We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from home family run hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Zahra Mogador

Save Saved
You added Riad Zahra Mogador to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Riad Zahra Mogador
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   90 Quartier des Dunes, Essaouira 44100, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 78 hotels in Essaouira
York , UK
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Home from home family run hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Stayed for a week and the owners and staff were excellent. All extremely friendly and helpful.

Food good throughout the stay; the owners eat all their meals in the hotel restaurant which adds to the relaxed atmosphere. The upstairs grill restaurant was even more impressive. And the food costs are on a par with other locations, but typically better quality.

20 mins walk to the medina - but this is not a necessarily bad thing.

Other tips:
Ranch Diabet for horse riding (see web site).
Great harbour views from hotel bar next to Taras restaurant; access via the inner walls.
Recommend a meal at one of the 'huts' near the harbour; good local fish. Lots of choice for good, and good value food in the Medina.
If you like a hike (not a walk), suggest the Al Qalb monument on Azlef hill. 3 hour round trip from Riad Zahra - just follow your nose up the dunes/scrub land; we saw some wild camels en route and not one person.

Room Tip: We stayed on the second floor, the north west side (towards medina). No noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
XavierEssaouira, Propietario at Riad Zahra Mogador, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for writing such a long and positive review of our Riad on Tripadvisor.
We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed the service provided by our team as well as the
facilities of Riad Zahra.
On behalf of the entire team, I look forward to welcoming you back to Riad Zahra.
Kind regards
Xavier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    252
    90
    18
    9
    3
See reviews for
98
148
16
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We did try and enjoy our selves but I was becoming ill . The Riad is very nice and our room was clean. The pool area clean and very nice . Breakfast ok . We would go back the staff were very helpful we were checking out and I had to see a doctor . In the end the reception arranged for him to come to our room ( we were leaving ) He was English speaking and very good I needed antibiotics . So I was grateful for the service , and the local Doctor they used . Thank you Riad Zahra.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
XavierEssaouira, Propietario at Riad Zahra Mogador, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Guests,

I hope you have recovered and many thanks to take the time to write your experience at Riad
Zahra.
I look forward to welcoming you back to Riad Zahra .
Best wishes
Xavier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

I would definitely recommend this riad. It had friendly and helpful staff, a lovely ground floor terrace with a swimming pool, great breakfasts. All in all a lovely riad located a 5 minutes walk away from the beach but 15 mins walk from the Medina. The grill restaurant on the top floor was the best food we had in our 2 weeks in Morocco.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
XavierEssaouira, Propietario at Riad Zahra Mogador, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Guests,

We are happy to hear that you fully enjoyed your stay with us and would like to thank you for your positive review.
Our team is working hard every day to make our guest feels happy and your satisfaction is the best reward they could receive.
On behalf of the entire team, I look forward to welcoming you back to Riad Zahra.

Kind regards,
Xavier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knaresborough, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Stayed for 6 nights for a bit of r & r after couple days in Marrakesh & traveling in the Atlas mountains. Hotel has a nice chilled atmosphere & the owners are very friendly & helpful. Good location close to the beach. Its away from the main area but only 25min walk or 50p taxi ride to the Medina & restaurants. Nice clean pool area with plenty of sun beds & sun most of the day & out of the wind. Had booked basic room but wish we had realized that there were larger rooms with balconies. Unfortunately none available when we arrived. Our room over the reception was quite noisy & the bed was very hard & uncomfortable. Also very light in the morning as south facing & thin curtains. Good stay & would come back..

Room Tip: Ask for larger room with balcony. LHS at top of stairs nice & sunny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
XavierEssaouira, Propietario at Riad Zahra Mogador, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Guests,

Many thanks for this review and for recommending the Riad Zahra.
Riad Zahra have 24 rooms and we have small rooms, big rooms with balcony or big rooms with
Ocean view.
We hope to have you back at Riad Zahra in a nicest room for your full satisfaction.
Kind regards
Xavier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Elena, Costa Rica
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Stayed here for a week on a kite surfing holiday. The hotel has great atmosphere, very friendly and helpful staff. There is a pool, lounge and two restaurants. Location is perfect for beach access with several surfing schools just around the corner.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
XavierEssaouira, Propietario at Riad Zahra Mogador, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Guests,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor.
I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, and was very glad we met your
expectations.
On behalf of the entire team, I look forward to welcoming you back to Riad Zahra.
Kind regards
Xavier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sneek, The Netherlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

We went to Riad Zahra for the third time. That sais it all. It's the mix between the more than friendly owners, the good food in the restaurants ( two!!), the fresh fish is to dy for, the open pool, and its very near the beach. The prices are more than acceptable. So, à place to look for when going to Essaouira.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
XavierEssaouira, Propietario at Riad Zahra Mogador, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Henk,

Many thanks for this review and for recommending the Riad Zahra.
We are very happy to read that our hotel was able to answer your expectations on the third time,
and we will be very glad to welcome you back in the future for the 4th time.
All the best
Xavier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

The hotel as a whole has a nice ambiance rooms are big and spacious, colorful and well lit. There is a problem with the toilets and the stink inside. The toilet in my room was leaking in the roof, that could have caused the stink. Walking distance from the old Medina. Staff was friendly but the food was a bit lousy and meager. On the whole a good place if you are not expecting very high standards.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
XavierEssaouira, Propietario at Riad Zahra Mogador, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear Sir ,
First ,thanks for your kind contribution .
Your feedback is very important to us,I have taken note of your comments regarding all the issues you have mentioned and would like to express my sincerest apologies.

I hope to receive you another time with us.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Zahra Mogador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Zahra Mogador

Address: 90 Quartier des Dunes, Essaouira 44100, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Essaouira
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Essaouira
#9 Family Hotel in Essaouira
#19 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Zahra Mogador 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Near the Essaouira Medina and just 2 minutes walk to the beach, this 23 room family Riad with pool and 2 restaurants is a haven of peace. It's an ideal starting point for numerous water activities and excursions by 4x4, horse or camel.Too windy for the beach ? Just rest and relax on the terrace with its great sea view or by the pool.Satellite TV and Free WIFI accessParking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelBookers, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Riad Zahra Mogador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Zahra Mogador Essaouira
Riad Zahra Mogador Hotel Essaouira

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Zahra Mogador, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;