We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“just right” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Flora

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Villa Flora to your Saves list
Villa Flora
7 quartier des Dunes, Essaouira, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #50 of 77 Hotels in Essaouira
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“just right”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2010

We stayed at Villa Flora for three nights in April 2010. The first morning we rose to the gentle sound of of sparrows chirping outside our window. Breakfast was served in the beautiful courtyard with its abundant flowers, plants, trees and small birds. An idyllic place to have breakfast which was the best breakfast we had in Morocco, fresh coffe/tea, juice, croissants, freshly made Morrocan pancakes (my kids called them giant crumpets!). The staff are extremely helpful and there when you need them. The owner (Khalid) obviously takes great pride in his hotel and garden. The guesthouse/hotel has good relations withe neighbouring establishments, we had dinner nearby and went swimming a couple of doors down the road at the more expensive hotels. On our final morning the taxi failed to arrive so Khalid very kindly drove us to the bus station to catch out 6.00am bus to Marrakesh. We would definitely stay at Villa Flora again.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    8
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
11
14
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, UK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2009

My Wife and I stayed here for 2 nights during our trip to Essouira. There were not many reviews on Tripadvisor at the time, but from the few that we read, we thought it was worth a try. We were not dissapointed.

The service was impeccable and the food was great, infact the Breakfast here was probably the best i have ever had!

Our Suite was beautiful and the whole premesis had a cosy atmosphere. I would definately reccomend this to others especially couples although when reading the guestbook comments at Villa Flora, i noticed that quite a few families had stayed there and left 5/5 ratings and comments. I

ts about 10-15minutes walk to the Medina, dependng how fast or slow you walk.

Thank you Villa flora :)

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paris
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2008

we stayed in villa flora in Essaouira last week, we booked the hotel in the web site: luxury-riads.com (they have instant booking and good price of villa flora). the hotel is well situated in the city, in front of the beach and not far from the Medina, the service is excellent and we liked the Moroccan cuisine prepared by khaled.

  • Liked — the service
  • Disliked — bit far from the Medina
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Cristianos, Spain
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2008

Me and my wife stay at Villa Flora from 29th december to 4th january 2008.
The accommodation was excellent. We have a big room with terrace. Everything, including the bathroom was in very good conditions and very clean.
Breakfest its continental, but enough.
The staff was very polite and helpfull, without disturb you with fake attention.

  • Liked — Location, room, staff and owners
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Otley, England
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2007

My wife and I spent three nights in Hotel Villa Flora at the end of a two week stay in Morocco. I can't understand how this hotel has not been rated before as it was by far the best hotel we stayed in during our holiday.
The guide books rightly say that hotels in Morocco somehow never quite make the mark. This hotel did, and some, with levels of comfort right up there with European/US standards.
Hotel Villa Flora stands in it's own beautiful gardens in the Quartier des Dunes area to the south of the town centre. It is a 20 minute walk to the medina along a beautiful beach or esplanade. Don't let that put you off if you don't like walking, as a taxi in or out never cost more than 10 Dirhams (60p or 1 Euro).
Our room was large and well fitted with double bed, ample storage, two easy chairs, modern bathroom and it's own terrace looking onto the garden. Accommodation is offered on a Bed & Breakfast basis and a generous breakfast was served either in the breakfast room or on the garden terrace. This consisted of orange juice, Moroccan crepes, toast, croissants and coffee.
There was also a sunny roof terrace, where we chilled out with mint tea after sight seeing.
All the fittings were of high quality and the hotel is beautifully decorated with paintings and objets d'art.
The hotel is not particularly geared up for children, but is ideal for couples of all ages.
The cost for a double room with breakfast was 600 Dirhams, about £36 or 60Euros.
In summary, well worth a stay.

Stayed February 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Flora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Flora

Address: 7 quartier des Dunes, Essaouira, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 77 Hotels in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com so you can book your Villa Flora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flora Hotel Essaouira

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Flora, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.