We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“traditional gorgeous Riad, with lovely pool and great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Zahra Mogador

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Zahra Mogador to your Saves list
Riad Zahra Mogador
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   90 Quartier des Dunes, Essaouira 44100, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 76 Hotels in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Brighton
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“traditional gorgeous Riad, with lovely pool and great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2010

Lovely rooms and central Riad area is stunning. Staff are lovely and very helpful, spoke fantastic English and French. Hennin (sp?) was lovely and friendly. Staff called the other hotel and helped us cancel and gave us a room for the last two nights...true stars who made our week fabulous.
Lovely big pool and sunbeds, turtles and tortoises wandering around and swimming in the pool. Hotel balcony faces the sea which is just over the quiet road which is gorgeous for a sunset. Which are also stunning setting over the island out to sea. Beach is 30 seconds away for walks, etc and Essaouira town is just 15 minute walk along the beach, the walk is safe and fine. Suggestions as always is to respect culture by wearing long sleeves and trousers while out in town, this will save you from hassle. However a the Riad we felt very comfortable and wore bikinis round the pool and vest tops all around the hotel. Lovely waiters and kitchen staff too. Speak some French! I suggest going to the town for dinner as more exciting and cheaper (food here was out of our price range but we had a very low budget)

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    324
    99
    19
    10
    3
See reviews for
113
181
20
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2010

Normally I don't write reviews but i've taken the time to give this hotel the praise it deserves.

We looked through loads of hotels when trying to decide where to stay in Morocco and finally settled on Riad Zahra because of the good reviews. Here's my feedback from our stay

Hotel
Beautiful traditional hotel with gorgeous rooms and a real Morcan feel. The lounge/bar area is really inviting and relaxing and you could quite easily hang out there for a night - we did. The pool is very relaxing and there are loungers to hang out on. There's two tortoises who hang out there all day which makes for a good picture. There's also a roof terrace where you can sit and have a drink and what the sun go down. No prolems with hot water and the rooms are made over each day, if you require it.

Staff
When travelling throughout Morocco you encounted some quite unhelpful and rude people, but this hotel was the opposite. All of the staff were lovely and so helpful. They make the hotel stay even more special. The hotel owner (Xaiver) is such a nice guy who speaks about a million languages. You really get a feeling that he cares whether you're having a good time or not. Great great great.

Location
It's about 20 min walk from the Medina which isn't a probleml. It doesn't feel out of it at all. The walk in on the beach front which is really nice. The beach front from the hotel is about 1 minute. Very close. We walked in a few times and really enjoyed the walk. If, however, you want a taxi just hail one down and it only costs about 6 or 7 dirham to get into the medina. Extremely cheap.

Food
Breakfast is included and consisted of tea, orange juice, croissants, bread and a pancake. It was really nice and the service was perfect.
We eat at the hotel once and enjoyed what we had. The menu is basic, but in some ways that's a good thing.

Overall
If you're looking for a traditional riad with a pool and friendly staff then this is the hotel for you. I honestly couldn't recommend it enough. If we come back to Essaouria we will definitely stay here.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2010

We were looking for somewhere to relax after the hustle of Fes and found exactly what we we wanted in Essaouira. The city itself is beautiful; good shopping, nice restaurants and a lovely beachfront. It is as windy as everyone says which is why the hotel, with it's great pool and sheltered sun terrace area, was so perfect. Aside from the pleasure of having turtles pottering around as you lay in the sun (ignore the muppet who questioned the hygiene implications?!), the staff were very attentive with good food and drinks served all day.

The room was fine - nothing special but exactly what we needed while the interior of the hotel itself was very nice - much better than the first impression you see from the beach. We did a surf lesson with the adjoining surf school which wasn't great but neither were we so we couldn't complain too much..

Overall, would recommend both Essaouira and the Riad Zahra to anyone, especially as a break from any of the big cities.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2010

Sometimes you come accross a place that you don't want tell tell people about because its just too good and you want to keep it a secret.
When we left, we were seen to our taxi by the owners - as we pulled away I said to my partner "I don't treat my friends and relatives as well as they do" and I meant it. Yes, the tv was small and a mile away as the room was so large, and yes there were only two chanels - but who cares! The views of the beach, the tortoises, the pool, the bar, the food, the stroll to the medina, the walk to the island....................All this and the fun, good tempered bargaining in the shops.
This is THE place to chill out and be looked after.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2010

What a fantastic find !! Once you've been to this Riad you will never want to do a 'typical' hotel stay again. It was beautifully decorated in the communal areas aswell as the rooms. We have a triple room with large bathroom and 2 balconies which was plentiful. We had the misfortune of rain/thunder on our first night so we ate at the Riad. The food was delicious but if we had stayed for more than 4 nights I'm sure we would have run out of choice as the menu was only limited. The local beer namely flag is very nice if a little pricey at 35DH (local bar on right hand side next to petrol station as you walk into Essaouira - Bar Mogador I think sells for 18DH). The owners of the Riad were always on hand for advice and the waiting staff, pool attendant & cleaners were always happy and polite. Sun terrace complete with turtles and tortoises was great. We found the wooden suncabin with seating a must for our redhead son who burns so he was able to read/play games in the shade - it was a godsend. Note - no getting up at 'silly o'clock' to get sunloungers they were always readily available.
The walk into Essaouira is a good 20/25 minutes which can be a bit unbearable in the heat but great for walking off your hearty meal. Souks and Medina charming - no hassle at all.
All in all a super 4 day stayover to really chill and unwind before we went back to Agadir on the Supratours bus.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, England
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2010

Very pretty welcoming hotel, full of plants and colour. Sea view rooms are a good size with an excellent view of the pool and beach. it's a bit of a hike to the town, but a pleasant promenade walk. Very good pool with resident turtles, plus tortoises in the grounds. Worth having the pool as the beach was too windy to sit or swim! Lots of places to sit, wi fi in the foyer, traditional furnishings, poolside bar/terrace. Breakfasts are good. The only downside is the quality of the food on the snack menu (we did not try the set evening meal as no veggie option and due to poorish quality of the other food). There are loads of places to eat in Essaouira so don't let this put you off! Overall very good value and a pleasant stay

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2010

Our daughter has been working nearby Riad Zahra for a few months and booked us in when we visited her this July. What a shame it is off the main street, the place has a wonderful entrance and just got better as we walked around. The welcome was very friendly, our room on the top floor very spacious. we loved the Moroccan feel, not over the top, just right. We slept very well after our long journey from Marrakesh by bus. the bathroom is ok for size with everything tiled in mosaics. Generous sized shower, wash basin and loo. Two very large towels each, plus soap and shampoo. T.v bit boring only local programs and my French is rubbish! In the morning for breakfast there is a choice of where to sit, in the dinning room, only about 6 tables with the seating around the wall on big benches (you just have to sit crossed legged, loads of cushions)it's a really luxurious room with lots of colour, pictures and Moroccan 'things'; or in the bar area (not at all like a bar, just a little more dressed down from the dining room; or on the terrace next to the pool. Fresh orange juice, coffee and rolls are brought out and you can eat as much as you need. Two very strange things are the two terrapins swimming in the pool (couldn't see any droppings at all and I'm v. fussy) also the three tortoise lurking in the plants - very odd at first, great for the children, but quite normal after a day or two :-) One terrapin has picked up on the Moroccan habit of pestering guests for food, the other just ignores us. Apparently they arrived after a very bad storm when the hotel was being remodeled by the current owner and have been very comfortable since. The beach just over the road is amazing, we live on the North East coast and have Bamburgh and Holy Island, this is bigger, very 'WoW' near the Riad is where the kite surfing is, the horse riding, camel riding and buggies. People also go to this part with their familes, so it is not just sporty. There are three beach cafes nearby, not like English ones, these are very smart and locals use them as well, the food is pretty cheap, but watch out for their sugar fetish. We even found a sugar cube in a smoothie! We walked to the medina every day as 20 mins is nothing in the sunshine along the seafront. Check out the port - amazing, many boats, lots of individuals selling fish, interesting buildings and a good way to enter the Medina. We personally found the souk hard work. but it would depend on your personality. the variety of mini shops is amazing, but a few too many selling imported rubbish - mainly for the tourists! But give it a go, the people do live in poverty and i found that very sad.
The fare to Essaouria is very cheap from Marrakesh if you take the SUPR@TOURS bus, around 65 MAD each for the whole journey of around 3 - 4 hours. other buses much cheaper but horrible, you need aircon and your luggage is safe with this bus. We had Ryanair flights from Edinburgh for £160 rtn for two, so the whole trip was very cheap. This Riad is perfect for Essaouira nautique pro center - Morocco. This is their own affiliated surfing school. Almost finished, IT IS VERY WINDY, this is the reason for many peoples visit, water sports.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Zahra Mogador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Zahra Mogador

Address: 90 Quartier des Dunes, Essaouira 44100, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Essaouira
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Essaouira
#9 Family Hotel in Essaouira
#18 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Zahra Mogador 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Near the Essaouira Medina and just 2 minutes walk to the beach, this 23 room family Riad with pool and 2 restaurants is a haven of peace. It's an ideal starting point for numerous water activities and excursions by 4x4, horse or camel.Too windy for the beach ? Just rest and relax on the terrace with its great sea view or by the pool.Satellite TV and Free WIFI accessParking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Splendia, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and HostelBookers so you can book your Riad Zahra Mogador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Zahra Mogador Essaouira
Riad Zahra Mogador Hotel Essaouira

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Zahra Mogador, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.