly - especially from Mamadou and Lissame who were wonderful. My daughter brought her much beloved doll with her on the trip. I can't tell you how enchanted she was when she found that the chambermaid had folded the dolls pyjamas and "made" the doll's makeshift bed....now if that isn't going the extra mile I don't know what is...(I wish we knew her name, but I hope the Hotel Manager will be impressed and give her credit for her gesture). Breakfasts were wonderful - fresh and delicious. Amelie counted 57 choices laid out each day ...and that's NOT including all
"extra" the options in the menu. One of our most memorable nights was having room service in the Private Cinema! We were truly spoiled and it was a marvellous happy time. Thank you to you all at L'Heure Bleue. A special place in our hearts. Katie + Amelie

Room Tip: I suspect all the rooms are good. Ours was No 20 and was gorgeous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
f_laustriat, Directeur général at L'Heure Bleue Palais, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear Madam, we very much apreciate your positive feedback regarding your stay at l’Heure Bleue Palais which will be your « oasis of calm » forever. Thank you for taking time to share your experience on tripadvisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to L'Heure Bleue Palais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Heure Bleue Palais

Address: 2, Rue Ibn Batouta | Bab Marrakech, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Essaouira
#2 Spa Hotel in Essaouira
#11 Family Hotel in Essaouira
#24 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — L'Heure Bleue Palais 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A masterpiece of the Essaouira medina...this palace of marvels lies in the heart of this town loved by artists and aventurers alike. The panoramic outdoor pool on the terrasse overlopks the medina and the ocean. the cuisine offers a subtle blend of french and Moroccan influences ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Prestigia, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your L'Heure Bleue Palais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l`Heure Bleue Palais Hotel Essaouira
l`Heure Bleue Palais And Spa
l Heure Bleue Palais Essaouira

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Heure Bleue Palais, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.