We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value Riad” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Zahra Mogador

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Zahra Mogador to your Saves list
Riad Zahra Mogador
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Amira Lalla Meryem, Essaouira 44100, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 76 Hotels in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great value Riad”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

A lovely Riad with a beautiful and charming central courtyard. The owners and their staff went out of their way to be friendly and helpful and the facilities and pool were excellent. Our room was clean and comfortable with a view over the pool to the beach in the distance. Breakfasts were good, and we had dinner in both the downstairs and upper restaurants; both were excellent! Location was good, just a few minutes from the beach and with taxis costing a fixed fare of 8 dirhams (£0.61) in central Essaouira, it was cheap and easy to get around and visit the old Medina, fish market and harbour.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
XavierEssaouira, Propietario at Riad Zahra Mogador, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Dear Harvey,

Thanks for your time and your review.
We are very happy to read that our hotel was able to answer your expectations, and we will be very glad to welcome you back in the future.
In the meantime, we wish you all the best.
Xavier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    351
    109
    20
    10
    4
See reviews for
118
204
23
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
York , UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Stayed for a week and the owners and staff were excellent. All extremely friendly and helpful.

Food good throughout the stay; the owners eat all their meals in the hotel restaurant which adds to the relaxed atmosphere. The upstairs grill restaurant was even more impressive. And the food costs are on a par with other locations, but typically better quality.

20 mins walk to the medina - but this is not a necessarily bad thing.

Other tips:
Ranch Diabet for horse riding (see web site).
Great harbour views from hotel bar next to Taras restaurant; access via the inner walls.
Recommend a meal at one of the 'huts' near the harbour; good local fish. Lots of choice for good, and good value food in the Medina.
If you like a hike (not a walk), suggest the Al Qalb monument on Azlef hill. 3 hour round trip from Riad Zahra - just follow your nose up the dunes/scrub land; we saw some wild camels en route and not one person.

Room Tip: We stayed on the second floor, the north west side (towards medina). No noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
XavierEssaouira, Propietario at Riad Zahra Mogador, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for writing such a long and positive review of our Riad on Tripadvisor.
We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed the service provided by our team as well as the
facilities of Riad Zahra.
On behalf of the entire team, I look forward to welcoming you back to Riad Zahra.
Kind regards
Xavier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We did try and enjoy our selves but I was becoming ill . The Riad is very nice and our room was clean. The pool area clean and very nice . Breakfast ok . We would go back the staff were very helpful we were checking out and I had to see a doctor . In the end the reception arranged for him to come to our room ( we were leaving ) He was English speaking and very good I needed antibiotics . So I was grateful for the service , and the local Doctor they used . Thank you Riad Zahra.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
XavierEssaouira, Propietario at Riad Zahra Mogador, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Guests,

I hope you have recovered and many thanks to take the time to write your experience at Riad
Zahra.
I look forward to welcoming you back to Riad Zahra .
Best wishes
Xavier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

I would definitely recommend this riad. It had friendly and helpful staff, a lovely ground floor terrace with a swimming pool, great breakfasts. All in all a lovely riad located a 5 minutes walk away from the beach but 15 mins walk from the Medina. The grill restaurant on the top floor was the best food we had in our 2 weeks in Morocco.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
XavierEssaouira, Propietario at Riad Zahra Mogador, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Guests,

We are happy to hear that you fully enjoyed your stay with us and would like to thank you for your positive review.
Our team is working hard every day to make our guest feels happy and your satisfaction is the best reward they could receive.
On behalf of the entire team, I look forward to welcoming you back to Riad Zahra.

Kind regards,
Xavier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knaresborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Stayed for 6 nights for a bit of r & r after couple days in Marrakesh & traveling in the Atlas mountains. Hotel has a nice chilled atmosphere & the owners are very friendly & helpful. Good location close to the beach. Its away from the main area but only 25min walk or 50p taxi ride to the Medina & restaurants. Nice clean pool area with plenty of sun beds & sun most of the day & out of the wind. Had booked basic room but wish we had realized that there were larger rooms with balconies. Unfortunately none available when we arrived. Our room over the reception was quite noisy & the bed was very hard & uncomfortable. Also very light in the morning as south facing & thin curtains. Good stay & would come back..

Room Tip: Ask for larger room with balcony. LHS at top of stairs nice & sunny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
XavierEssaouira, Propietario at Riad Zahra Mogador, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Guests,

Many thanks for this review and for recommending the Riad Zahra.
Riad Zahra have 24 rooms and we have small rooms, big rooms with balcony or big rooms with
Ocean view.
We hope to have you back at Riad Zahra in a nicest room for your full satisfaction.
Kind regards
Xavier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Elena, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Stayed here for a week on a kite surfing holiday. The hotel has great atmosphere, very friendly and helpful staff. There is a pool, lounge and two restaurants. Location is perfect for beach access with several surfing schools just around the corner.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
XavierEssaouira, Propietario at Riad Zahra Mogador, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Guests,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor.
I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, and was very glad we met your
expectations.
On behalf of the entire team, I look forward to welcoming you back to Riad Zahra.
Kind regards
Xavier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sneek, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

We went to Riad Zahra for the third time. That sais it all. It's the mix between the more than friendly owners, the good food in the restaurants ( two!!), the fresh fish is to dy for, the open pool, and its very near the beach. The prices are more than acceptable. So, à place to look for when going to Essaouira.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
XavierEssaouira, Propietario at Riad Zahra Mogador, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Henk,

Many thanks for this review and for recommending the Riad Zahra.
We are very happy to read that our hotel was able to answer your expectations on the third time,
and we will be very glad to welcome you back in the future for the 4th time.
All the best
Xavier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
0.7 mi away
Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection
0.1 mi away
Atlas Essaouira & Spa
Atlas Essaouira & Spa
#35 of 76 in Essaouira
4.0 of 5 stars 718 reviews
3.9 mi away
Domaine de l'Arganeraie
Domaine de l'Arganeraie
#8 of 76 in Essaouira
5.0 of 5 stars 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
L'Heure Bleue Palais
L'Heure Bleue Palais
#15 of 76 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 stars 424 reviews
2.2 mi away
Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa
1.0 mi away
Riad Chbanate
Riad Chbanate
#3 of 76 in Essaouira
5.0 of 5 stars 427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Zahra Mogador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Zahra Mogador

Address: Amira Lalla Meryem, Essaouira 44100, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Essaouira
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Essaouira
#9 Family Hotel in Essaouira
#18 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Zahra Mogador 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just two minutes' walk from the beach and 20 minutes from the Medina and souks, you'll find this family run Riad with its 23 bedrooms has everything you need for a delightful holiday as a family, a couple or with friends. Riad Zahra is in the residential quarter of Essaouira. All its comfortable bedrooms are decorated in traditional Moroccan style and have en suite bath rooms, satellite TV and Wifi. There are family sized rooms, others have balconies and some enjoy a sea view. And you'll enjoy meals in our two restaurants whose great range of Moroccan, Asian and Spanish dishes is enhanced by a wide choice of the Kingdom's wines. Open air swimming pool, terraces and parking. We'll happily help you organize your stay and can recommend places to visit, restaurants, surfing and kitesurf schools, rides on horse or camels, transfers from airports, vehicle hire ... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelBookers, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Riad Zahra Mogador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Zahra Mogador Essaouira
Riad Zahra Mogador Hotel Essaouira

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Zahra Mogador, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.